We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2007

The location of this hotel is unrivalled with the view to the falls is unforgettable. Its expensive but worth it as a single visit: for the view and to have the easy walking access to the Argentine side of
the falls. The hotel which has been undergoing renovation for some times falls well short of 5 a star Sheraton Hotel, as a club member there were no discernable benefits unlike at other hotels in the chain. The rooms are small and in need of a serious update and de-clutter, the wardrobe is a poor DIY job, bathroom is Ok lots of small
issues like cheap toiletries in Sheraton bottles: TIP: use a plastic card in the eclectic slot to keep the room cool for when you return. But it’s the view you pay for. We arrived at 3pm to find our falls room view ( it’s the only option if you go all that way) room was not
ready and after being offered a small glass of juice was told to wait
45 minutes. We had afternoon tea which was leftovers from breakfast, but what a view. Service by the staff is complacent, as the place is busy and plagued by group travellers and quite a few kids ( sorry it sounds so snobby). The food is buffet style in a canteen environment.
We asked for the a la carte service was dumping in amongst the general mêlée and the food and service was the worst quality and price of the 3 weeks we spent in South America. Grab the bus into town for something more real. 2 nights is enough, our bags were riffled at Iguazu airport, a problem that is common place and the attitude is well that’s what happens here. We flew from BA by Argentine Airways which was easy and cheap, but they were indifferent
about the bags being opened and ordinary items like shoes stolen. The
pool is a great haven but the health spa (why here?) costs! I filled out a customer questionnaire from home, I was sent a reply, full of excuses shame! Yes I know you can’t change the building but the food and the service are expensive and totally unacceptable, a bland response to a bland Sheraton experience, but it’s the only real option!. TIP: get a walking map and get into the park early when it opens and get to the train to go to the Devils Mouth area first its spectacular and wet, there are guides but its not necessary - if you go for the park, falls and the view and accept that the hotel is an average 4 star with bland food its fine- it really is all about the location, location, location.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MartinBrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,971 - 1,977 of 3,098 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2007

As mentioned in previous reviews, the views from the Sheraton are amazing. Our suite overlooked the falls and had a huge balcony. The hotel itself is not particularly attractive, and the service was appalling. The restaurant was more like a works canteen, with tables left piled high with dirty crockery. We waited 20 minutes for a coffee at breakfast, and the tea we ordered never arrived. Service in the bar was slow and the food was cold when it arrived. Other guests were also complaining. Go for the location, but for the price, you would expect far higher standards.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GDevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2007

Hotel has a great view of the falls but is very expensive.
As the hotel is isolated we felt taken advantage off; all is very expensive compared to teh rest of Argentina. Rooms are very average, hotel is an big squar building and needs some updating.
Service average, breakfast good. You pay for the location.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CaymanOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2007

Obviously the hotel is no architectural masterpiece, but I can't imagine staying else where. Since my wife and I were not part of a tour group, we didn't have the benefit of included transportation throughout the area. Since we stayed at the Sheraton however, we could come and go as we pleased through all the trails on the Argentine side of falls. We didn't have the restaurant options available for dinner the two nights we were there, but being able to eat with the falls visible from the hotel restaurant was worth the extra cost of dinner.

Besides all that, the staff was very kind and helpful and overall we enjoyed our visit to Iguazu Falls thoroughly because of this hotel.

PS- be prepared for the heat here! We stayed in early September, nearing the end of their winter and the temperatures were in excess of 90F/30C. If you are considering a summer visit, be prepared for temps well over 100F.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank blinkertx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2007

I say the same as everyone else - stay for the location, not the hotel. The hotel looks more like a military communication center....but, the Sheraton seems to have done what it can with an older property. The inside is nice, but the building itself struggles.

We drove out into town (taxi) for one night's dinner, and it just punctuacted how lucky we were for our location to the falls. You wake up and can hear the falls - very pleasant. We are spg members, so we know what generally to expect from SPG properties.....again, Sheraton has done what it can for an older property, but your can't beat the location. If you can afford it, it is worth the price for proximity and convenience.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChileLivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2007

We stayed at the Sheraton last week, and were sorely disappointed. After paying such reasonable prices in Buenos Aires for nice hotels, we expected this place to be a palace for the rates they were charging!!! Our bathroom had an open drain hole with standing water that constantly smelled like sewer. Anytime the sink or shower was running, or the toilet was flushed, the sewer hole would gurgle and stir up the smell. In addition, I would compare it to an old Holiday Inn that was from 1975 that charged $350 a night. The food was terrible, and we smelled the sewer smell at breakfast the next morning. We ate all of the rest of our meals in town, and had wonderful meals. The only thing this place has going for it is the view.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank maryscary7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

What can I say, the location is amazing. Splurge on the room with a view...it is amazing. That said the hotel is pretty non-fulfilling for the price. Room rates, drinks and food are very pricey at this hotel (at least 50% more than when in BA). Dinner buffet was about 80 pesos. Chef's menu (three coarse) was about 55. That said, food was good and rooms were nice. They are standard Sheraton rooms. There is lots of great lounging area to just hang out and admire the beauty. The pool area was nice too although water was ice cold.

The access to the park and falls is what makes this hotel. You can be on the trails in seconds and really stretch it out. We were able to go out for a quick walk, go back and change as the day got warmer, and be back on the trails in no time. It aids you in getting the early start and beat the crowds. Also lets you stay in the park to the very last second. No train, taxi, or bus to worry about.

If I were to go back I would probably complain a bunch about the price and still end up staying there anyway. Bottom line is this isn't a place you will probably be going on a regular basis so if you can afford it go for it. It really does make the experience special.

FYI once at the hotel they have transportation to town for 45 pesos each way. If you book the round trip they will give you 4 hours of time to drive you around or simply wait while you have dinner. I would suggest speaking with the cab driver that takes you to the hotel from the airport (cost us 35 pesos) and get his phone number. Probably can have him come pick you up at the hotel for less.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mexconnex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iguazu National Park
8.4 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,370 reviews
8.4 mi away
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
#2 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
279 reviews
8.2 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#13 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#7 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,822 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
#6 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
573 reviews
10.6 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#9 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa

Address: Parque Nacional Iguazu, Iguazu National Park 3370, Argentina (Formerly Sheraton Iguazú Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Iguazu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Iguazu National Park
Price Range: $277 - $667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a natural sanctuary in the heart of the jungle, where the magnificent Iguazu Falls cascade in front of the Meliá Iguazu Resort & Spa. . Rest in a quiet and peaceful atmosphere, immersed in the mystical energy of the Paranaense jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Iguazu Hotel Iguazu National Park
Sheraton Iguazu Resort And Spa
Sheraton Iguazu National Park
Iguazu National Park Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing