We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very impressive!”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

What a charming place this is. The cottages are made from wood and thoughfully designed. We had a rear balcony that had a nice view of the garden. The room was huge and beautifully appointed. The jacuzzi in the bathroom was a nice treat.

The swimming pool was large and inviting. The staff were very friendly and the restaurant had good food.

The location is also quite convenient as it is a short (and cheap) bus trip to Iguassu Falls.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iskoolboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    301
    89
    46
    17
See reviews for
249
430
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Arriving, you are not impressed as you turn off the main road. Then, wow! The lobby is beautiful, then the rooms are reached by way of walkways in what you swear are buried in a long lost jungle. Rooms are gorgeous, the pool area is spectacular. Service was great especially from the pool staff, and the breakfasts were exceptional. Definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrispenoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpena, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Great hotel for what we like...secluded, quiet, great pool, and an awesome jungle location. We arrived midday and had no difficulty with an early check-in. We liked the room cabanas were tucked into the jungle separated from each other along jungle paths. The room was a "rustic" (we like that) and had a comfortable hammock on the small patio that seemed to be right in the middle of the jungle (with all the sights and sounds that entails). The room was a little dated in accessories and decor, but very comfortable and the airconditioning worked well. The bathroom was a little austere, but met all our needs. The pool area and small adjacent bar were very picturesque and nice retreat in the afternoons. The dining room food (dinner and breakfast) were just OK...and we concur with other raters that the service in the dining room varied from mediocre to lower. That said, we loved the jungle location, the wooden walking paths, the climbing wall, the pleasant lighted walking paths to the bungalows, our own local iguana on insect duty...and all the other things that go with the neat jungle setting. Not an easy walk to town center...but if you like seclusion, a great pool area, and the ambiance of the jungle location--this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockytoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I liked the jungle location as well as the way the bungalows were separated from one another. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Breakfast needs improvement, both in quality and choice. The resort is a bit understaffed, and staff are sometimes difficult to find.

Room Tip: Suites cost just a small extra, and are much nicer than standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchTraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Fantastic hotel. The sign out front on the highway was falling apart but not a reflection of what's inside. The pool was beautiful and the rooms were very funky in these little cabins.

Breakfast was above average for Argentina - they even had scrambled eggs!

The service was average HOWEVER with the high cost I expected more. This is an expensive place to stay and although the place is beautiful I found most of the staff average or less than. The pool towels were never replenished and the room we had never had a hammock (which is an attraction of this place). We asked for one twice only to get no hammock and not much explantion.

All in all, if you want a nice jungle stay this is a great spot.

**NOTE: The restaurant here is amazing. Three nights and all three nights the food was amazing. It actually made staying there worth it (althogh breakfast IS included, dinner and lunch is extra).

Room Tip: Just make sure to ask for a room with a hammock. It's unique to this place and very cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Funkyjive5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We arrived at the La Aldea de la Selva Hotel late afternoon after a flight from Salta. We had made the reservation 8 weeks earlier direct with the hotel. We telephone to confirm our reservation and were assured that we had a room booked for three nights.

On our arrival we were informed by the reception staff that there had been an over booking and we would be transferred to the sister hotel in town for two nights and on the third night be transferred to the La Aldea de la Selva. After 30 minutes of heated discussion with the Hotel Manager we were reluctantly offered a standard room (we had reserved a junior suite). We accepted.


The room and en suite could have done with updating. The towels were ripped and frayed. The bedding should have been thrown long ago. The AC dripped and we had to have a towel on the floor to catch the water. I accept that this was a jungle lodge, but the prices charged for a room I would expect better quality.

Noise from the ajoining room could be clearly heard through the thin walls.

On a positive note the pool area was very well kept. It is hard to believe it belonged to the hotel.

The restaurant satff were very helpfull and pleasant and the food was good.

There is a nice walk, with tree houses climbing walls etc for children, but these again were poorly maintained.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alumine, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We arrived tired after the long days trip. As we sat on the porch of the main building a large Blue Silk butterfly fluttered up to us out of the trees. It was the most beautiful butterfly I have ever seen. What a perfect start to a great few days. The layout of the grounds made our room very private; we felt like we were all alone in the jungle. What I read from some about the musty odor was not a bad thing but the perfume or smell of the vegetation. You can´t be this close to this type of setting without the fragrance that comes from a well maintained eco system. And the ease of taking a great picture, what a place, very close to the perfect place.

Must sees at the spa; the lobby of La Aldea De La Selva is full of locally made furniture and fascinating art work and architecture. The pool area is so well designed and so well kept as you can see in people´s photos, you will take a picture as well. Be sure to explore the resorts grounds, much more than what you expect.

And then the falls. This was our second time to Iguazú but the first time at this lodge and spa. We thought the location was the best there could be. It is close to the main road between the city and the falls so travel was easy and much cheaper with the local bus, no need for a taxi.

The few negatives we had; Hot water seemed limited or slow to arrive. The food was good but there was some problems with prep and delivery, example: I thought the lettuce was very fresh and so did the worm that walked out of half of what I didn´t eat yet, may need to wash the vegetables in some vinegar since it is so fresh. Attention from the staff was cordial. This may have been a cultural thing but most of the people in the area were more than friendly and it seemed to slow a bit at the lodge.

Over all we highly recommend this place; habitation, location, price, all very good. I hope we can return soon and stay for a longer time. The Falls of Iguazú is a must if you travel, I have been many places in the world but this is by far the best natural place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RyCFrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
1.3 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,140 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#13 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,864 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#6 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
#2 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Aldea de la Selva Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Aldea de la Selva Lodge

Property: La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
Address: Selva Iriapu S/N, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#17 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Aldea de la Selva Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of the Selva Paranaense, La Aldea de la Selva Lodge combines nature and comfort through our rooms that enhance the rustic and autochthonous of our missionary land, with furniture made by local artists. The perfect blend of rusticity and luxury. We are a pioneer hotel-tourism company in giving value to the natural and cultural resources of the area of ​​Iguazu, at the same time that we offer a unique lodging experience, committed with a distinguished service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your La Aldea de la Selva Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Aldea De La Selva Hotel Puerto Iguazu
La Aldea De La Selva Lodge And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing