We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't beat the location to avoid the crowds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location to avoid the crowds”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

As all the reviews say, this hotel is expensive. And it can afford to charge so much per night, simply because people like me are prepared to pay for the location. The hotel and its room rooms are pleasant enough - I'm clearly not as particular as other reviewers, as I thought the rooms were fine and the food was reasonably priced - but not worth the amount charged. But, importantly for me, the location meant I could be at the Devil's Throat (Garganta del Diablo) literally on my own for more than 25 minutes before the hordes descended on it. To do this, leave the hotel at 7.55am and walk to Cataratas Station, leave there at 8am and walk the 2km following the train track to Garganta Station, followed by the 1.1km on the boardwalk out to the look out and you can be there at 8.30am. The first trainload of people doesn't arrive at the lookout until just before 9am. By that time you are heading back along the boardwalk and catch the empty train back to Cataratas!

To save money, I suggest you don't need a room with a view of the falls. There are a number of common areas in the hotel with the same vantage point.

It is very easy and cheap to catch the bus into the township of Puerto Iguazu. The bus stop is down the hotel driveway and you just wait at the little shelter on the left, the ticket into town is 25 pesos. From town, you can catch another bus (60 pesos return) directly to the Brazil side of the falls. Very easy and cheap!

Heading back to the airport from the hotel, ask reception to book a car for you through an agency and it will cost you 75 pesos, not 110 pesos. You pay the driver directly, try and make sure you have correct money.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank MelbourneTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,011
    1,210
    507
    158
    75
See reviews for
610
1,539
149
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
662 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

As other reviewers have said (AnitaUNC has it exactly right), this is the place to stay to visit the Falls even though it is overpriced and run down. Nothing beats looking out at the Falls from your balcony and from the public spaces, and being able to get up early and just walk to the falls before the crowds and the heat of the day and to walk back and go directly to the pool. The food is ok, especially the excellent and lavish breakfast, and the front desk staff is excellent. We encountered the worst service of our whole 2 week trip at the bar - unfriendly, unhelpful, and unprofessional. Our first room, jungle view, was spacious but very rundown, with peeling paint. The second night we had a Falls view room which was cleaner and much fresher. Watching the crescent moon and stars brighten into sunrise from the balcony as the Falls and birds came to life at dawn was the single most extraordinary time of the whole trip. The town of Puerto Iguazu is small and some of the hotels look nicer than the Sheraton, and it would have been interesting to be able to spend time there, but not worth cabs or buses to the Falls everyday.

Room Tip: You came all the way to Iguazu - pay the money and get the Falls room. Or if you are a Starwood mem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank X-NYr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torremolinos, Spain
Level Contributor
266 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 720 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This Hotel has an amazing location--just minutes walk from the thunder of the Falls.
We are very warmly welcomed and given a most pleasant room.
The hotel was full and no Starwood Platinum upgrade was available--it made little difference as room was cosy and at night with open windows -clearly u could hear the water.
We were up early morning --what amazing sounds from the Jungle.
Buffet Dinner was superb with a most professional service--clearly the General Manager is very much in control in this hotel.
A tip to other tourists-request the hotel to meet u on arrival at airport and especially ask for a driver called ENZO.
This man was so professional and kind.
He also by arrangement brought us to the BRASILIAN side of the falls which are far superior when viewing the water falls.
Once in a life visit IGUASU and stay at the Sheraton--you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: get a room with a view of the falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IRELANDSMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Yes, you're staying at the Sheraton for its location within the Iguazu National Park. Which is spectacular. Nothing beats seeing the waterfalls first thing in the morning and last thing at night, and with the trails and Devil's Throat accessible before other tourists have piled in. This can't be beaten.

But actually, contrary to our fears given some of the reviews, the Sheraton was also a pleasant place to stay. It's a long way from Puerto Iguazu, but the restaurant is of a high standard (though no need to take the buffet option in our view, which is overpriced - a la carte is great and cheaper) so there is no need to travel in if you don't want to. Breakfast is perhaps a notch below the usual Sheraton experience, but there's nothing to really be critical of.

And yes, the hotel is busy and the rooms have a little bit of wear and tear, but the beds are extremely comfortable, the air conditioning is extremely efficient and the swimming pool area is a great place to hang out. We'd happily return...even if it wasn't in Iguazu!

Room Tip: The best views are from the third floor Falls-facing rooms. If you've come this far, you may as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Grand_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
273 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

we stayed here in september 2011 and had a room on a top floor with a fall view! make sure you get a view of the falls (not jungle side) from your balcony. incredible and the rumble of the water was amazing to fall asleep by. the rooms are average. we stayed in the recently renovated part and it was nice but not spectacular. you're paying for access to the park and all the pathways early in the morning before the other tourons arrive in droves and block all the arteries with their tour guides and obnoxious picture taking. well worth it to get the jump on all the bus loads of people coming from other locations. we had the whole place to ourselves until about 9am each morning and then again in the evening after 4pm-ish.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namchegompa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

You cannot beat the location , the views are spectacular and just walking out of your hotel and onto the park trails is a great advantage. The hotel lobby and general public areas are quite nice. Sitting in the lobby enjoying a glass on wine while looking out to the falls is great . The rooms are tired and in a definite need of remodel. There were repaired and unpainted sections of our wall and the carpet and paint just was old and worn . The rooms were very well cleaned and bathrooms in good shape. The breakfast was good but not spectacular and the food at the hotel in general just ok. The pool area is also in need of a good remodel and the pool itself was not well cleaned. Service and food at pool area not great. The service at the hotel was good and the ability to book tours and cars for the day was well organized. I prefer the Sheraton to the Hotel Cataratas due to the views and trails on the Argentinian side. The hotel Cataratas is definitely in better shape but for families the park on Argentinian side has more to offer.

Room Tip: Falls view highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnitaUNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diani Beach, Kenya
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The rooms are well furnished, clean and comfortable. Take the falls facing rooms if budget allows. The lobby, restaurant and bar area need serious remodelling including the exterior. The layout of the hotel is very functional. The pool area is very nice. The views of the falls and the location is what makes this place worth staying at!

Room Tip: Choose the falls facing rooms! Views are incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianiSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iguazu National Park
8.5 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
8.7 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#3 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
#6 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
10.1 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#7 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
8.3 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#13 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa

Property: Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa
Address: Parque Nacional Iguazu, Iguazu National Park 3370, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Iguazu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Iguazu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Iguazu Hotel Iguazu National Park
Sheraton Iguazu Resort And Spa
Sheraton Iguazu National Park
Iguazu National Park Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing