We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Iguazu National Park
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (527)
Filter reviews
529 results
Traveler rating
412
82
18
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
412
82
18
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national park infinity pool falls view place to stay worth every penny beautiful hotel buenos aires amazing views easy access red level each morning steak jungle view room food options boat ride hotel lobby once in a lifetime
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 529 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I absolutely enjoyed my two night stay at Gran Melia. Upon arriving at the hotel's front entrance, guests can see the falls in the background. Yes, it is that close. The best part was that the trail was in the hotel's backyard through a walking path. The walking trails leading to the falls do close at 6 PM (18:00) each day. The hotel can be quite pricey. The biggest perk is that you're inside the national park, and close to the main attraction; instead of traveling 20 minutes from Puerto Iguazu by taxi or bus each way.

The room I chose was the view of the falls, and to me; was well worth the price. Seeing the falls in the morning, during the day, and at sunset makes it enjoyable. Shower pressure was great and features a rain shower head. There were a few issues such as the air conditioning not working properly at times, in which the room got stuffy and a small power outage on the last day. However, the staff were quick to get the system working again. The swimming pool was quite large and can be rather deep on one side.

Breakfast (Merkado Restaurant and Bar) is buffet style and is included in the room rate. It is the typical western breakfast fare. There are variety though the choices remain the same every morning. What I was disappointed with was when the dinner became buffet one night; the choices on the counter seemed to recycled "leftovers" from breakfast. Since I did not want to eat the same food for breakfast and dinner; I opted for the food at the bar above Merkado. The portions were small; however, were much better than eating buffet. Plus buffet charged about $ 25 USD per person, which was expensive for my family of 4. If you're staying Thursday night, you can get treated to a Tango show at Merkado.

Despite the minor issues, it was an enjoyable stay. The staff was very accommodating and I would personally thank Marinela, Alexis, and Daniel for sometimes going above and beyond to make the stay enjoyable. They even helped with arranging transportation to the airport.

note: The airport is not very big so you need not arrive so early for your departing (domestic) flight. I found that 1 hour and 15 minutes before departure is more than enough time to check-in and clear security. There is a small food-to-go stand near the two gates.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian90212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MynorEspinoza, Director General at Gran Melia Iguazu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Brian90212,

Thank you for your comment and your rating, we are very pleased to read of your experience at Gran Melia Iguazu and constructive criticism is always welcome, as we are always trying to improve our service to our guest to give you the most confortable experience possible.
We will let Marianela, Daniel and Alexis know of your comment, they will be very happy to hear it. Hopping to see you again on your next visit.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel surpassed our expectations and is certainly one we would like to stay in again. The staff are excellent, the views fabulous and the proximity to the park entrance at opening time is the icing on the cake.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 64Bella51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MynorEspinoza, Director General at Gran Melia Iguazu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 64Bella51,

Thank you for your comment, we are thrilled to learn of your experience with us at Gran Melia Iguazu. It has been our pleasure to have you as a guest and we hope to see you again on your next visit!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Absolutely wonderful service, and then there was the view of the falls. The room was great and we had a perfect view of the falls and plume from Devil’s Throat. The little monkey on the balcony checking us out the day we left was a treat.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank DayTrip212929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MynorEspinoza, Director de Recepción at Gran Melia Iguazu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear DayTrip212929,

We are glad to know you had a great time at our hotel and that you had enojoyed our services, since our main purpose is to make our guests happy. Thank you for leaving us your comments, we will be waiting to see you soon at your next visit to Gran Melia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed Gran Melia for 3 nights. Our room has a gorgeous view of the Falls.

The positives:

1. Gorgeous view of the Falls.
2. Very good customer service. Requests were speedily fulfilled.
3. The hotel arranged for us the taxi services.
4. Comfortable bed.
5. Spacious
6. Clean

The negatives:

1. The reservation agent at Gran Melia (Somma,Sebastian sebastian.somma@melia.com) confirmed our taxi pick up time for our arrival at the airport, but there was a change in our flights, and I emailed them twice without any response. At the airport, we just took another cab to the hotel.
2. The water at the sink was not clear, a bit yellowish.
3. The sound of the toilet flush was too loud.
4. There was no soap dish.
5. There was only one chair in the room for both of us. We called guest services to request for one more chair, and they delivered it promptly.
6. The holder for the shampoo, bodywash, and conditioner was too flimsy. There is no space to put additional facial wash, and shampoo because I use a special kind of shampoo for my hair.
7. There were no local delicacies and only a few hot items at the buffet spread during breakfast. We would prefer to have at least a few local dishes.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 5flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MynorEspinoza, Director General at Gran Melia Iguazu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 5flower,


Thank you for leaving us your comment, we do appreciate constructive opinions, because they let us grow. Stay sure that we will be working on the points you suggested. We hope to see you back at a new experience at Gran Melia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We upgraded our room to include a concierge room/food/drink upon arrival. Not sure this was worth the extra money. However, we did enjoy the hotel, the service and the location. The concierge was very helpful and arranged tours for us including a car to the Brazil side of the falls which i recommend. Our room faced the falls which I also recommend as they are gorgeous and the reason you are there. Take the boat ride under the falls for a real thrill.

Room tip: Face the falls
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jillnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MynorEspinoza, Director General at Gran Melia Iguazu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear jillnt,

We are so glad to know you had enjoyed your staying at our hotel. Our job is to provide our guests the best services and experiences. Reading comments such as yours let us know we are walking on the right path of improving and providing services. Thank you for leaving us your comment and rating, we will be looking forward for your next visit to Gran Melia Iguazu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews