We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel was a disappointing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mt. Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This hotel was a disappointing experience”
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Upon arrival in our room we noticed a very musty, mildewy smell which nev er left the 3 days we were there.
It seemed to be short staffed regarding meals, one waitress for everyone.
The spa was not built yet so we had a massage in our room. She was very good but had to position her table between our beds; a bit cramped for her.
We weren't told about the jungle fly at all.
Circulation in the room was not good, it was practically covered by the jungle.
Hard to dry our soaked clothing from the falls ride.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leopascutto, Manager at La Aldea de la Selva Lodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Dear Mr. Casper,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to complete our survey. First of all we would like to express our sincere regrets for all the inconveniences you had to encounter during your last stay.
We have immediately and very carefully checked into all these issues, and we check that everything will be according and on the level of service we are known for.
Only as information not as excuse let me explain to you that one of the main attraction of the hotel is the special connection with the nature and with Iriapú Jungle, reason which a lot of travelers to choose stay at La Aldea de la Selva.
Once again thank you for bringing all this to our attention.
Despite this negative comments, I hope that your stay with us was an enjoyable one.
Sincerely yours
Leonardo Pascutto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    292
    88
    44
    17
See reviews for
233
420
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

The lodge is wonderful, well appointed, and makes you feel like you are are in a magical rain forest. The huge cabin had a porch with a hammock, table and chairs where I spent an hour listening to and enjoying the rain storm, a sitting room, a very large bedroom, a large bath with a jacuzzi tub. We were only 2 blocks off of the main road where you can catch a bus or a cab to the Falls which is about 8 miles away. My only complaint is that we were not able to exchange any money at the desk. Since we arrived on the Brazilian side and this hotel was on the Argentine side, we neglected to exchange our money at the airport. I asked if they were able to exchange $20 so that we could get into town, we were told that they couldn't. Luckily for us there was a hotel across the road where we made the exchange. They also promised wifi in our rooms but there was a problem and we couldn't log on. We were able to log on in the reception area/dining room and it was free.
We stayed for 2 nights and ate at their restaurant. The restaurant was in another building and you walked on a brick walkway surrounded by trees and flowers. It was well-lit at night and there was even a nature walk and pool. The food was excellent and the dining room was beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joannandron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leopascutto, Manager at La Aldea de la Selva Lodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
Dear Joannandron;
Thank you very much for having taken the time to send us a review.
Your comments will greatly motivate our staff to maintain our reputation for excellence.
Best Regards
Leonardo Pascutto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
,Ontario.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

We spent one night here after a trip to Iguazu Falls. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, which would be all right if it had more amenities. We were tired, so we took a swim in their pool, which needs a thorough cleaning. The room is large with a huge bed.
Both the shower and bathroom sink leak water everywhere after use.
The hotel is quiet, however, the disadvantage is that unless you take a cab into the town, you are stuck there. We decided to have dinner in their restaurant. A huge mistake.
The pasta was overcooked and the sauce was watery and tasteless,the salad was also very bland. The worst thing was that it was grossly overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luigia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leopascutto, Manager at La Aldea de la Selva Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Thank you very much for having taken the time to send us a review. First of all we would like to express our sincere regrets for all the inconveniences you had to encounter during your last stay.

We have immediately and very carefully checked into all these issues, and confirmed there should have been no reason for all these incidents to occur.

I passed your comments to our Executive Chef, who has reinitiated a training of his cooks. In order to the sink leak, our Maintenance Coordinator has checked every room, and has repaired bathroom and shower with problems.

Once again thank you for bringing all this to our attention.
Despite this negative comments, I hope that your stay with us was an enjoyable one.


Sincerely yours

Leonardo Pascutto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Only thing that saves this place is: Air conditioning, a nice pool, good restaurant, and nice staff.
The rooms are rustic and the bathrooms are down right gross, I can see lizards coming in the cracks, and the shower leaks from all places.
You can't walk anywhere because it not close to anything.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WantToSeeItAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leopascutto, Manager at La Aldea de la Selva Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for having taken the time to send us a review. First of all we would like to express our sincere regrets for all the inconveniences you had to encounter during your last stay.

I passed your comments about the sink leak to our Maintenance Coordinator, who has checked every room, and has repaired bathroom and shower with problems.

Only as information not as excuse let me explain to you that here is normally to see small lizards within the buildings. But this happens not only in the forest, but also in the middle of the cities, consequence of the humid subtropical climate.

Once again thank you for bringing all this to our attention.
Despite this negative comments, I hope that your stay with us was an enjoyable one.

Sincerely yours

Leonardo Pascutto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

The lodge is located just off the main road about 17km from the airport (100 peso taxi ride), about 2km before reaching the town. Built in 2007, we'd best describe it as 5-star rustic. It's literally carved out of the surrounding jungle, a main lodge (with a pretty decent dining room) and several 4-unit pods a short, meandering walk away along winding, romantic,wooden paths that are well lit at night. Construction, and many furnishings, mimic the surroundings; simple, wood and adobe brick, but with an upscale twist. The rooms are quite large, modern, and feature a small separate sitting area as well as oversized bathrooms with jacuzzi. There's also a nice pool area and other activities as listed on the website. WiFi in the rooms is spotty but there is a central computer room with good reception and two desktop computers. Our dinners (3 different nights) were better than average and service was always attentive. We've already recommended the place to other friends and acquaintances.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbo_banker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leopascutto, Manager at La Aldea de la Selva Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Dear Jimbo;
Thank you very much for having taken the time to complete our survey.
Guest satisfaction is our first priority and we were delighted to learn that we lived up to your expectations.
Your comments will greatly motivate our staff to maintain our reputation for excellence.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa and remain.
Sincerely yours
Leonardo Pascutto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyrus, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2011

We enjoyed the layout and the privacy of our room. Beds were great. Air conditioning was ok but could have worked more effeciently. Did have musty smell in the room that permeated our clothing. Food was very good but since we ate there 3 nights it would have been nice to have a varied menu to choose from. Pool was great. Lodge staff were very helpful and answered our questions. Nice breakfast each morning. Had internet but very, very slow. Good price. Enjoyed the location and feeling of being in the jungle.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nola92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leopascutto, Manager at La Aldea de la Selva Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Dear Nola;
Thank you very much for having taken the time to send us a review.
Guest satisfaction is our first priority and we were delighted to learn that we lived up to your expectations.
Your comments will greatly motivate our staff to maintain our reputation for excellence.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the La Aldea de la Selva Lodge.
Sincerely yours
Leonardo Pascutto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We had 2 nights here, visiting the Falls - and really liked it.

The rooms were huge and very comfortable - we ended up having a different room each night, because the first night there was an issue with the door lock (but the room itself was marginally nicer and had a jacuzzi so we chose to go back to it the second night, when the lock was fixed) - and both were very large, with a large bathroom, a deck with a hammock, and a modern, quiet air conditioner. Mini-bar, wi-fi (quite slow from memory), and TV also.

Look and feel was sort of "jungle chic" (!) - lots of exposed wood but very tastefully done and very much in keeping with the surrounding environment (despite being 5 minutes from Iguassu town, this hotel has the feeling of being in dense bush/jungle - which I really liked).

The lodge has a pretty big pool, with nice sun-loungers and a poolside bar. The breakfast was delicious, the food at the restaurant also very good (and well priced I thought), and the restaurant itself is nicely decorated along the lines of the jungle lodge theme.

Staff were pretty helpful and most had good English, which was good for us. The staff helped us organise a private driver for our time in Iguassu - he drove us to and from both sides of the Falls, and also to and from the airport as we arrived and departed. I'm sure this wasn't the cheapest option but it worked really well, and good to have a local helping you with tips and also a bit of queue-jumping!

We loved the Falls - totally worth the trip. Based on comments on this site and from others, we spent a whole day on the Argentine side and only visited the Brazilian side for a few hours on the day we flew out (from Foz airport, which is very close to the Brazilian side of the Falls). Personally, although the Brazilian side was achievable in a short time in the way that we did it, I would have preferred to have spent longer on the Brazilian side - so if your schedule can allow it, I would plan for 2 full days at the Falls, and spend a good day on each side. There is also a massive hydro dam in the area, which I didn't realise until we left, but that would also be worth a look if you have time and are interested.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDM001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leopascutto, Manager at La Aldea de la Selva Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Dear CDM;
Thank you very much for having taken the time to send us a review.
Guest satisfaction is our first priority and we were delighted to learn that we lived up to your expectations.
Your comments will greatly motivate our staff to maintain our reputation for excellence.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the La Aldea de la Selva Lodge.
Sincerely yours
Leonardo Pascutto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
1.3 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,081 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#13 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,846 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,730 reviews
2.5 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#6 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,622 reviews
1.5 mi away
Village Cataratas Hotel
Village Cataratas Hotel
#17 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Aldea de la Selva Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Aldea de la Selva Lodge

Property: La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
Address: Selva Iriapu S/N, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#17 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Aldea de la Selva Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of the Selva Paranaense, La Aldea de la Selva Lodge combines nature and comfort through our rooms that enhance the rustic and autochthonous of our missionary land, with furniture made by local artists. The perfect blend of rusticity and luxury. We are a pioneer hotel-tourism company in giving value to the natural and cultural resources of the area of ​​Iguazu, at the same time that we offer a unique lodging experience, committed with a distinguished service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Aldea de la Selva Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Aldea De La Selva Hotel Puerto Iguazu
La Aldea De La Selva Lodge And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing