We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Needs a major overhaul” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Libertador

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Libertador
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Needs a major overhaul”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Picked this hotel as part of my package tour to Iguazu Falls, so I was not expecting much as I picked it because of price, and that it had a big pool, because I knew Iguazu would be stinking hot, and I would like a dip on return from my tours.

For a short stay it was OK, close to the cafes, restaurants etc, and I found the eateries to be very good and reasonable. The rooms are really old, they could use a coat of paint. The beds are small, the shower was poor, so don't have a long one, but hey at least there is a shower.

The hotel areas are in need of a major overhaul, the carpets look aged and dirty. The staff could use a new uniform and a smile.

All in all its more like a 2 star hotel. In the end you are probably staying here for the Iguazu falls experience not the hotel experience, so just treat it as a place to house your luggage, have a shower and sleep, and do your tours.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lewisham2049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    93
    122
    61
    42
See reviews for
97
142
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Walls are thin, so you can hear your neighbors and they can hear you.
Rooms are of basic comfort, with little space left around the bed.

The shower started to "leak" into the ceiling on first use, just by moving the handle. Kudos to the hotel service, this has been fixed within 20 minutes. :)

Bed linen was not changed even once in 5 days, and looked non-fresh especially in summer period when people sweat a lot.

1st major disappointment is a lack of WiFi: even though the hotel claims to have free WiFi, it was never accessible. Every employee first says that it will be fixed in 1 hour, then on next occasion - by later same day, and finally - by next day. And this legend was repeated by every employee we have tried to inquire about the WiFi. The nearby cafes provide WiFi when you order something, and from our experience usually 1 cup of terrible coffee goes from 5 to 25 pesos.

2nd major disappointment is the breakfast: only few pastry types offered, sometimes not even fresh, and most of the time they are all burned to blackness, that we had to scrap before eating. No fruits, and no European style snacks like cheese, ham, etc. No natural juices either.

On a positive side: the swimming pool is nice, with plenty chairs around it and sometimes nice music from the bar. And of course, the location. the hotel is a walking distance from any place in Puerto Iguazu, whether it is a bus station, shopping streets, restaurants and cafes, post-office, etc.

But overall experience was really not good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Iguazu hotels

San Jose, Califonia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

We srtarted out our Iguazu trip by staying at the Hotel Cataratas, which was not centrally located but had very good accomodations for US $ 120/night. It rained a lot so after 3 days of sightseeing in the towns (Puerto Iguazu and Foz de Iguacu) we decided to extend for an additional 4 nights and transferred to El Libertador Hotel where we were offered accomodations for approx. US$ 55.00 per night. Well, a lot has been said about its location and age (from the 60s ?) but, hey, you'll find the same on hotels along El Camino Real costing a lot more money and with inferior service and cleanliness, so if you are coming from the States and wish to get the most bang for your buck in your vacation this Hotel will do it. The cold cuts and salads at dinner are of excellent quality, and if you enjoy receiving a massage treatment when in vacation, there are a couple of massage salons (one directly across the Hotel) near the El Libertador which are cheaper but of equal quality to what you'd get at the Cataratas Hotel; and if you are adventorous and enjoy tasting the local fare, there are a few restaurants nearby with live music entertainment at dinner and serve the local fishes ( El Dorado, Patu and Surubi) cooked in a variety of different ways, along with barbecue, pizza, etc.
Another plus is the many travel agencies nearby and the hotel itself, which will accomodate you in obtaining taxi or shuttle service to the brazilian side (Go see the Latin America music show with dinner buffet at Foz de Iguacu, but pre pay it before to save yourself money). The hotel staff is fluent in a variety of languages including English, German, Italian and Portuguese. If you plan to enjoy your vacation inside a Hotel room with a Jacuzzi tub, go elsewhere, but if you wish to save time and money and get the most of your vacation then the El Libertador Hotel is it .....If you get a better value for services than this let me know.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JazzLover06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

Overview:

The hotel has a nice entry and reception area, has a pool, and a nice front appearance. It is located in a convenient location in the town. I suspect that it was quite an impressive hotel at the time it was built, probably back in the 50's, but is showing it's age now.

Good:

1. I found the food to be quite good, but not exquisite. The breakfast was basic, but the dinner was quite nice. I believe that both are included in the price of your room (except drinks) - it was in my tour package.
2. Although I did not use it, they pool was available for the hot weather.
3. Had cable TV, and AC.
4. Hotel staff were helpful.

Bad:
1. Showing signs of wear throughout the hotel.
2. Corner areas in restrooms, common areas, etc. could have been cleaned better.
3. Rooms were small and so were the beds.
4. I could not believe that now this hotel could have a 3 star rating. Maybe a 2 star.

My thoughts:

This is an ok hotel. I would look around first, but not exclude this hotel from your list. Just don't believe it is a 3 star hotel.

Please take time to rate my review. Thanks.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — age of hotel
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silverchameleon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

Personally, I would not recommend this hotel.

It is in a good location, in the centre of the town of Puerto Iguazu, close to many restaurants, shops, the post office, the tourist info centre and a short walk to the Tres Fronteiras. It also has a good size swimming pool, and the staff are friendly.

The room itself was basic, but it was clean and the beds were comfortable enough.

However, as the previous poster has said, the breakfast is disappointing. It consists of about ten different varieties of croissants, all of them sugary and glazed. There´s nothing savoury, apart from cereal, and that is served with warm milk. There´s no hot food and the only fruit on offer was watermelon.

We stayed on the ground floor and it was REALLY noisy. Noise from outside, but also from the hotel´s own "auditorium" which went on until about midnight. The doors and walls are really thin and there´s no carpeting, so we were woken up by people walking past our room, by the televisions in the lobby, not to mention the noise of everyone having breakfast and congregating for tours from 7am onwards.

  • Liked — the location was good, it was in the centre of town
  • Disliked — the noise!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank silverchameleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

A large hotel very centrally located in Puerto Iguazu near to the restaurants and local amenities.

Large size rooms however standard very poor....the hotel has not been updated since the 1960s (and it shows!). Bedding and bathrooms could do with some modernisation.

Hotel staff very friendly. However, this is let down by the breakfast.....other than croissants in different shapes and sizes, there is not a whole lot of choice!

The hotel has a pool...great for kids and also has regular evening entertainment.

  • Liked — n/a
  • Disliked — quality of bedding and the shower was awful
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank UkSharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
10.5 mi away
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
#8 of 47 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 stars 889 reviews
10.3 mi away
Costa Iguazu Apart Hotel
Costa Iguazu Apart Hotel
#14 of 47 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
10.8 mi away
La Sorgente Hotel Posada
La Sorgente Hotel Posada
#26 of 47 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 stars 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Hotel Iguazu Royal
Hotel Iguazu Royal
#30 of 47 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#12 of 47 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,499 reviews
10.4 mi away
Bosetti Apart Hotel
Bosetti Apart Hotel
#44 of 47 in Puerto Iguazu
3.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Libertador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Libertador

Property: El Libertador
Address: Calle Dr Amadeo Bonpland 110, Puerto Iguazu N3370BGD, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Libertador 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Libertador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Libertador Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing