We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed at the Amerian during our Oct 2011 visit to Iguazu Falls. Hotel is fairly new and very nice. Clean and modern rooms with a great view of the three rivers. The Amerian is 10 minute wasy walk to the town. You can also take a taxi for a few dollars. Everything at this hotel was good including the breakfast. If you use a pool it was beautiful and very clean.

Don't hesitate to stay at this 4* hotel. Iguazu Falls was the most amazing thing I've ever seen.

Room Tip: Request a river view. You see the three rivers as well as Brazil and Paraguay from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comercial I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Amerian Portal del Iguazu, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Dear Terry;

We feel very happy with your comments. Thank you very much to share it with us and all the travelers.
There is no doubt rooms with river view are the best ones.
Hope to recive you again !
Bests,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    529
    117
    25
    17
See reviews for
535
723
57
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I understand from some of the people with whom I was travelling that some of the rooms in this hotel are excellent (containing jacuzzis and dining areas and having wonderful views of the river and mountains and pool areas). I was not lucky enough to be allocated one of those rooms but nevertheless my room still had a balcony and a pleasant view and all the facilities for a comfortable stay. The shower room was quite small but adequate and everthing was in working order.

The reception and restaurant areas are extremely impressive and the food they serve in the restaurant is very good. The staff are all very pleasant and obliging. On arrival we were
given a welcome drink which was much appreciated after a long journey.

On the down side, however, on arrival many of the rooms were not ready and that entailed quite a long wait for some people. This is not necessarily the fault of the hotel as they may not have been expecting the party to arrive at the time they did. What is unfortunate, however, is that most of the reception staff, while friendly and obliging, seem to have little command of English and in their confusion were giving the same rooms to more than one person which is not ideal after a long wait in a hot temperature.

On the basis of my own experience I was tempted to rate this hotel as a three but taking into consideration the much more positive experience of some of my fellow travellers I will rate it as a four.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denton50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comercial I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Amerian Portal del Iguazu, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear Denton:

Thank you for express your comments here. It is very important to us to know experiences of all our guests.
We work hard to give a good service and we feel happy to know that our work was successful.
We know that english of our receptionists is not perfect but they are trying hard and taking classes every week to improve their english.
Our gold is make you feel like home.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed in the Amerian shortly before Easter. It was the only one of two hotels still available. We normally go for smaller Boutique Style Hotels but the reviews on tripadvisor were promising and we thought why not pamper ourselves with a five star hotel at the end of our trip. What a disappointment!
This hotel is definitely not new and definitely not a five star hotel. Don't be fooled by the pictures. It is a concrete building and looks like it was built in the 80s. Our room was small and damp and way past its prime. Spotty walls and floors, dark stains on pillows and blankets. It was disgusting. The bathroom was renovated but already falling apart. The taps were partly broken and some tiles were loose. The pool area was also very dated - with rusty tables and really old sunbeds. Regarding breakfast: Quantity was good, but the food definitely lacked quality. The coffee was especially awful and the fruits watery and tasteless. The only highlight was the staff. As always in Argentina, everyone was very friendly and helpful. We had a room with river view - which was also nice - but did in no way make up for the rest of the room - nor did it justify 300$ per night.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rame30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICarbone, Guest Relations Manager at Amerian Portal del Iguazu, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Dear Rame30,
Thank you very much for taking part of your time willing us to improve our service, it is very important for us to receive our guest’s reviews. We are very sorry for the inconveniences you went through during your stay at the hotel, we would have been very pleased to reward you at the proper time if you had let us know about the mishappenings by then. We would also like to profit from this opportunity of communication to show you some pictures of the renewal of the building façade and to share our joy for the recent inauguration of the Thematic Park “Selva Viva” in occasion of the celebration of the 2nd anniversary of the hotel. Once again we apologize with you and your partner and we wait for your visit any other occasion in the future. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

I've just came back from Iguazu and after stayed at this hotel for two nights I can say that is one of the best options in Puerto Iguazu (Argentinian side), but not the best one at all. The hotel claims to be 5 stars, but service is just 4. The design of the building and the location are the most remarkable pros for this hotel (amazing pools). The staff is very kind and attentive, always willing to help, but there is a lack of "terms of excellence" that any 5 stars hotel should offer: no pillow sllection, poor air conditioning in room, no courtesy bottle of water, poor maintenance (should be done continuously), and room cleaning wasn't impeccable. The restaurants and bars worth a try, but are a litlle overprice (not very), very good service and food. Breakfast buffet very good, a quite nice selection to chose from. All in all i would definitely recomend it, since I really enjoyed my time there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darnok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

This place has 5 stars and deserves all of them when functioning. Other than no hot water one day, it was a fabulous stay. The rooms are clean, spacious, and comfortable. The included breakfast is first rate. There is access to high speed internet in the lobby. The only drawback is the distance to walk in to town for a meal. It is 1.5 miles to the area where the better restaurants are. After a day of walking the paths and stairs at the falls, a 3 mile round trip to town is hard.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CommanderChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed staying a few days at the Amerian Hotel. The hotel is located at the site where Argentina, Brazil and Paraguay meet. Plus it is only 12 miles from Iguazu Falls. We enjoyed the beautiful views and interesting architecture. The complimentary breakfast had a nice selection of hot food and local fruits. Iguazu Falls is a world class attraction. Be sure and take the boat ride that gets you close to the bottom of the falls, but be prepared to get soaked!

Room Tip: Be sure and ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rangerbwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Amerian for 4 nights, Feb. 21-24th as a jumping off point for Iguazu Falls. We booked our stay using hotels.com (far cheaper than any other site and we even accrued welcome rewards points) and ended up with a river view balcony room on the 2nd floor. The view was wonderful, the room well appointed and the breakfast buffet was well stocked and very tasty. I also used the spa for nightly dry saunas and had a massage. After weighing all the options in the area this hotel was far and away the best choice as it was close enough to downtown to walk (only 8 minutes on foot) yet far enough away to be quiet and feel secluded.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squishthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
2.7 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,110 reviews
0.9 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#8 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,645 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,862 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#13 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,854 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
#7 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amerian Portal del Iguazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amerian Portal del Iguazu

Property: Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Address: Av Tres Fronteras 780 y Av Eduardo Arrabal, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amerian Portal del Iguazu 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unique location on the three borders landmark, this sophisticated 5 stars, offer an amazing view on the junction of Parana and Iguazu River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amerian Portal del Iguazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amerian Portal Del Iguazu Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing