We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price but where were the hammocks?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Puerto Canoas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Puerto Canoas
Ranked #42 of 52 Puerto Iguazu B&B and Inns
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Worth the price but where were the hammocks?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2010

Hostel was easy to find from the bus station. PROS: very quiet, satisfactory partial outdoor kitchen, decent breakfast (pastries only), attentive staff, study your Spanish!, free wifi, books to read, nice courtyard, decent common area to sit and read. CONS: outdated rooms and old beds, no cleaning services in 3 days, shower and sink area the same. Overall for the money, we would recommend 2-3 days here because it was very peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maynardsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    49
    38
    20
    13
See reviews for
27
64
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

I stayed in Puerto Canoas for 3 nights and had a thoroughly enjoyable experience. The staff members, the owner Jose Luis in particular, were very friendly and helpful, and the place was spotlessly clean. (Although it being the tropics insects managed to come through inconceivable places.) The breakfast was good (larger than is usual in Argentina, containing a couple of fresh croissants) and the free cold spring water available all the time to fill your water bottle or cup is a nice touch. The free internet is also some of the best I've come across in South America. No swimming pool (which would be nice given how hot it is here) but otherwise absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mreogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

Nice, simple place with lots of flora. Clean, well-kept and run by friendly people. Nice breakfast that includes a large plate of baked goods and coffee or tea.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DavidMWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

We stayed in Puerto Canoas from March 8-10 2010. While the property itself is nice, the rooms are old and rundown. In our first room the air conditioner made a racket of noise so we had to switch rooms. In the second room the toilet wouldn´t flush and we were told that you can´t put any toilet paper down the toilet. In addition, we found a line of ants on the wall, which while I realize there are a lot of plants and bugs in this area, was still pretty gross. When I showed it to the manager he says that things like that just happen here and there´s nothing he can do. Bottom line, the rooms are just old and there´s plenty of places to stay in Puerto Iguazu that are clean and comfortable and this is not one of them.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Iguazu hotels

Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2009

After reading previous reviews, we were a bit surprised when shown to our privare room, seemed dingy and a bit small so we asked for another one. They gave us a bigger room, the extra space helped but the beds were hard.
As we had to come back this way 5 days later we decided we would not come back to this hostel. Staff were pleasant, and it is not far from the bus station. Where we stayed next time was better and closer to the main part of the town,

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulgl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
262 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2009

Very friendly staff (although very little English spoken), free internet and wifi, good cont breakfas included, lots of hammocks to relax in, kitchen available, small book exchange, free water.

The only things they are missing compared to other places around here are TVs and a pool.

80p/nt for a double room with a/c, 50p/nt with just fan. Gave us a discount for staying 5 nights. Shows 90p on Hostelworld but they charge 80 and don't reimburse the 10% hostelworld fee. Was a bit confusing at first but I eventually got it.

Unless you really want a pool I'd say this place is a perfect spot for this town.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

A great, comfortable and welcoming place to stay. A short walk from the bus station, but at the quieter end of town and the better for it.
Would definitely stay there again and would recommend to friends.
Downsides: no pool, most staff speak English but not all.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sakamanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.1 mi away
La Sorgente Hotel Posada
La Sorgente Hotel Posada
#26 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tupa Hotel Boutique
Tupa Hotel Boutique
#9 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.7 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residencial Lilian
Residencial Lilian
#32 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residencial Noelia Hostel
Residencial Noelia Hostel
#23 of 52 in Puerto Iguazu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cabanas El Refugio del Mensu
Cabanas El Refugio del Mensu
#24 of 126 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerto Canoas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Canoas

Property: Puerto Canoas
Address: Calle Uruguay 441, Puerto Iguazu N3370GNC, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Puerto Canoas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puerto Canoas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing