We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location - terrible food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Cantera Lodge de Selva by DON
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for three nights whilst we visited the falls. We had two rooms - one in the newer block which was lovely, and a larger room in the older wing - the bedroom was much bigger, but there was mould on the ceilings & it looked quite run down.

The location is lovely, peaceful & quiet. As some reviewers mention it costs ARP $80 for a return trip to town, which is quite expensive if you don't fancy the 20min walk to the main road.

Whatever you do - do not eat here! The menu is overpriced and I had a vegetarian wok that was frankly inedible, containing as it did, half a bottle of soy sauce. We had lunch a couple of times there as well and were similarly unimpressed. Worth paying the taxi fare to town!

The staff were pleasant and helpful - organising us taxis and pickups.

All in all a pleasant stay, but the restaurant sadly lets the place down.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 1,932 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed at this hotel three nights and had a great stay. The location is easy to the Iguazu Fall National Park. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is very good. They will cook to order. The dinner is acceptable for a jungle lodge. It is located in the subtropical rainforest and is very exotic. My room is upstairs with a balcony and a hamock. allso ceiling fans in the room and balcony. There is a jaccuzzi tub and takes the sore out of the tired body.
It is secluded and not closed to anything. But after all, the name of the hotel tells you not to expect anything there.
The hotel is only two or three years old. Very eco-friendly.
I can still hear the birds chirping. This is a hotel that will give you a different experience.

Room Tip: My friends are in the downstairs room and they can hear the ceaking of the floor when I walk upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelat70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felisa F, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Lodge de Selva by DON, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for posting your review.
We are very glad you experienced a real jungle situation and felt confortabe at our lodge: this is our goal with every guest!

We hope you can come again some time!
Best Regards
La Cantera Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

I'm not sure why this hotel is so highly ranked on Tripadvisor. This hotel was booked by my travel agent - if you have a choice where to stay, don't stay here.

As most people have already mentioned, the location is in the middle of the jungle, which is nice and peaceful, but a real pain the backside to get anywhere. This is the only positive, if you could call it that!

Reception staff were not that friendly.

My room was on the ground floor and the ceilings are very thin, so I could hear the children running around all evening and first thing in the morning - so not very relaxing at all.

The drain in the shower/bathtub was blocked so I couldn't have a shower and as its hot and humid in Iguacu, the last thing you need is to not be able to shower! I advised reception of the problem, but they said there was not much they could do...as mentioned above, reception staff not that helpful.

Final gripe, unless you want to spend ARS80 on return taxi rides into town for dinner, you're obliged to eat the meal in the hotel restaurant. Tip: spend the ARS80!! The one meal I had was terrible and for ARS200, def not worth it! Aside from the fact that it was overcooked and bland, they said dinner would start at 8:30pm. When I got to the dining room, they said they would be running 30 mins late....everyone in the restaurant ended up waiting till 9:30 for dinner start (it's a set menu and very limited).

I'm not sure how this is a 4 star rated hotel...must be the amenities like the swimming pool (which has mould around the edges) and restaurant (which serves terrible food.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fritz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felisa F, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Lodge de Selva by DON, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your reviews.
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay at La Cantera, we have kept in contact with the hotel manager in order to review these issues pointed.

Thank you very much!

La Cantera Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The jungle location of this hotel creates quite a tranquil and peaceful atmosphere, and the layout which includes mini walkways through the bush adds to the experience. The food was also great (although the selection was limited).

On the other hand, our stay was made a little inconvenient by the lack of hot water in our room, which although was fixed within a few hours - the staff changed our room that evening without giving us any reason. The new room was a double rather than the king we had originally booked, and nobody bothered to explain to us how to use the outdoor jacuzzi. When we consulted the staff later, we were again not given any explanation about the room change except that we wouldn't be charged extra.

Other than that minor inconvenience, our stay was mildly pleasant, and as most of the reviewers said, its good to keep in mind that this hotel is not off the main road - you'll probably need a taxi or a rental car to get just about anywhere.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank KarrarK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felisa F, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Lodge de Selva by DON, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear GUest,

Thank you very much for your review!! We have taken into consideration all the points you made so we can work on that.



Best Regards
La Cantera Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel is located far from the main road where you can pick buses to and from all near areas. This is a big drawback. We booked the transfer to and from the airport beforehand and were told we would pay at the hotel. At check-out when we were told that service had to be paid cash only. We ran out of cash and offered to pay by debit or credit card but they suggested we took first a taxi to the city (about $ 40) get the cash and then go back to the hotel and pay there for the transfer to the airport ($ 130/ea). It goes without saying that in that way we could miss our flight. In the end we called a local taxi who offered us a much better service during our stay and cost much less. Only then did they accept a payment by card of the first transfer from the airport. My question is: why couldn't they accept it in the first place. Is this the way they help their guests?????

Room Tip: No transfer available for guests to and from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felisa F, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Lodge de Selva by DON, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments!
We are working all the issues pointed,

Thanks ,

Best Regards
La Cantera Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Great jungle lodge next to Iguazu waterfalls (just 15 minutes driving). Service is friendly and also professional. Food is alright. The best: the jungle and the room. Walking through those walkaways that take you to the rooms are amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I just finished my two-night stay at La Cantera and have to say I was thoroughly impressed and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The location was beautiful because it is situated in the middle of the jungle instead of the busy Puerto Iguazu or the expensive alternative which is in the actual park grounds.

The hotel was quiet and peaceful, a perfect place to relax and sit by the pool on a hammock. All the rooms included their own hammocks as well as two down by the pool, which was NOT dirty at all when we stayed there. It had a unique jungle feel to it with boardwalks to get to all of the rooms.

My room had a very high ceiling and was beautifully decorated with a nice screen porch attached to it, it looked very modern but homey at the same time. The one thing I did not like was the transparent glass bathrooms, really not a smart idea despite how modern it looks, I'd rather have privacy.

We ate one night at the hotel due to a recommendation from another guest and had a fantastic meal. I had a perfectly cooked pork meal with a mango and bacon salsa along with two excellent appetizers, a potato leak soup and arrugula parmesan salad.

The only downside in my opinion was the taxi fare to get everywhere and the pool deck. It is in the middle of the jungle so it cost a lot to get to the park and the city, but if you don't mind bussing, which is significantly cheaper, it is not a big issue. The other problem was the deck which was stained a very pretty red colour, however, when wet it dyed everything it touched. Doesn't make very much sense for a pool deck considering it will be wet most of the time.

Overall though I would recommend it because of the atmosphere. The receptionists were all extremely helpful and spoke fluent english. It was a great tranquil getaway from the kind of grimy city of Puerto Iguazu and the busy national park. After a day of hiking through crowds, lounging around the pool and swimming was the perfect answer!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripAdviserUser87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.8 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,446 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,225 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
#10 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#8 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,855 reviews
2.5 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#9 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
#2 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Lodge de Selva by DON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Lodge de Selva by DON

Address: Ruta Nacional 12 KM 5, Puerto Iguazu N3370HKA, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range: $130 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Lodge de Selva by DON 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Lodge de Selva by DON was carefully built preserving the environment and having the least impact possible. In the 3 hectares of the facilities there are trees of over 400 years old (Purging cassia tree) and others which are protected because they are endangered species (Rosewood). Our Lodge is featured to be an innovating, exclusive proposal and to provide first class services bringing us closer to each passenger. Ideal for vacations, romantic trips, honeymoons, corporate resting, incentive trips, family reunions, relax and adventure in Misiones Jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Cantera Lodge de Selva by DON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cantera Jungle Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing