We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Very helpful staff, clean, decent sized room, free drinking water, breakfast -very good selection, and location excellent, being within walking distance of the upper and lower trails and the stations. Handy to Brasil side as well. My only real gripe -had to pay extra for wi-fi access.

Room Tip: The 'jungle'side rooms had afternoon sun, whereas the Falls side did not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjm286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your review!!
We are very pleased to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us and specially our location!!
We hope to see you again soon.
Our best wishes, Cristian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,079)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,160 - 1,166 of 3,080 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stay: 1 night in July 2013
Room: Fall view on second floor
Price: US$420 including tax

Pro: By far the best location, excellent breakfast, great service, wonderful view.
Con: expensive, and no free wi-fi.

Although we only stayed for one night (two half days), we had the opportunity to appreciate just how prime this location is. As other reviewers have said, the view is gorgeous, access super convenient. In our experience, it translated into this:
- Arriving on a Saturday afternoon, got to the hotel at 4 pm. By 4:20 pm, we are already in front of the first of the falls on the upper trail. Most of the tourists of the day have left, we and half a dozen others were able to explore the beauty and wonder of the falls via both upper and lower trails freely and soak in all the marvels of this natural wonder. We got back to the hotel at 5:40 pm, had the best hour and a half of any sightseeing trips, took hundreds of photos.
- Next day, checked out the room first, then had a leisurely long breakfast - excellent buffet, great crispy bacon and some of the best chorizo. 10:45 am, we went to the falls again, this time, the other tourists crowded in by the hundreds. Speed to move anywhere is slowed, the views are obstructed from time to time. Then we were told that the trail to Devil's Throat was closed due to high water level.
Don't get me wrong, we still had a swell time, but we are really thankful that we explored the trails the day before and were content to just take it easy on the second day.

Other good things about the hotel:

We weren't hungry on Saturday night (jet lagged) and just wanted to have our own Tom-Yum cup-a-noodles and go to sleep, but the room had no kettle. I called room service asking for one, they said they can only give me some hot water. I said I needed at least two big cups. No problem, 5 minutes later, a nice lady came bearing a huge platter, with a big jug of hot water (one of those that will keep it hot for hours), two cups, saucers, sugar, spoons, napkins and everything. She left so quickly, I didn't even get a chance to tip her. The hot water was more than enough for our two cups of noodles, and later two cups of jasmine teas, and we didn't have to pay a peso!

When we checked out first thing in the morning, they ensured us that we were welcome to leave our luggage with them and use all the hotel facilities throughout the day, including shower, etc.

I admit the decor is a little dated and you can see small signs of wear at places, but that didn't bother me. We are in the middle of a jungle after all and this place still feel luxurious despite the little wear. Just take a look at their formal dining room. So luxurious and beautiful. This would make a fantastic wedding location!!

The service and the view made the expensive hotel room all worthwhile. Every staff member and guest has smile on his/her face. That's something money alone can't buy!

If I ever come back to Iguazu Falls, I will make sure of two things:
1. the Devil's Throat trail is open, and
2. I will stay at the Sheraton here, in a Fall View room on the upper floors.

Room Tip: Unless you only use your room to sleep, otherwise, get a fall view room, on the upper floors if avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaisnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Great to know about your experience with us, thank you for sharing.
We are so glad you enjoy our wonderful breakfast and our great location!!
Remember that you can always get some great promotions on our web site!!
We would love to host you again in a near future.
Sincerely, Cristian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The view rooms give you a lovely view of the falls. Monkeys do come to the balconies in the evening. It is an old , worn hotel but has the basics in a convenient location to the falls trails. the breakfast is decent, with eggs and a selection of fruits.

Room Tip: get a view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel4fun111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for your review!!
It`s great to know that you have enjoyed our location!!
Our guest`s satisfaction is our top priority, that is why I ask you to accept my apologies if something in your stay was not to your liking.
We truly appreciate your constructive comments an hope to see you soon back.
Cordially, Cristian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

First let me say the customer service here is excellent. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The food was excellent (including breakfast). We ordered room service (the fish and risotto) both nights we were there and they were our favorite meals of the trip. They also sent us up a bottle of champagne and chocolates our first night because we were on our honeymoon.

That being said we had an issue with our first room. There were a lot of ants going up the wall. We complained and they moved us to another room. Unfortunately this room had ants too, but not as many and contained in the bathroom. Luckily we had a bug spray that we used on the holes and never saw ants again.

We did a spa package and were less than impressed. Save the money on a massage and just do the hydromassage, which is much cheaper. The towels in the spa were very old and ragged. The relaxation room was dirty and the women who work at the spa were yelling back and forth at each other, so it definitely was not relaxing.

Definitely stay here for the location, just don't expect a super nice hotel. It was great to just walk out the door in the morning and be in the park. We could also come back and change clothes and go back out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you very much for your reviews. First of all we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay. We truly appreciate your constructive comments. It`s good to know that you enjoyed our customer services.
We look forward to see you again soon in Iguazú, so you can enjoy again our best meals.
Sincerely, Cristian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We booked 2 rooms and as SPG Platinum were upgraded to nice suites overlooking the falls.
Location of the hotel is superb, the only hotel within the park and the views from the rooms or restaurant are terrific.
The breakfast buffet was very good and the coffee shop and restaurant offered a nice variety .
The rooms were clean but need updating .Nice lobby and one of the nicest business center;s, especially the library.
The swimming pool and spa are pretty good but the fitness center needs a quick update, many of the machines are old and rusty..
The front desk manger was very professional and helpful, he took care of all our needs without any hesitation.
Will definitely stay again !!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments!!
It`s great knowing that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel and our location!!
Thanks for the constructive comments, this helps us to improve our services every day.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Sincerely, Cristian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is pricy, but we stayed here because of location. You can't beat the location if you are going to visit the Falls (and why else would you go here) - because the hotel is right next to the park entrance, and you can walk to all sites within 5 minutes of your hotel room. There are amazing views of the falls from all of the lobbies, bar, and common areas. Because of this, I'd say you don't really need to pay a lot of extra $ to get the Falls view, unless for some reason you really want to. You are out hiking around the falls each day, so we didn't think it was necessary. We loved hanging out at the pool (very nice on a hot day after hiking), and also did the moonlight / full moon hike to the falls which was amazing (hotel will help you book it).

Not the nicest Sheraton you will ever stay at, but 100% worth it for the location!

Room Tip: There are amazing views of the falls from all of the lobbies, bar, and common areas. Because of this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ocean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments!!
We are really glad to know that you could enjoy our location and excellents views!!
We are looking to welcoming you soon!!
Regards, Cristian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I would say don't stay here if you don't plan on staying on the falls view side of the hotel, but, just the proximity to the park would make it worthwhile. So definitely splurge and stay here even if it's Garden View.

Overall, had a very enjoyable experience! We arrived early afternoon and were able to have room service lunch before heading out to the park. When one of our hamburgers was not acceptable, the manager on duty visited our room, personally apologized and replaced it. A skimpy burger is not ok at those high prices!

We were able to enjoy the devils throat until the park guide was ushering us back down the walkway to the last train out. We were basically the only people left on the platform at closing just because we didn't have to rush back and worry about catching the transport back to town. Although Sheraton guests do not enjoy extended park hours, they do get to use regular hours to the fullest extent which is an opportunity in itself.

The pool was really delightful and while not huge, was big enough to give everyone some space of their own to enjoy it. There is also a nice (overpriced) gift shop where I picked up some magnets.

The room itself would be more of a 3-4 star in the US. The shower head was awkwardly placed and very difficult for a taller person like myself to maneuver under. Bed was exceptionally comfortable and all was very clean.

Big negatives? Charging for wifi is not ok. Even it's in the middle of a national park, it's just ridiculous to charge as much as a night in a hostel (hostel with free wifi) for 24 hours of internet. Also the dining was not as great as it could have been. Expect to pay way to much for not great quality and you'll be ok. Breakfast was a lot of fruit and otherwise basic buffet.

Remember, you're paying for the proximity and the view. And trust me, it's worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments, they are actually very constructive. I would like to express our sincere apologize for all inconveniences you had encounter during your last stay. It`s great that you coul enjoy our location!!
We are looking forward to being of services to you again in the next future.
Our best regards, Cristian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iguazu National Park
8.4 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,320 reviews
8.2 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#14 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,900 reviews
8.4 mi away
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
#2 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#8 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,806 reviews
10.6 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#9 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,720 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
#6 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa

Address: Parque Nacional Iguazu, Iguazu National Park 3370, Argentina (Formerly Sheraton Iguazú Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Iguazu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Iguazu National Park
Price Range: $258 - $739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a natural sanctuary in the heart of the jungle, where the magnificent Iguazu Falls cascade in front of the Meliá Iguazu Resort & Spa. . Rest in a quiet and peaceful atmosphere, immersed in the mystical energy of the Paranaense jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Iguazu Hotel Iguazu National Park
Sheraton Iguazu Resort And Spa
Sheraton Iguazu National Park
Iguazu National Park Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing