We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle hideaway in Iguazu!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Jungle hideaway in Iguazu!”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. After staying in Buenos Aires for a few weeks, it was nice to get out into the jungle and take a breather from all of the city life. The rooms are big and very rustic with a log-cabin feel. If this isn't your cup of tea and if you'd rather have a traditional western-style hotel, then do not stay here. But, you're in the jungle! Why not enjoy being IN THE JUNGLE? Request a room with a hammock on the balcony if you can (all rooms have balconies) and just enjoy being away from it all. You will be touring the falls during the day all day and will be at dinner at night, so you will only be in your room to sleep and get ready in the morning, so for two nights - three at most (most people don't stay in Iguazu more than two nights) - this is perfect.

Some things to note- it's rustic, so things creek at night and there are noises from the jungle like birds and insects. I found it blissful and peaceful, but my friend who stayed in another room did not. But, I guess if you don't enjoy those sounds, then you must be a pretty stressed-out person because what is more calming than sounds of nature?! I did have some little insects in my room, but nothing gross like cockroaches or anything... but who cares -- again, you're literally IN the jungle, so you are outnumbered my billions of bugs and surely some will get in your room. Get over it and enjoy your experience and write home and tell your friends you slept under the canopy in the jungle and relaxed on your hammock. I found it to be paradise.

The hotel also has a jungle walking path that's fun to explore when you're done seeing the falls. They have this one rope ladder that is probably three stories high that goes up to a tree top. I climbed it and have to say, it was one of the coolest and scariest things I've ever done -- especially because no one knew I was up there and I made it successfully, so I felt like I could conquer the world after that! :) ha!

Request a driver to the falls so you don't have to deal with the bus and they will likely give you the same driver every day - which is great.

When you go to the falls, wear flip flops because it's so misty your feet get wet, carry a cloth to dry the lens of your camera so you can take pictures without misty dots all over the lens and bring a change of clothes so you can do the Grand Adventure boat tour (you get DRENCHED -- but they give you a strong waterproof bag to keep all your clothing in to be sure it stays dry).

Downside- you can hear some noise from your neighbors, but it didn't bother me at all. Again, if you're a finicky traveler who likes to travel the world staying in Sheratons and Marriotts and you always have the same hotel experience everywhere, then well, this isn't for you. This is a unique experience and one that I completely enjoyed and recommend to everyone who is planning a trip to Iguazu.

Book early though - they do fill up.

Enjoy!!!!

Room Tip: Request a room with a hammock outside on the balcony (all rooms have balconies).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldTravelerInSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    302
    89
    46
    17
See reviews for
250
430
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I had such high expectations for this trip and was let down in some respects. This lodge was in a beautiful setting. We loved the hammock and private porch. The birds are singing, the crickets chirping and you are surrounded by lush forest. At night, there are lights on the paths and at the pool. The staff was friendly and helpful for the most part. The dining area was very special.

The food is hit or miss. We had one tasteless meal and one really good meal. Try the polenta appetizer and cerviche appetizer. Our room was disappointing. The fan was broken and the wooden floor in the shower broke. Also the sheets, coverlet, pillows and towels seemed shabby for the price we were paying (rustic or no rustic). I walked into a room next to ours and it seemed much nicer- which led me to believe that some rooms are nicer than others (it is probably luck which one you get).

This beautiful place near the amazing falls has so much potential so I really hope that they upgrade a bit and take notice of the reviews.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ninkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

La Aldea de la Selva is a lodge with a number of scattered cabin blocks and a swimming pool set within a rainforest but with easy access and seconds from the nearest road. About 20 mins from Argentinean side of Iguazu and 40 mins from the Brazilian side (border delays excepted).

The main lodge is spacious with an attractive mass of dark wood inside which looks particularly good at night when it also becomes the restaurant. Food is good with a reasonable wine list (can recommend the Argentinean Malbecs or Torrentes!).
Staff friendly and helpful. WiFi available in the cabins.

The cabin blocks are pretty ugly from the outside and inside are all wood which can best be described as 'rustic'. They would certainly benefit from an upgrade but I believe the rustic look is more of a chosen theme rather than neglect. However, the redeeming feature is the location and the veranda which looks out directly into the rain forest!
Yes, the rooms do feel damp but there is an AirCon/Heater which soon takes that away - after all you're in a rainforest what do you expect!

The swimming pool area is smart and looks a bit out of context compared with the rest of the site! The only problem here is that the pool is in fact three pools on different levels which make each pool too small for any real swimming.

If you want to stay somewhere different and can accept a you are in a cabin in a rainforest you will like it here. if you want 4 or 5 star luxury you probably need to look somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MushroomTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We had been been looking forward to this trip and visit to the hotel as we had reserved the room over nine months in advance. When we got to the hotel we were very disappointed in what we arrived to. We had seen many gorgeous pictures on the website, but reality did not live up to the pictures. We were looking forward to a room with a hammock looking into the jungle as our email resevation said, but we had no hammock. We stayed for three nights, and attempted to use the wi-fi but the connection never worked. So we tried to use the Internet in their "business center" but neither of the computer worked either. Electricity went out several times. A hotel at this pricing point should not lose electricy and prevent us from getting ready for a day we have been looking forward to for almost a year. As seen on the webpage we were excited for the jungle fly walk, but it was closed and had looked like it had been closed for a while with out any indication of when it would reopen. The falls were great but getting there was a complete joke. We were quoted outrageous taxi prices ($51us each way) and
when we asked about busses, we were told walk down road and across the street 300mtrs.
There is NO signage whatsoever and the directions were horrible. We had one practico blow by us because we were about 50 meters off the mark. How would we know? No Signs! The roads are very very dangerous with no sidewalks and cars and busses speeding by. Bathrooms are not luxurious by any means. The community bathrooms at the pool are extremely nicer then the bathrooms in the rooms. The pictures on the website show the bathrooms at the pool. We ate at several great restaurants in puerto iguazu, but the restaurant
here was not worth the overpriced menu.
On a positive note, the hotel had a very cute black and white cat that we played with and a great breakfast spread.
Overall, if you want to spend $200 US a night to go camping, you have been warned. There are much better priced at this price point at the falls.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Perhaps I was expecting too much from La Aldea de la Selva because the photos look incredible on the website. Unfortunately the reality is very different. While the staff were friendly and accommodating, the rooms were damp and shabby and the food was terrible. We stayed 2 nights to explore the falls (which were incredible) but this hotel was a big disappointment. It needs a facelift as it has the potential to live up to its image on its website but at the moment it is not close. To end on a positive note, the location is good. A short stroll to the main road and you can catch the bus straight to Iguazu rather than paying a fortune for a driver.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NicM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

An amazing hotel, in the middle of the jungle. We stayed there for 2 days and we experiment all of the hotels amendities. The hotel staff is super friendly-we had dinner two times in the hotel -the food is very good. The decoration and inside of the hotel is something very special-I strongly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venia_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nites at La Aldea Lodge with our 22 yr old niece. We were vacationing with her while she had a break from her Peace Corps duties in Paraguay. Our travel planner recommended La Aldea as a base for seeing Iguazu Falls. It was quite lovely; wonderful mix of "jungle lodge" and luxury, on beautiflul grounds. It rained quite a bit while we were there (winter) so didn't do as much exploring as we might of, but it was still beautiful. Rooms were fabulous; the dining room was also beautiful, with a fantastic full breakfast included with the room price. We only had dinner at the lodge once, since we also wanted to explore Puerto Iguazu a bit (a longish walk from the Lodge); and it was very good. Staff was very accommodating. Would definitely return, and recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
1.3 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,144 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#13 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,866 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#6 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
#2 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Aldea de la Selva Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Aldea de la Selva Lodge

Property: La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
Address: Selva Iriapu S/N, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#17 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Aldea de la Selva Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of the Selva Paranaense, La Aldea de la Selva Lodge combines nature and comfort through our rooms that enhance the rustic and autochthonous of our missionary land, with furniture made by local artists. The perfect blend of rusticity and luxury. We are a pioneer hotel-tourism company in giving value to the natural and cultural resources of the area of ​​Iguazu, at the same time that we offer a unique lodging experience, committed with a distinguished service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your La Aldea de la Selva Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Aldea De La Selva Hotel Puerto Iguazu
La Aldea De La Selva Lodge And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing