We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jaycee. UK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
Newent UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Jaycee. UK”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Our bedroom was indeed in need of complete refurbishment. The bathroom door did not shut, the mosquito net on the balcony needed repairing and the curtains did not meet in the centre, to mention just a few things.
The restaurant had a very limited, unimaginative menu, which while being repeatedly commented on by users of this site, is not being addressed. This despite the fact the lodge proudly displays a 2011 plaque of commendation from Trip Advisor.
Our last night's menu had a choice of four items listed for each course, but only three were available for dessert, and one of those being two scoops of vanilla ice cream.
On the plus side it has a excellent pool, with plenty of comfortable seating in both the sun and shade
The location of the lodge is beautiful and deserving of far better services!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joycec259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    707
    206
    65
    50
See reviews for
470
985
80
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We loved our time at this hotel. Blessed with nice gardens and surrounded by forest we also enjoyed the food in the resturant. It was a little pricy at 80 pesos for a steak but we did still enjoy it. 15 mins from the falls.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briboy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

the eco lodge is nicely located in the forest in a way which does not harm the beauty of the forest and arranged with a lot of taste; our room had a large private balcony with anti-mosquito protection and a second one next to it without the mosquito protection, so you could chill on your balcony whilst listening to the sounds of the forest, very nice. Important point, the sound proofing is not very good but we did not suffer from it as we always put earplugs on when we are travelling. However, it could ruin your night if you dont have earplugs which would be a shame since the bed is so comfortable!
If you are lucky like us, you may even share a moment with an opossum on your way back to your room in the evening! the staff is extremely nice, helpful and patient. The restaurant is lovely and breakfast is fine. The only downside from our point of view is the restaurant for dinner. Very disappointing food although you can see that they are trying to provide a certain standard, they are not quite there yet.

Room Tip: bring your earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noemie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

La canterra was somewhat difficult to find in the jungle so keep an eye out for the small wooden signs leading the way. We missed them!

We used this lodge as a quick stay to see the falls so didn't really use the facilities but the pool area looked inviting.

Reading recommendations on trip advisor we skipped dinner at the lodge and went in to town. Which is only a quick drive.

Room was lovely however on the ground floor and wooden so very noisy when people above come home! Try for a top floor.

Staff were exceptionally helpful. Would recommend .

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vickyanddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Picked up at the airport on time with a nice driver. Got upgraded to a beautiful room, a stunning view and outdoor bath. Can't complain about the place at all whilst there really, apart from the dinner.

We were told it was included in the price and proceeded to have it then be charged a small ransom for it on check out.

Apart from this a good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchellandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I would rate this Lodge more in the range of backpacker/hostel type accommodation, to add to that our room smelt terribly, a very strong chemical smell. Whilst the room was a good size it was quite shabby with scuff marks on the walls and floor, stains on the quilt, bathroom also not clean. The jungle view from the verandah was marred by the several white poly drainage pipes that met in front of our verandah! which incidently only had one chair if we had wanted to sit out there. Being on a ground floor room and the floors are wooden it is very noisey as the occupants of the upper level come and leave. As a positive it is quite close to town and easy to catch a taxi for a meal at a restaurant. The pool looked inviting, and the barman mixed a wicked cocktail, which definitely dulled the disappointment of this underpar accommodation.

Room Tip: Don't come here unless you are happy with basic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyAussie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was a great place to stay outside of town and in the jungle. The accomadations were excellent and the staff was acommadating. A shuttle ran into town in the evening which was nice if yiou want to go in for dinner. It is about 3 miles from town, so you need to be aware of the need for transportation to go places.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdustrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.8 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,109 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
#12 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
797 reviews
2.5 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#6 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,758 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,862 reviews
1.1 mi away
Village Cataratas Hotel
Village Cataratas Hotel
#16 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Jungle Lodge

Property: La Cantera Jungle Lodge
Address: Ruta Nacional 12 5, Puerto Iguazu N3370HKA, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#8 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Jungle Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Jungle Lodge was carefully built preserving the environment and having the least impact possible. In the 3 hectares of the facilities there are trees of over 400 years old (Purging cassia tree) and others which are protected because they are endangered species (Rosewood). Our Lodge is featured to be an innovating, exclusive proposal and to provide first class services bringing us closer to each passenger. Ideal for vacations, romantic trips, honeymoons, corporate resting, incentive trips, family reunions, relax and adventure in Misiones Jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Cantera Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cantera Jungle Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing