We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting, nice pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantera Jungle Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great setting, nice pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We mainly picked this hotel because everyone told us the town was not worth it. It is in between town and the waterfalls.
I loved the green surroundings, the rooms were comfortable and the staff friendly. We made use of there free shuttle service to town for a dinner and as we booked via their website got one dinner for free at the place. It was bbq and the food was ok, but hey it was a free meal with free drinks.
We wish they would have told us about the bikes that were there to use, we only figured that out when we left.
We used their return service to the park for 90 pesos per person, not sure if that was a good deal, but now you have something to compare :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margreet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cantera H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Estimated Margaret,
thank you for choosing La Cantera Jungle Lodge and thanks for sharing with TripAdvisor.com users your experience with us. Your comments are very helpful. We apologize for the poor information you received about our bikes, we will certainly make sure to inform correctly to everyone from now on.
Hoping to see you again in a next visit.
Cordially greets

Natalia Solsona
Director Relaciones Públicas La Cantera Jungle Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    603
    177
    61
    47
See reviews for
393
839
67
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Only stayed one night unfortunately. We had a lovely room which seemed quite new, only slight drawback was noise from adjoining room travelled easily but did not disturb us much.
The grounds are lovely and I really liked the slightly remote location.
The only minuses were that I thought the breakfast was a little disappointing. it was ok, particularly if you like cakes with your breakfast, but nothing special.
Also I felt like a captive audience for inflated cab prices. I wished I'd arranged for a cab from town to come to take me to the falls as if you book through the hotel you'll pay more. Not such a big deal but would mount up over a few days.
Would definitely stay again but sort my cabs out beforehand.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cantera H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hello Louise,
Thanks for your review. Is good to know you enjoyed your stay and your rooms. We will consider your comment about the taxis.
You will always be very welcome in here!
Kind regards,

Natalia Solsona
Director Relaciones Públicas La Cantera Jungle Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

There isn't a lot of jungle left in Puerto Iguazu town and this is one of the few places left. Thanks to CanFam333's tip (Oct 2, 2013) we hired the taxi driver Cacho de Lima. He picked us up at airport and arranged all our touring for three days, including Brazil and Argentina side of the falls, trips to town for restaurants, etc. He is a very good man, reasonable, and we liked him. He speaks some English and we speak some Spanish. Although his phone number in Argentina is 03757-15500453 from the states you dial 011 54 9 3757 500453. It took awhile to figure this out!
Since La Cantera is out of the way it is important to figure transportation in advance. Pay extra for the upstairs room. Quieter, more airy, screened porch is very nice. The grounds are immaculate with the wooden walkways and identifying signs on the different trees. Breakfast was fine. Wifi works. We thoroughly enjoyed La Cantera and highly recommend it based on our stay here.

Room Tip: Pay to upgrade for upstairs. "Mono" block was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cantera H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are very happy to know you had a good stay at La Cantera. Thanks for your comments, are very helpful for other guests.
Hoping to seeing you next time,
Kind regards,

Natalia Solsona
Director Relaciones Públicas La Cantera Jungle Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at La Cantera for two nights with our 3 young children and had an excellent time. A genuine oasis retreat welcome after the hectic bustle of BA and the better option compared to highway or locations within what seemed a very uninspiring town. We shared a room with adequate space for the kids and a cot. The 5 series of rooms are all single level (no noise issues like previous reviews of the double storey blocks) and very clean and new. The swimming pool area was loved by the kids and the jungle setting was serene. The staff were very accommodating and spoke English, arrange various things for us such as transport and money exchange.
Food was basic, consistent with other Argentinean experiences, breakfast was fine with fresh juice, passable coffee and reasonable Media lunas and a ridiculous range of sweet treats which were fortunately too high to be seen by our children!
Transport was easily arranged from the hotel although we mixed up using local options; taxis and buses to reduce the cost. There are free shuttles to town although our experience was mildly hair raising and did see the premature death of a local dog without the bat of an eyelid from our driver.
All in all worth seeking out a great option for Iguazu especially as the rates are reasonable and the location complimentary to the natural environment for which most of us are there.

Room Tip: 5 series are the newest and quietest. No jacuzzis but great pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Furphy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cantera H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback.
Is very pleasant to know that you and your family had a nice experience at La Cantera Jungle Lodge.
We will love to see you in a next visit to the Land of the Waterfalls!

Kind regards,

Natalia Solsona
Director Relaciones Públicas La Cantera Jungle Lodge Iguazú
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel pictures on the website looks 10 times nicer and newer so please don't believe the pictures!!
Good:
1) Friendly staffs - they try to help you out with lots of different things. Good service minds!
2) Free shuttle service to the town - they have limited spots a day, so please reserve ASAP.
3) Decent breakfast - nice selections

Bad:
1) remote location - you have to pass through unpaved road..every time we went in and out of hotel, I got motion sickness due to bumpy road
2) very strange smell from the room - we had 2 different rooms. Both of them stinks. First night, it was real bad couldn't sleep well. It is like mixture of urine and some sort of cover-up scent.
3) old place - not everything is in perfect condition...so please be aware!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SamYDanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cantera H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank for your remarks, is very helpfull to us to know where we have to work harder.
Hoping to see you in a next visit,

Greetings!!!

Natalia Solsona
Director Relaciones Públicas La Cantera Jungle Lodge Iguazú
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here and it was a very relaxing experience. The pool area is exquisite and we also made use of a lot of the facilities. However we were disappointed in the restaurant food. It was very small portions and no taste. We each ordered different things and had the same impression. It was saved by the Argentinian Bbq which they put on every Monday. That was a great experience with delicious barbecued Argentinian meat and salad bar. This was accompanied by local musicians which really added to it.Staff were accomodating and made it easy to plan trips in local areas. friendly an he planning trip trips around the arwa. They made it cery easy.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cantera H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Estimated Marie,

Thanks for your feedback, we are working on imporve better quality at our restaurant.
Is very pleasant to know you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Natalia Solsona
Director Relaciones Públicas La Cantera Jungle Lodge Iguazú
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

La Cantera is not cheap - be prepared to pay European prices in this jungle-styled 50 room lodge on the Argentinian side of the Iguazu falls. Food and service are good,friendly and reasonably efficient. The rooms are comfortable, the air-conditioning effective and the overall atmosphere makes for a comfortable base conveniently placed for access to the Brazilian and Argentinian sides of the falls. The Monday BBQ was great fun and other evening meals and breakfasts are perfectly acceptable. While here it is essential to explore both sides of the falls! and do the power- boat

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cantera H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Alan,
Thanks for your comment, we appreciate it a lot.
Is nice to know you enjoyed your stay at La Cantera and in the Water Falls.

Hoping to see you in a next visit,

Best wishes

Natalia Solsona
Director Relaciones Públicas La Cantera Jungle Lodge Iguazú
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.7 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#7 of 46 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,698 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#3 of 46 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
1.6 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#5 of 46 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#4 of 46 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,345 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
#18 of 46 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 stars 640 reviews
1.0 mi away
Village Cataratas Hotel
Village Cataratas Hotel
#12 of 46 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Jungle Lodge

Property: La Cantera Jungle Lodge
Address: Ruta 12 km 5, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Jungle Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Jungle Lodge was carefully built preserving the environment and having the least impact possible. In the 3 hectares of the facilities there are trees of over 400 years old (Purging cassia tree) and others which are protected because they are endangered species (Rosewood). Our Lodge is featured to be an innovating, exclusive proposal and to provide first class services bringing us closer to each passenger. Ideal for vacations, romantic trips, honeymoons, corporate resting, incentive trips, family reunions, relax and adventure in Misiones Jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Cantera Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cantera Jungle Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing