We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A room with a view -- still struggling between 3 to 4 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
551 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“A room with a view -- still struggling between 3 to 4 stars”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I was attracted by the location of the hotel. It is actually on the ground of the Iguazu National Park, so after exploring the park, one do not have to trek back to where ever one is staying. It is not too far from the airport, cost about 110 pesos. The property itself is a grand old dame. Looks like any other Sheraton, but really need upgrade. That is why I like explore small boutique hotel so much, seeing new design ideas rather than what is in the 60's and 70's. Still, you cannot fault the service. The champagne buffet is good too, many choices, and it was here that I tried Mate -- the typical tea. The pool is small and could be crowded, but the hydrotherapy, massage service is great too. It is expensive (for me), a room with the waterfall view cost close $400 per night, but I still felt It is worth forking it out, seeing it from my balcony was simply fantastic. The reason why it get a 3 stars and not a 4 is, I felt the hotel needs desperately for refurbishment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superlegalbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,011
    1,210
    507
    158
    75
See reviews for
610
1,539
149
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed for three nights flying in to the Brazil side from Rio. The hotel is actually in the National Park so you have to buy your park entrance ticket before proceeding to the sheraton, fortunately we were able to use a cash point to withdraw pesos from the entrance. The other good news is that you don't have to buy your entrance tickets each time you re-enter as long as you keep your tickets / hotel pass with you.

The hotel has excellent views of the Falls and it did feel quite special to be staying within the park. We opted for the Jungle View Room and found three days walking around the falls was more than plenty! The rooms were pretty standard for sheraton although a little out dated. We only eat 'halal' food so struggled eating - especially for breakfast for example, we found they stick bacon in the scrambled eggs and nothing to say so! We also found the fish and veggie options were limited, quite bland and boring. Also we liked eating out in Brazil as they add service charge onto the bills but here, remember to add to your bill otherwise the staff get annoyed - seriously off putting and not something I've experienced elsewhere

As the hotel is in the in park there aren't any other dining options after six pm which is a major disadvantage unless you like their food. For a bit of variety we got a taxi into Iguazu town in the evening to see the intersection point between brazil, argentina and paraguay as well as dining at a local restaurant but this can work out expensive if doing every evening - approx $260 pesos

Also to do the Brazil tour of the falls the taxi alone was $470 pesos to be driven from the sheraton returning after approximately 6hours. In hindsight, it may have been more practical to stay near the brazilian side and covered that part and then come to the sheraton to finish off...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SufianMalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed at the Sheraton for 3 nights. The hotel was very nice, not amazing, but decide what you want from the hotel in this area. It is clean, comfortable and friendly. We were in the National park. We could see the falls from our balcony and the outer eating area. We could go do the walks at 8am when the park opened and the crowds only arrived at 9am. We could do the same at the end of the day for the last hour. I did the lower walk at 8am and i was the only one on the path....it was almost spiritual!.So for me, I can't even imagine being anywhere else....I thought we were very lucky to have chosen this hotel. Enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel4111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night in November 2012. We flew into Iguazu airport (Argentina side), and taxis were being offered to the Sheraton for a fixed price of 110 pesos. You have to stop en route at the park entrance in order to purchase the entry tickets (130 pesos each).

Upon entering the hotel, you immediately notice the view of the falls in the distance. As SPG Gold members, upon check-in we were told about free wifi access (which would otherwise be a costly 70 pesos/day). We were not given any upgrade from our Jungle view room, but they were able to give us our room at 11am when we arrived.

Entering our room on the second floor, it looked very basic, and fairly outdated. The website had claimed rooms were ‘newly refurbished’ but this was clearly not the case. It got worse as we entered the bathroom and found a few hairs in the bathtub! Examining the room more closely, there were a few more hairs on the room floor, and worst of all, hairs on one of the pillows! Following this, we immediately went down to reception to request a different room. They did seem quite apologetic and within 15 minutes had given us a new room on the third floor. We arrived to the room and found it being cleaned/inspected by a room maid. The new room was hair-free, although still quite basic/outdated.

You may want to stock up on water before you arrive at the hotel, as we did not find any complimentary water in our room, and the minibar price was 28 pesos for a 500ml bottle! We found cheaper water in the park (half the price). They eventually gave out complimentary water bottles during turn down service that evening, but we had already stocked up by this point.

Being in the national park, eating options are limited, so we had all our meals at the hotel. Lunch was quite average, but we quite enjoyed the dinner buffet. I believe they have a buffet every night, and the cost was 215 pesos each, which I thought was quite reasonable, given the extensive spread on offer. Not everything was good, but there was enough there to keep us satisfied. The desserts table is the highlight, especially if you like chocolate! Our dinner experience was also enhanced by the excellent service we received from our waiter, Nicolas.

The following morning we took a taxi to visit the Brazil side of the falls, after which we flew out from the Brazil side. The hotel is in partnership with a car service, and they quoted 300 pesos for a taxi to the Brazil side, or just under 500 pesos to visit the Brazil side, have the driver wait for you and then take you to the airport. We opted for the second option and had a very helpful driver (despite his lack of English skills) who seemed to be a tour guide as well and actually escorted us around the Brazil side of the park (I’m not sure if this is standard practise).

To sum up, the best thing about this hotel is its location inside the park. The worst thing about this hotel... is its location – they effectively have a monopoly, guaranteeing them a customer base regardless of the standards they keep. To be fair the service was quite good, but the rooms were 3-star at best. Although a disappointing experience overall, due to its prime location I would probably consider staying here again on a future visit. You can literally step out of the hotel and walk down the different trails, and it is hard to turn down this level of convenience. There is also one hotel within the Brazilian side of the park, so this would be the alternative to consider.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ishan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This only makes it into the 'average' category because of the view and the location.
Our accomodation was on the top floor, with a spectacular view of the falls. However the accommodation, although adequate, was nothing to write home about. The mesh on the screen door leading to the balcony was coming away from the frame, so it wasn't practical to leave the sliding door open. Meant that we had to keep the air conditioning on and the door closed. As we only had one card to access our accommodation, and to switch on power this card had to be inserted into a slot, our A/C switched off when we were out of our room. This meant that it took ages to cool our room down on our return!
Staff were les than helpful, gabbling information at us when we arrived and then giving monosyllabic answers when we later tried to clarify points.
Breakfasts were OK, but evening meals were very poor, to the extent that we seemed to shuffle food around the plate! - Given the remote location of the hotel guests are relatively 'captive', so there is little option but to eat what is on offer.
Two things that really grated were that wifi time and the spa whirlpool (which we did not see anyone using during our stay), had to be purchased. These seem like sure-fire ways of achieving customer dissatisfaction in a very efficient way!!
The location of the hotel is stunning as it is in the national park, giving superb access to the falls and the landscape.
If I was returning to Iguazu I would not stay at the Sheraton.

Room Tip: If you must stay here make sure that you ask for the top floor on the falls side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alister S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here as part of a tour of Argentina. Whilst the hotel is ok with friendly staff, clean rooms (slightly dated) and a good restaurant what makes it great is the view from the bar over the iguazu falls which are amazing. The falls themselves can be reached directly from the hotel and being the only hotel in the national park means you can beat the crowds? I walked to the falls just after the park opened at 8 and had some of the viewpoints all to myself for a few mins

One cautionary note is don't expect the stay to be cheap. You are staying in an international hotel chain which has a monopoly in the park so prices are international hotel prices for food and drink. Even with this it is well worth the stay and would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

If one is going to stay on the Argentina side of the falls, this is the place to say. The city of Iguazu has a number of hotels, but the time and logistics involved in getting to the park from there would offset any benefits. Also, the on-site Sheraton provids a place to relax between trail hikes.
We were a small group and upon arriving the reception staff re-grouped and provided a very efficient and friendly check in process. And those falls were there in that outstanding view as we checked in.
Our room was on the falls side and this is the place to be. Even though you'll be spending a lot of time out hiking in the park, it is great to have that view from the room.
Our room had a few frazzled edges, including a fan that needed new bearings. We had to shut it off overnight so we could sleep. With the high temperatures and humidity, it got a bit uncomfortable in the early morning hours.
The public areas were in good repair, but a bit dated. Internet and wireless are available.
We had lunch in the dining room and a light dinner from the bar menu that evening. Breakfast buffet the following morning was extensive and good.
We didn't use the pool as there was too much to do in the park.
Hopefully Sheraton will do some remodeling and updating before too long. In the meantime it remains the best option for park visitors.

Room Tip: Get a room on the falls side of the hotel. If you've come all this way you don't want a ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratch37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iguazu National Park
8.5 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
8.7 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#3 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
#6 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
10.1 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#7 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
8.3 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#13 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa

Property: Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa
Address: Parque Nacional Iguazu, Iguazu National Park 3370, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Iguazu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Iguazu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Iguazu Hotel Iguazu National Park
Sheraton Iguazu Resort And Spa
Sheraton Iguazu National Park
Iguazu National Park Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing