We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friedly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amerian Portal del Iguazu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, friedly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

This quite new hotel has pristine views of the three countries Paraguay, Brazil and Argentina. The pool is good to relax, the staff there very relaxed. The atrium was quiet in our stay, the breakfast with all argentinian details plus a great selection of fresh fruit. A real delicious plus were the little pastries!
The bathroom has a tub, yet while taking a shower, some flooding does occur. And as the light switch is inside the bathroom, the sharp tile edge of the tub is waiting for a late night victim.
The front desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly.
Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Schnurrtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    441
    95
    18
    16
See reviews for
438
590
49
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

The Amerian was pretty much as I was expecting after reading reviews.

The hotel is nice & a good choice for Iguazu. The location is amazing right on the Tres Frontiers you have Paraguay & Brazil within eyesight!

The rooms are quite dated but perfectly liveable. The bathrooms are badly designed with a sharp stone edge of the bath jutting out just waiting for someone to walk into it (which I did and goodness it hurt!). Amazing views from the balconies.

Unfortunately my main criticism of the hotel is the noise... Every noise in the foyer echoes right up. Although this actually was more noticeable during the day when kids were playing etc so thankfully didn't effect our sleep too much.

Staff were all very helpful, especially when Aerolineas Argentinas went on stike the day we were flying out, staff helped us to make sure we got home - in particular a staff member that was Argentine / American... Can't remember his name unfortunately.

I would recommend this hotel as a nice place to stay in Iguazu. Just don't come expecting a 5 star hotel by western standards.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Googus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
203 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Loved this hotel and their good breakfast buffet. This is much newer than the comparably priced hotels of the cities of Rio de Janiero and Buenos Aires,US Marriott or Hyatt. It was built probably in the 2000s and has lovely architecture, rooftop setting, spa and whirlpool, with lots of glass on the main floor. The staff is relatively good in English speaking. You do want to try to get the river view overlooking the pool, but more importantly, overlooking a stunning view of the three rivers converging together. Some rooms have little balconies. In October, it is also pretty quiet and is off season but still perfect for visiting the renowned Iguazu Falls area. The room and bed were very comfortable and clean.
There is a bar/lounge with limited menu food choices on the main level for evenings. There is no place within walking distance that I could discern for restaurants. It is a short taxi ride into the little town and it is advisable to use trip advisor or other references for choosing your restaurant. Word of warning: find out if the restaurant takes credit cards or bring lots of US dollars for Argentina (at least now) as they want dollars and the value of the pesos to the dollar is going down. Many merchants do NOT take credit cards, even major restaurants.
I wish I had spent more time in this location and next time, would definitely use this hotel and would stay longer than 2 days that I spent in the national park on both sides - Brazilian and Argentinian. Each side has certain advantages. The disadvantage is that you have to go back and forth crossing the border and dealing with passports and the Argentinian reciprocity entry fee receipt that you must obtain in hard copy printed paper fo $160 before departing for Argentina. We had a tour guide to manage these things and we were glad we did. In fact, she was one of the best tour guides: Maria Leal Prono, tour guide professional for Iguazu National Park, email: marleapro@hotmail.com, phone 54-3757-448373. You will definitely NOT get the same tour, tips, timing tips, and knowledge about this park without a tour guide.
Highly recommend this hotel. It is even better than its sister Amerian hotel in Buenos Aires in the downtown area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lsihrofhhisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comercial I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Amerian Portal del Iguazu, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Guests:
We thank the preference in the Hotel Amerian Portal del Iguazu, and all the details of their stay.
We hope your next visit, to enjoy more time at the Hotel.

Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

stayed there for two nights in September. General impression positive. Nice and comfortable rooms, though we had a problem with an AC, but maintenance reaction was very quick and and the problem was solved. Restaurant serves quality dishes, especially steaks are nice. Although must say that breakfast is rather limited in variety, but pastries are very very good. Wine list is impressive. Hotel has a good outdoor pool and sauna with a hot tub next to it. Perfect place to relax. Would recommend as a place to stay while visiting the falls.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Сергей Ю
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

A very upscale hotel, first class, very nice impressive rooms, comfortable beds. The lobby area is beautiful and inviting. The staff was very polite, friendly & helpful. The location is great for walking & scenery.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PiaS12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comercial I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Amerian Portal del Iguazu, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest:
 
The team Amerian Portal del Iguazu thanks about your experience at the hotel. Because we work hard to make your stay excellent.

We hope your next visit.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Belated review but we had a really lovely stay here for 3 nights during our trip around Argentina. The hotel is very impressive with a fabulous lobby and great rooms. We were even given a free (unrequested) upgrade to a suite which was amazing and much appreciated after our tour of south Argentina hostels. Restaurant was really good as were the pools. Staff were great. Bus terminal right outside to go to the (breathtaking) Iquaso park. If I was to be any way critical I would say that the bar service was slow. Otherwise fab. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RayBanJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comercial I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Amerian Portal del Iguazu, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing and share their experience at the Hotel Amerian Portal del Iguazu.
Without a doubt forward to your visit on another occasion, and all those are planning a trip to Puerto Iguazu.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel is very luxurious. Large beds, nice amenities... The buffet was just okay-mainly pastries. The lobby and restaurant gets noisy and gets into the rooms. About 20 min walk to center of town. I would overall recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comercial I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Amerian Portal del Iguazu, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest:

The team Amerian Portal del Iguazu appreciates the choice and your comments about your stay.
Looking forward to your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
2.0 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#4 of 46 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,244 reviews
2.7 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#7 of 46 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,703 reviews
1.0 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#5 of 46 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Costa del Sol Iguazu
Costa del Sol Iguazu
#1 of 46 in Puerto Iguazu
5.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
#8 of 46 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 stars 880 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#15 of 46 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amerian Portal del Iguazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amerian Portal del Iguazu

Property: Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Address: Av Tres Fronteras 780 y Av Eduardo Arrabal, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amerian Portal del Iguazu 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unique location on the three borders landmark, this sophisticated 5 stars, offer an amazing view on the junction of Parana and Iguazu River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Amerian Portal del Iguazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amerian Portal Del Iguazu Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing