We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The rooms are spacious, the pool was awesome. Their front desk spoke decent english (not fluent but enough of it for us to understand). They have some amazing Remises that help with the general trip around the town and also trips to the falls. We were helped by Bablo who was simply magnificient. He didn't speak much english but helped us get around the Argentina side of the falls and was always waiting for us on time.

Only gripe is they provided us the garden view rooms (great views to the front of the hotel but horrendous when compared with the gorgeous views on the back of the hotel that covers Tres Frontas - meeting point of the three nations) even though most of the hotel was very empty when we stayed.

Room Tip: Ask for the forest facing (or whatever that faces the back of the hotel). Don't go for Garden Vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    938
    528
    114
    25
    17
See reviews for
531
721
57
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This was my second stay in four years at Amerian at Iguazu, and I really love this hotel. The rooms are comfortable, if not overly spacious. The public areas--bar, cafe, restaurants--are excellent. Food is good, but dinners at select restaurants in town is a better choice. The pool and spa are really fabulous. Spring for a river view room; the extra cost is worth it. On a down note, staff assistance can be hit-or-miss; service by front desk staff is inconsistent, depending on who is on duty. They're not rude or anything like that; some of the staff just seems to need a refresher course on responsiveness. As an example, I needed to call a few days ahead of our arrival just to confirm the reservation. It took me three phone calls to get someone to respond to my call; they kept disconnecting me, and when I finally got someone who didn't hang up on me, he was less than reassuring. That would be my only suggestion to management.

Room Tip: Spring for the extra cost for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The Amerian is a large hotel just outside Puerto Iguazu town next to Las Tres Fronteras.
The hotel looks very impressive in the atrium area and the check-in staff were very friendly and attentive.

The room we booked had a balcony with an amazing view over the pool area of the Tres Fronteras and the Iguazu and Parana rivers, however the quality of the room was very average, with tired fittings and marks on the wall, I would say it was 2-3 star level. Unfortunately the cavernous design of the hotel ensures that any noise from below and banging doors can be a nuisance.

The pool area is a real highlight and was by far and away the most enjoyable thing about the hotel, there were not too many people staying, so it was bliss to bathe and relax in this wonderful area having visited the falls.

The buffet breakfast was very large, but did not look very fresh and the amount of flies buzzing around the food was very off-putting, the coffee was also very poor. I think this could be improved with more attention to hygiene and dealing with the flies.

We had one evening meal in the hotel and it was very good to be fair and at a reasonable price, the wine was superb as was the service.

The walk to town is about 20 minutes, but it can be a struggle in 34 degree heat, we took the bus which runs regularly from outside the hotel to town for AR$2.50 when we did not feel like walking.

Positives are the pool, view and staff.
Negatives are the room quality, noise and breakfast.

Transport tip - unless you want to waste money, don't bother booking a driver to take you to either side of the falls, we got the bus from outside the hotel to the Argentinian side for AR$25 each way, and the Crucero del Norte coach (superb air conditioned coach) to the Brazilian side from the central bus station for AR$60 return, do not forget your passport.

No words can describe the falls, make sure you do both sides (although I preferred the Argentinian side as it is less commercialised, for now), you will not regret it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bosques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had a group of 4 visit Iguazu. The hotel is modern, clean, classic interior, and sleek design. The buffet breakfast is served in an open area. Go to the top floor to see a beautiful view of Hito Tres Fronteras, where you can see Paraguay, Brazil, and Argentina at once. At night, there is a live Brazilian singer in the dinner area. Take a walk in the evening to Hito Tres Fronteras and walk along the sidewalk, there is an area to buy crafts. Definitely worth a stay!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luciana0775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

In a long vacation you are bound to have one. Many of our hotels we paid less for with far better results. Tips: book directly. You may get a better room. Very tired hotel. If you are familiar with 5 star, you will be disappointed. Breakfast....go get an empanada somewhere. All that said apparently we couldn't have done much better on the Argentine side so if you want a really nice hotel, and can swing it, stay in Brazil.

Room Tip: Book direct for maybe slightly better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank likesitposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
126 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I gave this 4 stars for two reasons. Rooms are nice, but not luxury (i would say a three and half star hotel) and the hotel is a little out of the way. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff was very helpful. The food at the restaurant was just so so. Pool area was lovely. The photos on the website are an accurate portrayal of the rooms and hotel (thought the rooms were actually nicer than the photos). However, I did not realize how far out of town the hotel was. The hotel is right at the three points monument at the end of the road. You over look Brazil and Paraguay from the pool/rooms. The bus to go to the falls departs right from here. So that was convenient. We did walk to town most evenings for dinner. Its about a 20 minute walk. (of course you can talk the bus or taxi). Despite the location, I am not sure where else we would have stayed. I did not see any other nice hotels in the town itself. So I suspect other nice hotels are also outside the main city area. The park is about a half hour drive. So if you stay at the Sheraton in the park, you are stuck there (not to mention the higher prices). Personally, I like eating at local restaurants, not the hotels. was perfect of for us, but I thought it was a high price for what we had. The location is way out of town, although we walked into town most of the time. Took about

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This luxury hotel is not located in town. If we have to walk to the town, then it will take at least 30 minutes. The hotel provides free shuttle services to the town though. However it is very close to the Iguazu National Park. One if the unique part of this hotel is, it is located at the boarder of Paraguay and Brazil, and we could see these two countries from the hotel!

The lobby was enormous! Though there were only two staffs at the front desk.
There were shops, restaurant, cafe and bar on the same floor. However the service at the bar was extremely slow.
We booked a double bed room however they assigned us a twin room with two single beds. Charlie called the front desk wanted to change to a double bed room however the staff just said sorry, that is the only room left. I was very upset about this. Since the whole trip is organized by a local travel agent in Buenos Aires, I wrote them a letter and demanded them to fix the problem right then. The agent did not disappoint me. After I am done with the spa, the lady that works for the spa told me that we have changed our room.
We were upgraded to a Junior Suite! The room is so huge it was like an apartment! There isn't a kitchen but they do have the microwave and sink.
Upon entrance, there was a dining table for four and the huge clean bathroom on the other side. Bathroom equipped with a walk in shower and a Jacuzzi next to a glass window where you can look out into the room. Then there was a closet, coffee and tea making facility, wines and wine glass, refrigerator, microwave and a sink; then the living room with a huge balcony. There was a sofa, coffee table, stool, huge flat screen TV. The clean and comfortable king size bed is next to the sofa. We could see the Iguazu River on the bed! The working desk was behind the bed. The only tiny thing we don't like was the sink area in the bathroom was too small. We had no space to put our toilet kits!

I went to the Spa and had my massage plus manicure on the roof top. To our surprise, the price was pretty cheap! They had an excellent Iguazu River view by the room I had my manicure done. The service of the masseuse was excellent!

We had dinner at the restaurant - the food was excellent. The food at the buffet breakfast was good too but the service from waiters/waitress were very slow.

Last but not least - We love the complementary high speed Wi-Fi this hotel provided.

Room Tip: pick the river view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanessaMunYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
2.7 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,081 reviews
0.9 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#8 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,631 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,812 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
#7 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
503 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#13 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amerian Portal del Iguazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amerian Portal del Iguazu

Property: Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Address: Av Tres Fronteras 780 y Av Eduardo Arrabal, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amerian Portal del Iguazu 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unique location on the three borders landmark, this sophisticated 5 stars, offer an amazing view on the junction of Parana and Iguazu River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amerian Portal del Iguazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amerian Portal Del Iguazu Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing