We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STOP YOUR BOOKING NOW!!!”
Review of Stop Hostel Iguazu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Iguazu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stop Hostel Iguazu
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Peurto Iguazu without booking a place to stay, so got off the shuttle from the airport at the bus station and tried the first one we seen (marcopolo, which unfortunately was full - looked nice). Some old boy on the street could see we were unsuccessful, so sold Stop to us. Said it was round the corner, but was a 20 minute walk, so by the time we got there couldn't be bothered looking for anything else as our big bags were getting the better of us.

First night in a room at the front complete with windows that have huge gaps in them. No sleep due to constant noise from street and mozzies let themselves in for a feast!

Next morning carted off to other hostel for breakfast (not worth the walk) and asked for room at back of hostel for second night (would have left after first night if we didn't have to pay up front). Got new room, no sleep due to:

a) generators being outside window
b) construction going on all through the night in bar downstairs (every single guest was up complaining to donut of a receptionist who kept saying it's how it works over here - what, paying for a place to sleep is actually an active building site?

Asked for full refund but manager said no as "you could have moved room again" - what, 3rd time in 2 nights (no point anyway cos ALL rooms were affected)?

In summary, didn't sleep for 72hrs, got bitten alive, dire breakfast and it is quite the dive to boot, so do please continue to book this place if you are mentally insane (like i now am after my stay there)...

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 7 of 78 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Stop I because we arrived in Puerto Iguazu during a holiday and with no reservation sowe had to take whichever free room we could find. The sheets were dirty, but the bathroom was pretty ok. We could cook, there was a quite big kitchen and hot water for tea or coffee non stop, although we did have to go to the other hostel for breakfast every morning (1-2 minutes walk). The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and always nice at both hostels, this we enjoyed a lot. And we got the room for a cheaper price than advertised. Wifi works well.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Don't reserve at Stop Hostel if you don't want to ruin your trip. I cant describe how DISGUSTING it was to stay there when i went to Iguazu. We found ticks and different bugs in all the rooms, the sheets are really old and dirty, they look like if never had been washed. Some of my friends get flea bites when sleeping. The staff simple doesn't care about nothing, they ignore you completely. Rooms, kitchen and bathrooms are AWFUL and in terrible conditions.

Room Tip: All rooms are disgusting. Look for another place to stay. REALLY
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lore0292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Did not enjoy Stop II at all, even though it is very well located. Only one semi-working computer, no kitchen (!!) so we had to beg to go cook food at Stop I, no personality and not very friendly staff. Not sure if this is the problem of the hostel or the town Puerto Iguazu in general, which is a bit of a tourist trap. There is a nice pool that is sometimes clean but it is totally overpriced for what you're getting. Only stay here as a last resort, I would recommend booking accommodation in Puerto Iguazu in advance to avoid Stop.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingrid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I don't know if only my room is so terrible. The door handle is very loose with cracks on wooden door. Air condition is not working and without cover. Bed sheets are not clean and room with stinky smell. Overhead light is not working. I asked the reception if my room is the only so terrible room which I booked through Che Lagarto in cheap price and she said yes!!! I asked why their hostel want to keep such room for selling and she can't explain...

I feel misleading by Che Lagarto because not mentioned during booking. The booking process is time consuming and troublesome. My advice is if you want to book Stop Hostel, don't book through Che Lagarto.

But I wonder if I want to book Stop Hostel. The so called Stop II is with no name at the moment. Common area is empty, lifeless and worn out. It was obviously the old Che Lagarto Hostel without any renovation. I would definitely avoid such place. Terrible! Terrible! Terrible!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank monkizu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We got a very good deal offered to us at the bus station. After checking in we read the reviews here and got scared, but decided to take the risk because we didn't want to move. We're glad we stayed, because it is a very nice hostel! The staff was friendly and helpfull, the kitchen is not that good, but it did the job and best of all, we didn't see any bed bug! Common areas are very good, the rooms are ok, not super clean but the bed was very good. By the way, we wouldn't go here if we had to pay the price advertised behind the counter, but we paid less than half of that. After check-out we could use the common areas and facilities, very handy if you have to wait the whole day.

Room Tip: Better pick a room that is not at the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joost v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

we stayd in the stop hostel for 2 nights. it was 2 nights too long. the stuff is very unfriendly, the breakfast is bad an the rooms and bathrooms are not really clean....they have a kitchen but without any usefull things in it. i wouldnt recommend the hostel to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VerenaFpunkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hostel Park Iguazu
Hostel Park Iguazu
#52 of 138 in Puerto Iguazu
103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residencial Lilian
Residencial Lilian
#34 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
145 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residencial Azaleas Place
Residencial Azaleas Place
#20 of 58 in Puerto Iguazu
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Sorgente Hotel Posada
La Sorgente Hotel Posada
#30 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
766 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marangatu
Marangatu
#35 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
56 reviews
1.6 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stop Hostel Iguazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stop Hostel Iguazu

Address: Avenida Victoria Aguirre Norte 304, Puerto Iguazu N3370AXQ, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Iguazu
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing