We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Falls view from your room is a great novelty but it comes at a high cost”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Falls view from your room is a great novelty but it comes at a high cost”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Warning: this hotel does not give you exclusive access to the park after hours like the Brazil side hotel. The park staff put signs up everywhere saying you should not access the trails. We did access the trails as soon as the park opened and they were very quiet - but I think you could achieve the same thing by taking an early taxi to the park entrance.

It is a pretty good novelty being able to see the falls from the comfort of your bed (you have to pay extra for this), possibly one of the best hotel room views in the world? It was nice watching the sunset over the falls. You can, however, get almost the same view from one of the hotel bars, without paying to stay at the hotel.

The hotel is reasonably dated but our room was nice enough, the staff were variable and the meals were okay but not great.

In my opinion, if you can afford to stay at the hotels on both sides then do so, otherwise prioritize Brazil side hotel for exclusive access to the park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jax222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian B, Guest Relation Manager at Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you very much for all your comments!! At Sheraton Iguazú Resort & Spa we take very seriously each hotel reviews because it helps us to improve every day.
Is good to remember that is not allowed to enter the National Park the 24 hours by a safety policy.
We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Best wishes, Cristian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    1,227
    516
    158
    75
See reviews for
626
1,558
152
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely 3 days at sheraton iguasu with our toddler. We had a jungle facing room which was fine as you get a view of the falls from the breakfast area and the observation deck all day any day. Also, there seems to be a higher risk of monkeys entering your room (and they can be rather aggressive) on the falls view side..... We witnessed a rather hot tempered one on the terrace during our stay.

Food:The buffet breakfast is great and yes the food prices were high but the portions were enormous so essentially divide the price by half! For lunch, you can just eat at the park cafeterias too if you want to save money. An empanada was A$8.

Service is fabulous and people are very friendly and helpful.

Location: unbeatable - the trails are just at your doorstep and the good children's pool means that if travelling with young children, this hotel can't be beat.

One negative is definitely the stupid policy of charging for Wifi in today's day and age! All other hotels in our trip provided this for free. To make it even more non sensical, they allow you 30mins free access from the hotel business area - so why not just give it for free? Most people are there for the falls and would probably not be spending ages downloading things anyway. It's just a matter of principle. I understand that charging for Internet is a big revenue generator for business hotels and perhaps that's fine as companies pay for access but in a leisure hotel? Being a Starwood member I would urge sheraton to update their policy on wifi ASAP!

Ps - Argentina is VERY expensive, even for a Londoner!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuki79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian B, Guest Relation Manager at Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay at our hotel. It`s great to know that you have enjoyed our location and services.
Our guest`s satisfaction is our top priority, that is why I ask you to accept my apologies if something in your stay was not to your liking. We truly appreciate your constructive commenst and hope to see you soon back.
Cordially, Cristian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We came to the Sheraton following a friend's suggestion regarding the location of this hotel and we were pleasantly surprised. It is definitely worth the extra money to stay in the front facing rooms that have the view of the falls from your room. Nothing can compare to it! The walks through the Iguazu' park start literally from the hotel's front yard and as they say- location is everything and you are paying for it! The room size and decor were within the standards of the Sheraton chain- on the small side with a very comfortable bed and pillows galore. We had a good dinner in the hotel which was quite pricey by Argentinian standards. Didn't stay long enough to enjoy the spa which looked very inviting. Only negative thing was the pay to use internet which amounted to approx. $12 that in this day and age is ridiculous. A hotel of this standard with its already elevated price should be ashamed of itself in asking its clients to pay for wifi internet.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian B, Guest Relation Maneger at Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review about the hotel!!
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our fantastic location and I ask you to accept our apologies if something in your stay was not to your liking.
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the land of the falls.
Sincerely yours,
Cristian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just spent the weekend at the Sheraton Iguazu and had a great stay.
Ok the bad bit first, the building is a 1970s concrete building without any glamour.
The location is, however, the best you can have. From the falls view rooms and the public areas you can see and hear the marvelous Iguazu falls. From the hotel you can walk to all the various locations (lower, upper and Garganta del Diablo trails) where you can see, hear and get sprayed by the falls.
The Hotel decor itself is modern and impersonal, nothing like the old Colonial Style of the Hotel Das Cataratas. The rooms, we had a double and a suite, are very modern are clean. We found them extremely comfortable and cozy (as we were expecting modern rooms we were not disappointed) as well as having a great balcony from which we enjoyed viewing the falls and the wildlife.
Breakfast was very good, with a great variety of products. It is served as a buffet style so plenty of good things to eat. Dinner was very good, although a bit limited in terms of variety.
Overall we had a great stay at this hotel and you cannot fault its location. I believe the public areas and rooms have all been modernized.
Staff was very good and helpful and helped us have a marvelous time at this hotel.
I would strongly recommend this hotel for a visit to the falls (all other hotels in Puerto Iguazu are a 10 to 20 minute drive to to the falls).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GioGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian B, Guest Relation Manager at Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thak you very much for your wonderfull review!!
We are glad to know that you could enjoyed the views and specially the rooms!!
We are looking forward to being of services to you again in the next future.
Our best regards,
Cristian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
688 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,117 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in February and enjoyed our stay very much. We asked for a room with a view of the falls and were given a room on the third floor (the highest). The view was spectacular and worth the extra $$. As many people have commented, the exterior of the hotel is reminiscent of 70s Soviet architecture, but we took that as a given and paid no mind to it. The hotel grounds were nicely landscaped and fit into the surroundings. We enjoyed the pool and the outdoor seating. The food was good and, yes, expensive. The breakfast and dinner buffets were nicely stocked with plenty of options. We wish we could have enjoyed them all, but we filled up rather quickly. The convenience factor was huge, in our opinion. The ability to walk for 5 minutes and be on one of the park's trails should not be underestimated. It was also nice that after we got soaked on the boat ride, we could just walk back to the hotel to shower and change. All in all, a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Falls view on the highest (third) floor is well worth the extra $$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FactotumDellaCitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian B, Guest Relation Manager at Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your remarks! We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments motivate us to work every day filled with pride.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Cristian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night on our way to Buenos Aires from Rio De Janeiro. Given our limited timing we wanted to be as close as possible to the falls so we could "hop-in and hop-out". Hence, the Sheraton.

After a day of seeing the falls on the Brazilian side, we had a taxi take us over the border to the Sheraton (Cost $50 USD). As most mention, what you get here is a fairly cookie cutter hotel property at fairly high prices (vs. Argentina standards). So why is it worth the money? 1. The convenience can't be overestimated, the lower trail of the falls practically ends at the hotel. 2. The train to Devils Throat( i.e. the main part of the falls) leaves right near the hotel - Round trip on a busy day when you include lines for the train, just through this part of the falls, you're talking well over an hour so each step closer matters. 3. The falls view rooms provide for a great scene when you're relaxing at night. 4. Get wet on a boat ride, come back and change in no-time. So, LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION is what makes this a very good hotel

Some Other Pointers -
A. Eat at the bar for dinner. Better selection of food and bottles of wine were VERY fairly priced (which at a hotel this secluded you wouldn't expect). The view from the bar deck is great. Breakfast is a buffet, was included in AAA rate. Plenty of food, quality just OK. Free mimosas.
B. Even if your breakfast is included in rate - Note that it does not include breakfast in the room. We witnessed a couple have a huge fight with management that they thought breakfast included meant room service too and they shouldn't be charged. (the couple not the management was wrong, as it clearly delineates this in the room service booklet)
C. The room we stayed in was recently re-done. Much nicer than some reviews make it out to be.
C. Although our room was redone, you could see the common areas haven't been touched. Management should really address this.
D. Starwood Preferred seemed to pull some weight. 4PM late check out, which could be real useful if you're catching a flight.
E. Speaking of flights, let the hotel arrange for a transfer from the hotel to airport - Approx. 20 min ride to Argentina Airport. We showed up to the airport about 1hr before flight time - which was plenty and the suggested (can you imagine doing this in the US?).
F. There seems to be some talk in the hotel reviews about conversions to pesos from dollars. Looks like one of the reviewers was talking about Australian Dollars and the other was talking about US Dollars. Don't be confused.
G. Don't waste your time going to Puerto Iguazu - too far for not so much to see

Enjoy the falls. They're awesome.

Room Tip: Falls View Rooms are the best for obvious reasons Ask for a high floor for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JetsFan85x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian B, Guest Relation Manager at Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and remarks!!
we are ver pleased to know that you really enjoyed your trip to the land of the falls!
Let me tell you that we finished the renovation on floors and rooms and we will continue with this to improve our services.
We hope to see you again soon.
Cristian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night in late March. The Sheraton is a good choice for those visiting Iguazu Falls if you're here for just one night. The cost is quite high but mostly justified by the location. You are basically at the falls and can get a head start on exploration ahead of tourist groups from the outside.

Location: Really the most redeeming quality of the place. You can't bet it in terms of the Iguazu Falls region. Period. Your only other option that is as close to the falls would be the hotel on the Brazilian side, and that one costs almost double of the Sheraton. Considering the Sheraton already runs you $300-$400 a night, so not sure the Brazil hotel is worth it. You can get more up and close to the falls on the Argentinian side anyway.

Rooms: Pretty standard Sheraton rooms. These things are cookie-cutter, so not like you'll experience anything particularly good/bad in comparison with other Sheratons.

Food: Dinner was actually pretty good. They have a pretty wide selection of dishes, or you can go for the buffet, which is nice as well. Good selection of wine. The breakfast is a buffet that includes some pretty good items. Not disappointed at all.

Overall, if you're thinking of visiting Iguazu, fly in early the first day, stay here one night, and then fly out late the second day. That will give you more than enough time to see everything, and since you're staying within the national park already, you don't have to waste time getting to/from the falls. Worth it.

Room Tip: You don't need to get a "Falls View" room since you're already at the falls anyway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gte371z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian B, Guest Relation Manager at Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
It`s great knowing that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel and specially our location!! is nice to receive positive feedback from the services we offer. Remember that you can always get some great promotions on our web site.
We look forward to welcoming you again!!
Best regards, Cristian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iguazu National Park
8.5 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,144 reviews
8.5 mi away
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
#2 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
191 reviews
8.3 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#13 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#6 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,666 reviews
10.1 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#9 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,677 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
#8 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa

Property: Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa
Address: Parque Nacional Iguazu, Iguazu National Park 3370, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Iguazu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Iguazu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Iguazu Hotel Iguazu National Park
Sheraton Iguazu Resort And Spa
Sheraton Iguazu National Park
Iguazu National Park Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing