We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but could easily have been excellent.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is located in a remote area with few restaurants or bars nearby to visit. Bright and airey reception, so clean, modern and chic that anything other than a good impression was impossible. Good room, comfortable bed (the usual awful pillows though!) but the bathroom was horrifically designed. The bath ran down one side of the room opposite the wash basin. At the top was a faux marble head which had one right angled edge just waiting to be bumped into. And I jammed my thigh against it which was a painful experience. The corner really needs to be rounded to avoid this happening. No plugs in the basin despite notices everywhere reminding us of the importance and value of water. And the lifts (elevators) weren't behaving at all. One was out of order throughout, the remaining one had a life of its own and, like the Grand Old Duke of York went up and down at random. On one occasion I was stranded on the rooftop for 30 minutes and had to 'escape' down a metal stairway at the side. One woman in my party was trapped similarly and hurt her ankle when she had to use the stairs. Not good for a top quality hotel methinks. So, what was so good to get this rating? The staff were quite excellent: friendly, polite and helpful. The breakfast was the standard fare. I'd eaten so much scrambled egg that I was in danger of becoming Humpty Dumpty but I didn't fall you'll be relieved to hear. The main restaurant produced a magnificent, truly magnificent buffet at a very reasonable cost one evening. The views from the rooftop (should you dare to go there) are inspiring and majestic and made the odd discomfort acceptable. The reason to go there is to visit the waterfalls and this is an absolute MUST for any traveller from eight to eighty. While we were there, there were several armed police stationed outside. I thought they had heard of me and there to give protection but it would appear there was another far more important person staying there. Just hope he didn't need the lift! Would I recommend? Absolutely. You won't regret it and you will come away fitter than ever!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comercial I, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Amerian Portal del Iguazu, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing and recommending Amerian Portal del Iguazu.

The group of managers considering the comments about the Hotel. They are at your disposal to cuanquier consultation.

Also we hope your next visit, so you can enjoy the facilities renovated Hotel.

Greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 1,741 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

We spent one night at this hotel and all was very good. Depsite other reviews we found the reception staff very welcoming and helpful. Our room overlooked the river and we we in Argentina, across the river was Brazil and to the side was Paraguay. The restaurant food was very good and service excellent; we also suggest you try the cocktail bar. All in all an excellent spot to stay.

Room Tip: Rooma with a river view are the pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comercial I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Amerian Portal del Iguazu, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guests:

First, THANK YOU FOR CHOOSING Amerian Portal del Iguazu!

For the team it is important that you can share the experience of your stay.
Also to recommend the hotel to stay.

We hope at the next opportunity.

Greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

On arrival not very welcoming staff.No lighting on in public areas added to feeling of emptiness as well as the huge vacuous space of the hotel atrium.room disappointing and a bit dated. Shower head loose and eventually fell off! However the staff fixed it promptly. The hotel is quite isolated from the town centre which may suit some and had a lovely outlook over the rivers making up border between Brazil, Argentina and Paraguay.Pool area pleasant and spacious but hotel was really under occupied. Food average for standard of hotel and dining staff attentive

Room Tip: Pool view as no real outlook to rear of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comercial I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Amerian Portal del Iguazu, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear guest:

Thank you for choosing to Amerian Portal del Iguazu.
Our location overlooking dazzling by the Parana and Iguazu.
The infrastructure allows natural light opening creating a warm atmosphere.

All comments will be considered and carried to each area.

We hope your next visit.


Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nothing Great

In Iguazu there is no obvious best hotel. The Sheraton is in the National Park, which has its advantages but there is nothing else there. So for a single night stay, the Sheraton is the obvious choice (though I normally try and avoid Starwood hotels ) I looked at some of the other hotels I had seen reviews of and on balance I would go back to the Amerian, which is not a great recommendation but in my view the lesser of evils. Afterall most people go to spend time at the falls so hotel stays are short. The staff were all extremely friendly.

We had a room on the top floor and it was extremely hot when we arrived. It was hot outside, but the individual air conditioners for the rooms could not keep up. The common areas in the hotel were also warm. The room was a good size if a little tired. The small safe in the room was interesting, because you could uses a credit card or a selected combination to operate it, something I had not seen before.

Some of the rooms in the hotel have a view of the river in front. We had a garden view but enjoyed a couple of spectacular sunsets.

The hotel has some real advantages. There is a bus stop directly in front of the hotel and both the local buses and the buses going to the falls stop there. Although it is a little out of town it is still a manageable walk 2-3 km and bus or taxi is an alternative. They have a beautiful swimming pool, although a little strangely configured for real swimming.

I had arranged with the hotel for an airport pickup. The plane was early and the taxi late so we stood around for a while waiting for the driver. When I arrived at the hotel I was asked to pay the car charge in cash which I did not appreciate.

Given that most people are at the hotel to see the falls It would have been good if the hotel had a simple one page information sheet in different languages about the park opening hours and the bus schedule to the park.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alistair_MacDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comercial I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Amerian Portal del Iguazu, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear:

Thank you for choosing and recommending to Amerian Portal del Iguazu.

All areas of the Hotel, Flora refer to our Mission. All decorations are made ​​by artists Missionaries.


Our location is ideal for leisure and relaxation.

We hope your next visit.

Greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

It is a 70-is looking and probably 70-is built hotel that is now completely renovated. Liked its architecture very much. It suits the setting. Common spaces are plentifull, it is full of light, with a lots of different spaces. The hotel sits on the border of 3 different countries and overlooking 2 big rivers merging. The service was good with staff being very accommodating, restaurant food was good. Room was a bit on a small side but that was not a big deal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanieleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comercial I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Amerian Portal del Iguazu, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Huesped:

First, thank you for choosing to Amerian Portal del Iguazu.

Our location is ideal, confluence of the rivers and three countries. Here is where the Iguazu Falls.

The decor is modern and also remember our Culture Guarani.

We hope your next visit.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a comfortable place to stay when visiting the Falls. It's a bit of a long walk to downtown, interesting to walk once, but it could become annoying if staying for a number of days. It's set in greenery, and has water to play in (although the pool isn't as big as it looks).

Our room was comfortable if a little tired. Some of the chipped furniture could have been replaced. The bathroom was fine, although the layout looked a little strange. We had a balcony, but it was too hot and sunny to use most of the time.

The public areas are smart and nice to sit in - nicer than the bedrooms. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boraxwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comercial I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Amerian Portal del Iguazu, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest:

The team of Amerian Portal del Iguazu, welcomes any comments about your stay. It is important to know how they felt.

Maintaining all sectors are being conducted under the supervision.

We hope in a future visit, so you can enjoy your entire stay.

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a review made by an Argentinean, and intended to help tourists. I have traveled all around the world and stayed in many joints, from really awful hostels in Costa Rica to 5 stars in Thailand, great places in NY and Boston, and everything in between. So, when I book an expensive stay at a hotel that promotes itself as a 5 stars in Iguazu, you expect some minimum amenities. Let´s start by saying loud and clear that this place is no more than a 3,5 stars at best, specially if you live in the US where this rating are serious and not just what the owner wishes his place is. It was really disappointing, and the list of unacceptables goes long, but just let me point out some: No coffe maker in the room (really???) if you want some, spend over 3 bucks; No HBO or any other premium cable; very limited room service menu; every furniture is already cracked, chipped and marked (very poor quality); Almost no wi fi signal, one bar was all we could hope for, not even in the lobby; Shower had no pressure; they will nickle and dime you all the way, pool area is tiny and there are not enough sun beds; service is poor, slow and overpriced. Just and example: I ordered a sandwich poolside, it took 40 minutes, and I am not joking. Again, 3.5 stars at best. On the other side, bed was great.
About the location. At first i thought: "its far away from downtown, in the pretty part, with lots of green"... then after 6 nights I say: "this place is so far away you can´t walk anywhere, and you have to take a taxi for everything". It is about 10 blocks from what the locals call downtown, where you can eat, "shop", and well, not much else. Imagine walking this distance in pouring rain! not great. The public bus passes every half an hour ($6), and a taxi is about $20.
It was suppose to have 3 restaurants, but the truth is there is only one kitchen, with 3 different menus on 3 different venues, but the food is almost the same. Because it was really far away from any other eatery, I ended up eating 2 dinners at the Hotel. It was expensive, it took ages and it was just regular.
On the other hand, I really liked breakfast with plenty of healthy options.
One last thought: This is supposed to be a "sustainable" hotel or something like that. In this joint it translate to "hey, we dont want to wash your towels everyday". How about setting up dispenser for soap and shampoo instead of those individuals mini plastic bottles? are they refilling this little bottles or throwing away hundred a day...? yes, it is really cool to say you love the environment, but to hard to actually do something about it.
Tip: When going to the Waterfalls,do not get robbed by taxi or privates cars. Take the public bus, it costs $30. You can take it in front of the hotel, or at the bus terminal. Its a 30 minutes ride and fairly cheap. Do the same when visiting the Brazilian side of the falls, take the regular bus, it leaves your right at the national park entrance.
I would really love to have tourists visiting my country and enjoying the wonderful things it has to offer, but I also know there are many many low life in my country, so just be careful, ask twice and never trust a deal to good to be true. There are plenty of folks like me, so try to find them!! Hope you enjoy your trip

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaluPena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
2.7 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,370 reviews
0.9 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#7 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,823 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#13 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,168 reviews
2 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,917 reviews
2.3 mi away
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
#2 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amerian Portal del Iguazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amerian Portal del Iguazu

Address: Av Tres Fronteras 780 y Av Eduardo Arrabal, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range: $135 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amerian Portal del Iguazu 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unique location on the three borders landmark, this sophisticated 5 stars, offer an amazing view on the junction of Parana and Iguazu River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amerian Portal del Iguazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amerian Portal Del Iguazu Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing