We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay while visiting the Falls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had a lovely room on the third floor viewing the falls. The room was comfort, recently renovated. It's not fancy or luxurious but adequate. The deck faced the falls and we enjoyed sitting on the deck at sunset. The restaurant was good, not great. We had dinner there twice. i got the grilled fish. the first night it was delicious, but the second night it was very fair. My husband got the fillet mignon, which was very tough. For breakfast the fruit was the best choice. The side salad was good as was the roasted vegetables. The hotel is situated right near the falls so you can go from the hotel and view the falls easily making this the place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your important opinion and comments related to your stay. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced during dinner. We truly appreciate your constructive comments.
Sincerely, Cristian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,185 - 1,191 of 3,053 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

Like all the other reviews it is the location that fully recommends this hotel.
We had a falls view room on the first floor.The views were great so we were not disappointed in not having the recommended top third storey .
The meals in the hotel were very good which includes breakfast.
The staff were very helpful and we were pleased to have a late check out at mid day as the usual 10.00am was very early.
A standard "Jungle" boat trip was arranged from a hotel lobby agent [ very helpful and not pushy] and it is highly recommended but you get very wet.We only had a two night stay and debated on spending a whole day of our visit viewing the falls from Brazil.I am sure we may have missed some panoramic views but after taking loads of pictures from the boat trip and numerous walkways we are glad we just chilled out wandering around the Argentine side.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RowePCCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your nice review!! Your comments motivate us to work every day filled with pride.
Sincerely Yours, Cristian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The room with the view is the only reason to stay at the Sheraton Iguazu: the view is really breathtaking. It is the only hotel within the Iguazu Falls Park, therefore the only real choice if you want to get up close and personal with the Garganta del Diablo day and night.
This said, the Sheraton is a very ugly and tired hotel; how could anyone possibly give the permission to build it there, it's beyond belief.
Everything is as you would expect from a Sheraton, impersonal but efficient, and expensive.
Expensive is the key word: in a country where you buy pesos everywhere at 7.5 to the dollar, the Sheraton rate is 4.5, not to mention the credit card surcharge.
Also worth mentioning is the fact that in a country where free WiFi is the norm in every bar, restaurant or hotel, the Sheraton is the ONLY place where you have to pay to connect to the internet.
Stay there for the view, and the pool, but at night head to Iguazu city for a more exciting and much cheaper food scene.

Room Tip: If you go to the Sheraton you must get a Falls view room: why else go there?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giorgiosydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your review!
Our guest´s satisfaction is our priority, that is why i ask you to accept my apologies if something in your stay was not to your liking. Is good to remember that the rooms and floors have ben renovated and we will continue with the renovation in order to improve our facilities.
Sincerely, Cristian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This property is in the perfect location for visits to the falls. We were here 3 nights and could have done what we wanted in two days. The hotel gets lots of business from tour groups from all nations. In our three days we saw lots of people come & go. Iguazu is tropical so air conditioning is a must, but our unit was so loud we couldn't sleep. Front desk advised us 'they're all like that'. The hotel advises you to keep your windows closed to keep out the monkeys. Great! So we just turned the darn thing off at night. And, yes, we did observe monkeys scaling the hotel and visiting balconies in search of open windows (?) or food(?) or clothes hung to dry (?).

Room Tip: Falls view is nice but jungle view is OK, too and not as expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NonFu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your remarks!
First of all we would like to apologize for the inconvenience with the air conditioning and the front desk response. I can assure you that those things are not representatives of our service and culture standards. We truly appreciate your constructive comments.
Best Regards, Cristian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

If you're in Argentina and want to see the falls, the Sheraton is your best option because it is inside the park and the falls are literally right outside your door. That said, it's expensive ($300+ per room per night plus 21% tax) and you're staying in a Sheraton circa 1978 (i.e. dated and totally without charm). Additionally, you're stuck eating at the Sheraton, which gets old. As a 50-year old couple with 3 teenagers, we significantly lowered the average age of hotel guests. We had planned to stay 2 nights, but our son got sick after the first night and so we decided to go back to BA a day early. At that point, all of us felt like we had seen all there was to see of the falls (the map makes it appear as if there are extensive hiking trails, but what looks like a huge loop on the map is basically a walk around the block and we walked every trail in one afternoon). Note that the falls are spectacular, at least when we were there at a time of high water, but once you've seen them, that's about it and there's very little else to do for an active couple or family. (We took the boat ride and I suggest you save your money because it's essentially the same view as the lower trails but with a fire hose in your face.) However, the staff was great, which kept me from rating this hotel even lower. They helped with my sick son (sent us to the free clinic in the park where they gave him a shot and some medicine that worked wonders), were understanding about our desire to get back to BA sooner than expected and were extremely helpful overall. It's a shame they don't have better facilities with which to work and more things to do. Again, the falls really are spectacular, but given the cost, hassle of getting there and lack of activities and great place to stay, I think that I'd pass on Iguzau Falls and spend my time in Argentina elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank familyof5Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your review about the hotel. As you mentioned, our staff is our best asset. Let me tell you that we are renovating the hotel to continuously improve our services.
Hope to see you again soon.
Cristian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Lets just be frank, if you don't have to stay in the park on the Argentinean side although there are a lot of good reasons that you may want to, find somewhere else and save some bucks. We stayed there after one night in the Brazilian side, what a difference. The best thing for the hotel is obvious, the location. It faces the fall with a dramatic view and it is a very short walk to all the trails although one has to pay quite an extra for the fall-viewing room. The hotel itself feels really tired and long in the tooth. The pool has a huge shortage of the lounges and the spa is in the cellar and smell rather awful. It desperately needs a renovation. The staff is friendly and helpful and the restaurant is decent. But all in all, an overpriced hotel with out of date facilities in the best location. But personally we won't go back to it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingSocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you very much for your coments and remarks. The guest`s satisfaction is our priority and we are very sorry to learn that some details were not to your liking.
I ask you to accept our apologies and thank you for your valuable contribution that your comment is.
With our best regards, Cristian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

One merely needs to read perhaps just 20 plus reviews to get the best sense of the place and thereby make ones decision regarding whether to stay there or stay away.  The adejectives are just hooks of someone's experience. Helpful to read between the lines. The only other option is to stay in the town of Puerto Iguazu.  The town - while has 'more' choices for accommodations and restaurants - exists solely to cater to visitors to Iguazu Falls.

Granted - staying at the Sheraton is gonna (depending on your financial proclivities) put a big hole in your pocket, possibly blow your travel budget if you're traveling on fixed budget.  You simply ask yourself whether you can handle it afterwards. 

Personally - after viewing the movie - The Mission - I'd made it an unconscious point to list the Falls on my bucket list.  Further viewing the waterfalls on YouTube merely served to reinforce my commitment to visit Iguazu.

Spare me the gripe of whether the place is expensive (which it is).  Iguazu Sheraton forces no one to stay there.  Supply and demand rules here.

One of the deciding factor to choosing the Sheraton (on top of saving transport hassles) is the apparent recent epidemic of bedbugs at a number of the hotels and hostels in Puerto Iguazu.  I could not see myself spending time at the laundromat or tossing my clothes and purchasing a new wardrobe for the rest of my journey.

I was given room-#370.  Top floor and last room on the left facing the waterfalls.  Really comfortable bed, furnitures, bathroom and amenities and exterior balcony.  Possibly the best-est feature of the room's location (not only the view towards the waterfalls) but having the jungle on my left where I can observe more animals and birds.  Lizards skitter from branch to branch.

Beautiful pool.  Amply stocked gym.  The grounds could easily pass for Wailea on Maui.

I will NOT join the whinny debate about the place being dated and being expensive.  I found the place brought up to today's expectations (other reviewers indicated continual upgrading).

Restaurant service and menu on par with their multiple star ratings.  Breakfast (included) is a sumptuous buffet starting at 6:30am -- plenty of time to refuel and get out and hit the trails to the waterfalls.

I strongly recommend that you be ready to enter at 8am (the earliest it opens to park visitors).  By 9:30 the hordes from the tour buses begin descending upon the park.  Going early - you can witness coatis, lizards scamper around the vistas, butterflies alight on the bench, jote circuling above, and more rarely glimpse toucans.  When sunny - temperature becomes very warm by 10am.  That would be the time to explore the lower trails of the waterfalls - warning prepare to get wet.  Conversely you can go back into the park after 3pm when the tour-hordes begin whittling down.  Sundown gets dark fast (roughly 7:30 in March).

Sheraton personnels say toucans don't show themselves very often.  One flew across the grounds when I checked in at reception.  One perched in a tree outside my balcony after spending the day at the waterfalls.  And seven toucans graced me on my last morning before breakfast.  Capuchin monkeys are even a more rare sight.  Only one (that I'd seen) came and visited the outdoor bar patio the first night.

Toucans are revered in Incan and Mayan motifs.  They're not graceful flying birds yet their wings allow them to navigate through the jungle foliage.

Taxi fare to and fro the airport is advertised in the airport as Ar$110.  Not a whole lot of other options as were simply captive customers of Iguazu.

I'd do Sheraton and Iguazu again at the drop of the hat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Turtles_Dragonfles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian B, Guest Relation Manager at Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Great to hear from our guest!! Knowing that do you think of us help us to improve every day.
You`ve really been lucky to see so many animals in our jungle.
Once again, I appreciate your taking the time to tell us how was your stay at this place.
Best regards, Cristian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iguazu National Park
8.4 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,254 reviews
8.4 mi away
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
#2 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
220 reviews
8.2 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#14 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#8 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,766 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
#6 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
549 reviews
8.6 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa

Address: Parque Nacional Iguazu, Iguazu National Park 3370, Argentina (Formerly Sheraton Iguazú Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Iguazu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Iguazu National Park
Price Range: $253 - $740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a natural sanctuary in the heart of the jungle, where the magnificent Iguazu Falls cascade in front of the Meliá Iguazu Resort & Spa. . Rest in a quiet and peaceful atmosphere, immersed in the mystical energy of the Paranaense jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Iguazu Hotel Iguazu National Park
Sheraton Iguazu Resort And Spa
Sheraton Iguazu National Park
Iguazu National Park Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing