We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Rustic”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

This rustic hotel is a series of lodge-style cabins in the middle of the jungle, but really just off the main drag between the airport and Puerto Iguazu, which I guess is the jungle. The cabins are great, with an awesome porch facing dense forest. The restaurant however is not very good and there aren't any other options nearby.

I still highly recommend it as a place to stay if you're visiting the falls. It's close enough that you'll be able to visit both the Brazilian and Argentine sides in one day.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 611andresd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    296
    88
    44
    17
See reviews for
239
426
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

A few clarifications:
1. as mentioned in another review, there's no "spa" in sight. Not sure what this is in reference to (the jets in the mini-pool? Wasn't even on. )
2. Not necessarily in the "jungle"; it's on the edge of town but the vegetation is thin. There's enough coverage so you're not staring into someone else's room but you can obviously make out other buildings far enough. The jungle aspect is more like "expert gardening" to make it feel like a jungle.

That being said, this was a lovely hotel. There are birds and butterflies here, but not much or any other animals. There's even bananas growing right outside of the reception. It's a little cheesy (if you pay attention to the vegetation in the area, many of the plants, namely the bananas, are not indigenous so they're deliberately grown there for coverage / decor) and my SO and I agreed it reminded me of a jungle version of The Great Northern Lodge from Twin Peaks. The reception is beautiful, the rooms are the right touch of kitsch and very very roomy. Instead of a traditional single unit, the units are spread out like little villages along wooden walkways with vegetation between them. Our row had about 3-4 different rooms on it. Yes, the rooms were a little musty smelling but these rooms were essentially like cabins and if you've ever stayed in a cabin before, they have a scent to them. Not to mention the dampness is expected in a "rainforest" setting- once you turn on your heating / AC unit the moistness goes away.

One of the highlights of this hotel was the excellent wifi- in BA we were struggling to get or maintain a connection the whole time. Not perfect, but the most consistent service since we've left North America. Every building has it's own router. Our internet did go down the morning we left, but it worked fine in the business center.

I stayed during Argentina's winter so there weren't as many bird outs as I would have liked but on the bright side I did not hear the smacking of seeds on the roof.

I was also really, really, really glad this hotel wasn't in actual Puerto Iguazu. After two nights visiting the city we had enough. We tried to walk a few places (for instance, DE LA FONTE via Victoria Aguirre and 9th de Julio) and HOLY CRAP, wow- we were only a block away and noped the HECK out! That hotel was in a residential part of town and it was sketchy as hell! Anything that wasn't on the main few stretches of town was super sketchy. If Flint, Michigan had a baby with Gatlinburg, Tennessee and it was a town in Mexico (no, not Argentina), it'll be called Puerto Iguazu!

Qualms: not all rooms come with hammocks! I was upset about this because the hammocks was what made me want to stay here! Not only were there no hammocks, my entire patio guard-rail rotted off and laid in a collapsed pile right over the patio edge. It wasn't a big deal because I was too busy going to the falls to pay attention to the patio.
I also noticed the sewage smell in the bathroom on the day we left. Thankfully, it wasn't there everyday.
The AC / Heating unit was a struggle to operate because only one button was labeled - sleep. We had to press every other button to figure out how to use it.
Some of our outlets didn't work and they were sparse. I think it's a trend in Argentina, but I had to unplug a side lamp and the TV to access plugs.
FOOD: the food here is not very good. We tried the daily special (appetizer, dessert, and entree for about $170 pesos, about $17 each in 2014) which sounded excellent, but went downhill from the appetizer. You had two options for each, and since there was the two of us, we just ordered one of each and a bottle of malbec.
The beef empanada was pretty decent but it went downhill from there. The "river fish" was pretty terrible- I'm not even really sure of the species but it was a firm white fish with a kind of dirty taste to it (like a more intense, farm-raised tilapia). I didn't know what I was expecting seeing that freshwater fish in the US iS considered poor people food (ie: "inferior"). With river fish in the US, you fry the heck out of it and douse it in hot sauce which makes anything tasty. This was pan-fried and under-seasoned and drizzled with a mysterious, flavorless mahogany-colored sauce. The risotto we had with it was incredibly dense and salty. This was intriguing because I felt like the exception of steak, everything else in Argentina didn't have enough salt. Steak was pretty mediocre as well. The worst abomination during this meal was their "queso y dulce" rendition which was a bland, flavorless white cheese paired with candied papaya. I found it completely inedible. My SO finished it and proceeded to have diarrhea that night.

Breakfast was so-so. If you manage to grab a medialuna fresh from the kitchen they're decent. HOWEVER, it seems that they run out of them often so they douse their croissants (which are very dry, chalky, crumbly) with a sugar glaze and put them out as medialunas. The fruit looked shot to hell and back. The ham was the only cold cut available, and like other ham found in Argentina, is flavorless pink rectangles served with flavorless white rectangles for cheese. The highlight was that they have Tabasco here (both red and green!) so you an get some semi-decent scrambled eggs and douse them with tabasco to appease your spice fix. Coffee is weak for Argentinean standards. I can't really complain though because for $300 dollars a night in the US, you get a continental breakfast which is cereal, coffee, and a piece of fruit if you're lucky.

Even though the food was pretty terrible, everything else was nice.

Room Tip: 1. To get to Iguazu Falls for cheap, catch the "Rio Uruguay" bus to "CATARATAS"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rirrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
2,435 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 965 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

La Aldea de la Selva is a rustic hotel 'in the jungle'. A good place to stay for your Iguazu Falls visit. A nice swimming pool, good restaurant serving nice meals and pleasant spacious rooms. Not too far from the town centre (you can walk, but it's about 25 to 30 minutes). The one request we made from the staff was not accommodated (we had some wet clothes that needed drying and since the weather was not too hot/ dry, we asked for them to please use the laundry dryer. The staff declined our request - stating that the laundry was busy!)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibadanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Our room was spacious and well furnished with a nice balcony. The decor is rustic, but comfortable. The location is good, you can easily arrange for a taxi driver to pick you up and drive you to both the Argentine and Brazilian side of the falls. Breakfast was fine. However, the restaurant was not that great, some dishes were ok while others were quite disappointing. Service was a bit grumpy sometimes. All in all, it was okay for the price and it is probably better to stay here rather than in town.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Daisy0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The hotel is very nice and well maintained. Felt like we were living in the jungle. Our room was large and comfortable; the food was good (and the breakfast was exceedingly large for Argentina); the staff were helpful and nice, the internet worked well in the room, etc.. We would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María G, Departamento Comercial at La Aldea de la Selva Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Sra. Sandy,

Muchas gracias por compartir su opinión con el resto de los lectores de Trip Advisor! Nos alegra mucho que haya disfrutado su estadía con nosotros y esperamos volver a recibirla muy pronto en el Lodge!

Saludos cordiales,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US/Slovenia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed here for four nights (Sunday-Thursday) in the first half of the busy Semana Santa. Due to our late decision to travel, we were lucky to find a room for four in Puerto Iguazu. Given the time of year and our lack of planning, we were pleased with what we got. The grounds are attractive and the pool area is nice. Rooms are fine, with balconies and hammocks. Large, high-ceilinged, reception/restaurant area. No bar, but beer and wine available in the restaurant. Buffet breakfasts were good, but the dinner menu is limited and did not change in the four nights we were there. We ate dinner there twice and went out twice. Surprisingly few bugs, given the setting; the only time I got bitten by a mosquito was at dusk by the pool. Our kids came across a couple of enormous snails (maybe 4-5 inches long and 2 inches wide) crawling across one of the paths, which they stopped to photograph. Fascinating jungle creatures (the snails, not the kids). Our heating/ air-conditioning unit did not work the night we arrived and it was cold, but the hotel replaced it with a brand-new unit the next day

On the downside, our room was rather musty. They should replace the bedding and mattresses more frequently and/or run a de-humidifier between guests to dry the place out. The most annoying thing about the room was the smell of urine wafting up intermittently into the bathroom. It must have been to due with the nature of the sewer system or perhaps the septic tank needed to be emptied. To put this in perspective, I would characterize the intermittent smell as mildly annoying rather than disgusting or unbearable. We did not complain to the hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are on one level, built on pilings a few feet off the ground. Our building had two ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradSlovenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Due to a weather related delay earlier on our trip, we only got to stay 1 night instead of two here in Iguazu. It turned out OK though. We arrived early afternoon, and spent the next day at the falls, before leaving on a late flight to B A to catch up with our planned schedule.

I’m telling you this because one night is better than two if you are not prepared for the rustic environment of the accommodation. We were not expecting anything like luxury, but it was not even close. To bring these cabins up to a good acceptable standard would require a total makeover.

However, we did not dislike our brief stay there. We enjoyed wandering the grounds on boardwalks through the trees the afternoon we arrived, we didn’t spot any large wild animals of course, we didn’t expect to, but we saw a few birds, and heard many more. We saw the pool area but didn’t use it. It looked very nice and clean, with no leaves in the water; surprising really with all the vegetation around.

We then had drinks on the veranda outside the main building that doubles as reception and dining room, and when we got hungry, we went inside and enjoyed a very nice dinner, well served by a pleasant waitress. It was a very nice afternoon and evening that put us in a good mood to face the “fun” of out jungle cabin.

By the way, as we were spending the whole of the next day at the falls, we had to check out in the morning, but they kept out bags for us and allowed us to shower and change when we got back in the evening.

The few staff that we met where pleasant and helpful; nothing bit us in the cabin, and the bed was clean and we had hot water in the bathroom…after a little wait

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
1.3 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,110 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#13 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,855 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#6 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,633 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,758 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
#2 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Aldea de la Selva Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Aldea de la Selva Lodge

Property: La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
Address: Selva Iriapu S/N, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#17 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Aldea de la Selva Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of the Selva Paranaense, La Aldea de la Selva Lodge combines nature and comfort through our rooms that enhance the rustic and autochthonous of our missionary land, with furniture made by local artists. The perfect blend of rusticity and luxury. We are a pioneer hotel-tourism company in giving value to the natural and cultural resources of the area of ​​Iguazu, at the same time that we offer a unique lodging experience, committed with a distinguished service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Aldea de la Selva Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Aldea De La Selva Lodge And Spa
La Aldea De La Selva Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing