We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lack of service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We spent there 2 nights, in the very end of our extensive trip across Argentina. Location is good, rooms are fine. BUT services are awuful. We had problems with light from the start, it just was switching off and during 2 days were fed by promises from the reception. One guy finally came to fix it, but problems occured again. We had a feeling that they simply didnt care. Lots of confidence but poor in action: we ordered dinner near the swiming pool: band playing was nice, but dinner..Gosh, it was the worth BBQ - meat dishes we had during all the 3 weeks stay in Argentina!!! for that price it looked like cheating on stupid tourists. Management has to pay more attention to the quality of service and really take care of the clients.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evgeniya Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felisa F, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much!
We are sorry for the restaurant comment. We have already spoke with the hotel manager in order to review the whole thing situation,
We apologize for that,

Best regards
La Cantera Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,878)
There are newer reviews for La Cantera Jungle Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 1,878 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

Staff were very helpful and friendly, food was excellent and location very serene and peaceful. Amenities were fabulous, with the jacuzzi being an added bonus! Only drawback is there weren't many tracks to wander through the jungle - would be nice to have that option rather than just ending up at another block of rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors do tend to hear the footsteps of those above you so if you want complete silen...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfreuden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

we really likes our room, it was beautiful decorated, large and with all the amenities you need and some. we loved the terrace with jacuzzi and that you could walk straight from the bathroom out on the deck/terrace. the pool is really nice with towels and a bar, but the area could use some repair work to go with the rest of the hotel. location is nice surrounded by forest. the service level in the restaurant i low and slow; breakfast table was emptied and only one poor girl to fill it up, lunch menu was old out most of the dishes and we waited a long time for two plates og fries.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmanDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The staff was great, smiling and very helpful. The atmosphere just amazing, really in the middle of the Jungle, as opposed to other resorts that were very much closer to the main road. We highly recommend the guided night tour of the Jungle with the hotel guide.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RDG83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel was a delight from moment one! First off, my little group of friends (4 of us total), had been a little worried about getting to the hotel since some previous reviewers had mentioned that it was a little off the beaten path. But we had no trouble! We easily found a van service from the Puerto Iguazu airport to drop us at the hotel. Part of the drive is down a dirt road, but this remoteness is precicely why the hotel is such a wonderful, quiet retreat.

The hotel is in very good shape, well-taken-care-of. Rooms are very spacious with fabulous screened-in porches. It rained while we were there, so we did not use the pool but it always looked fresh and clean. Service was wonderful; we were on a first-name basis with several of the staff due to their friendliness.

We stayed here two nights and ate at the restaurant both nights. The food was very good. Breakfast buffet was excellent, lots of hot and cold choices so it never got boring.

The hotel helped us arrange for a driver to assist us in getting around town and the park for the duration of our stay, which was very helpful. This was absolutly the highlight of our trip to Argentina!!

Room Tip: Rooms are in separate buildings connected by boardwalks to the main lodge.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JilliePepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here for two nights whilst visiting the Iguazu Falls. Overall it was a pleasant stay, fantastic setting, peaceful, nice pool and a lovely room but a few key things let the hotel down meaning we probably wouldn't come back. Having politely tried to give feedback to the staff upon checkout we were asked to give feed back on trip advisor instead so here it is.

On our first evening, arriving tired from Rio and having visited the Brazil side of the Falls in the afternoon we opted for the barbecue night at the lodge - an expensive mistake. The food was nothing short of terrible. The starter and main course arrived all at the same time and the drinks later on. The barbecue is effectively a griddle of tough, dry, non-descript meat placed on your table. On the positive side the entertainment they put on for the barbecue night was good.

The following day we arrived at breakfast at 7.45 to find that pretty much everything had been devoured and with only one member of staff who looked pretty run off her feet this didn't get replenished before our transport to the Argentine side of the Falls arrived.

On returning later that afternoon we found that our room hadn't been made up. When we asked we were told that this was because the room only had one key and as we took this with us they couldn't get into the room. If we had been told this in advance of course we would have left the key with reception. We then spent a pleasant couple of hours relaxing by the pool before heading into the town (we ate at La Rueda which was fantastic - highly recommend it)

Finally, on our last day, whilst having breakfast before our 10am checkout we were asked to hand over our key so they could go into the town and make a copy. Mid breakfast and with an hour to go, needless to say we didn't rush back to our room to unlock it and hand over the key. Perhaps we were spectacularly unlucky with the service and the food but having read some of the other reviews I'm not so sure. A real shame as this place has the potential to be outstanding.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spent 3 nights here and loved it for its isolated setting and its tranquility. Our room was on the upper (2nd) floor of one of the "houses" scattered within the grounds and, although I feared that we would melt in the heat, the fan was quite adequate at regulating the temperature. The room was homely and the beds were extremely comfortable. We spent most of our time visiting the Falls but there were also periods of relaxation which were spent around the small , delightful pool . The garden was not particularly well tended but this added to the charm of the place.We saw very little wild life but, then, wild life does not appear by appointment. We chose this hotel because it was NOT a big chain hotel and we got what we wanted - a quiet, laid-back atmosphere. Breakfast was fine and plentiful but, as others have noted, we found, only by chance, that alternatives were available e.g. scrambled eggs. We took the barbeque one evening and this, yes, was an expensive disaster; we waited and waited and nobody seemed to be able to tell us when the food would be served. It eventually arrived but was not a memorable affair. The staff were pleasant enough and the service was perfectly acceptable. I was glad that I learned Spanish before visiting South America because there were occasional problems with communication.But I have no time for people who visit foreign countries and expect all the locals to have perfect English! I would recommend this hotel as a very pleasant alternative to the steryotyped big hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meopi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.8 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,201 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
#12 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
833 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#9 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,694 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,827 reviews
1.8 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#8 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Jungle Lodge

Address: Ruta Nacional 12 5, Puerto Iguazu N3370HKA, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#8 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range: $110 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Jungle Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Jungle Lodge was carefully built preserving the environment and having the least impact possible. In the 3 hectares of the facilities there are trees of over 400 years old (Purging cassia tree) and others which are protected because they are endangered species (Rosewood). Our Lodge is featured to be an innovating, exclusive proposal and to provide first class services bringing us closer to each passenger. Ideal for vacations, romantic trips, honeymoons, corporate resting, incentive trips, family reunions, relax and adventure in Misiones Jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Cantera Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cantera Jungle Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing