We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not go there!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel Peter Pan

Hostel Peter Pan
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Peter Pan
San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do not go there!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

We reserved the private double with room with bathroom about 2 weeks ahead, and ask for reconfirm in between. When we got there it looks like no one know what are we talking about!

When we flush the water of the toilet all the water was going up, YACC!! So the private toilet was not functional for us.
After 1 day of telling us that it will be fixed, which was not actually, and after we claimed the money back, they change the room for much better one.
No fast Internet, and only one computer working.

Breakfast offers no more then dry bread with Dulce De Leche, where some other place around offers much more

Kitchen is very dirty with a lot of ants, and different reptiles.

Service from 1 to 10 was about minus 2. please read the other people reviews!

Seems like Lonely Planet has to be updated for recommendations.

The price for the double room with bathroom inside was 250$ peso.
Well, how to say it in a very tender way, it dose not worth even 1 peso!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dudi-Gaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    25
    10
    7
See reviews for
2
31
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

Due to us having very little time, for the sake of convenience we checked into an "our pick" from the Lonely Planet guidebook. Historically for us this has meant that due to excellent reviews already existing, the service has become poor - and this place is no exception. When we walked in without a booking, the uninterested expression on the staff member´s face made me think they were fully booked. They weren´t however, and she continued to look bored and unhelpful throughout our short stay.
The private double room was clean and modern with comfortable beds, however the shower wasn´t hot (this may not matter to some as it is quite hot here anyway). On the small side though, we were surprised at how little we were getting for the money. There IS however a lovely swimming pool that the rooms face out onto and people were enjoying sitting by the pool in deckchairs.
Breakfast was included but was only bread and jam and a dry croissant. There is also free use of interent. No towels provided.
I would have been impressed enough with this place if it hadn´t been for poor service. I have stayed in a lot of hotels on this trip and can now easily tell the difference between a hotel that is run by people who are interested in their guests and those who run it purely for the money. Clearly I no longer have much tolerance for the latter!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starzalive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Iguazu hotels

Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

Re Hostel Peter Pan - Puerto Iguazzu:

From the moment we arrived things did not look good.
At reception the two women behind the counter were engaged in a conversation, that, had our taxi driver not interrupted after 4/5 minutes, we might still be standing there ignored.
Having made a reservation 6 weeks earlier - confirmed by return email, and again re confirmed just 3 days earlier imagine how surprised we were to be told they had no record of our booking!!! If we wanted a booking we needed to get CASH and pay for all three nights.
We were shown a room - clean and with a bathroom shower - but we had to go down to reception and ask for towels - even though the email just 3 days earlier had confirmed towels were supplied.
On leaving to go shopping we asked, "was breakfast included in the booking" - we were told yes. We were not surprised they did not volunteer the information as breakfast was shocking!!!
We returned to the lounge later to sit and relax but found it impossible as the area reeked of cigarette smoke!!!! The culprits were not the hostellers BUT the 3 middle aged women responsible for running the hostel puffing away.
We had a shocking night’s sleep, the "mattress" being a foam pad that resembled a "banana hammock" - because of the sagging of the bed, both of us constantly rolled to the centre of the bed - colliding with each other making sleeping impossible.
Tired in the morning did not help when we sat for breakfast - having become accustom to fresh rolls, ham, cheese, eggs, toasted sandwiches, fresh fruit, cereals, orange juice, coffee, milk in the many hostels we had stayed at in Brazil, Argentina and Peru (six weeks of travel), we were stunned with the basket of half a French bagette and two danishes between two of us!!!! All presented to us by a morbid woman who entered into zero conversation and gave the total impression that we were an intrusion and inconvenience to her day!!!!
We raised the question of the room and bed and were told they may be able to change our rooms. Would we place our bags in the foyer and they would see to them. That was at 8:30am, imagine how surprised we were when we returned at 5:30pm to find our bags still lying in the foyer and the receptionist having no idea of the change of room. Thankfully one of the other guests who spoke English was able to explain in Portuguese - as non of the three women operating reception spoke anything but Portuguese - that we had been promised either room 6 or 7.
We were told to take room 7 the key was in the door.
The stay got no better and we left after the third night. I think Travel Publications need to reappraise their evaluation of Hostel Peter Pan.
We would give it 2 stars out of ten - the internet worked and the shower in the first room we occupied was warm - the second was barely tepid. But after our experience we would ask the question, "Why would you ever stay at Hostel Peter Pan when there are so many other hostels in Puerto Iguazu to choose from?"

Never to be recommended!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCanuck032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europe
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

The first impression was negative: the lady at the reception didn't pay attention to us until we actually asked her if we could check in. It was very hot and we were thirsty; having finished our water we asked if we could take a cup of water from the water dispenser that was standing there (out of politeness we asked, but most people would just go and take it). The lady then reluctantly said it was actually only for the people working there, and for the guests there was bottled water to be paid, but for this time it was ok, as the water bottles had finished. Then she gave us one tiny cup of water for the two of us. What a welcome.
We had made a booking here and didn't feel like walking off in the heat with all our luggage, but we would have in other weather.
Fortunately the room was very nice, at 180 pesos per night quite expensive for Argentina, but it had an en-suite bathroom. Towels only after we asked. There was a fan and air-conditioning (and 24 h power, important round here) and plenty of space. The double bed was nothing special but ok, and there was also a bunkbed to put our stuff on. Everything seemed to be freshly furnished and painted.
The rooms are situated round a patio with pool and open 'kitchen', which turned out to be almost useless because of a lack of cutlery and crockery (2 pans, 3 forks, 1 spoon, a few plates, that was all). The place was also packed full with backpackers in the dorms so it got crowded in the evening (I wouldn't have liked to use a shared bathroom here).
In the entrance hall there were 2 computers with free but slow internet (always a queue), but I found this an unpleasant area because of the manager and personnel sitting there smoking all the time. Also I couldn't print anything, although there was a printer on the reception desk.
Breakfast was included and supposed to have tea, coffee, milk, croissants, bread, jam and butter, but we only found coffee, powder milk, bread and jam & butter. We later found out the manager kept the croissants and tea locked away in a cupboard behind the reception desk so you would only get these if you knew and asked her. I have never come across anything so shameful in terms of hostel management in the whole world.
Clearly this place is run for the money, not for any satisfaction or honour that people might get out of work, or running your own business.
If you just need a place to sleep in between visiting the falls (as is the case for most tourists in Iguazu), you could do worse than staying in Peter Pan, but if you are after some kind of pleasant hostel experience, stay away from here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pentatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

Peter Pan Hostel has a great location as it is literally across the street from the bus terminal. However, we were disappointed as we paid for a double and in all the other places of comparable cost, when we paid for a double, even if it was a hostel (which was not cheap), we received towels and soap but not here. The rooms were okay, had air conditioning and clean but we had difficulty getting wi-fi in our rooms and had to go to the main reception to get a decent connection so it was somewhat disappointing as the front reception/sitting area was really humid and smoky. I think this is actually a better place for true backpackers who don't mind a bit of dirt around the handwashing and kitchen area and front reception/sitting area. there is also a pool here but it was under renovations which would be a plus once functional. We think a very basic breakfast is included but never had it as we were never told about breakfast and found a great 24 hour bakery/cafe close by with delicious pastries/breads and coffee.

I would not recommend this place for people who want to have a double room as it's not good value for what you get.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelladybugOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostel Park Iguazu
Hostel Park Iguazu
#76 of 126 in Puerto Iguazu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Iquazu Falls
Hostel Iquazu Falls
#20 of 126 in Puerto Iguazu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
TangoInn Downtown Iguazu
TangoInn Downtown Iguazu
#22 of 126 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
125 Hotel
125 Hotel
#18 of 126 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residencial y Hostel Los Hermanos
Residencial y Hostel Los Hermano...
#72 of 126 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada del Angu
Posada del Angu
#12 of 52 in Puerto Iguazu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Peter Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Peter Pan

Property: Hostel Peter Pan
Address: Avenida Cordoba 267, Puerto Iguazu N3370COC, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Peter Pan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing