We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AB”
Review of Iguazu Falls

Iguazu Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.00*
and up
Full Day Tour to Iguazu Falls
More Info
$66.00*
and up
Iguassu Falls Day Tour from Puerto Iguazú with Waterfall Boat Ride
More Info
$44.90*
and up
Full-Day Sightseeing Tour of the Argentinian and Brazilian Sides of Iguassu...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Iguazu National Park was created in 1934, with approximately 67,620 hectares/167,091 acres was declared "Natural Heritage to the Humanity" by the UNESCO in 1984 due to its scenic beauties and to the great biological diversity of the subtropical forest. This natural sanctuary, was declareted new 7 wonder of the world in 11/11/11. The Iguazu Falls are located in the Argentina's northeaster corner, bestowed with benevolent rains and temperatures (15ºC/59°F average in Winter and 30ºC/ 86°F average in Summer) brings about a very humid atmosphere almost windless due to the leafy vegetation canopy. The Iguazu river has a total extension of 1320 km/ 820 miles until flowing into the Parana River, 23 km/ 14 miles after the waterfalls. Inside the National Park, the river widens to about 1500 meters/ 0.9 miles and turns south, next it turns north, in the shape of a wide "U" where the river mouth presents the abrupt slump of soil which conforms the cataratas: a magnificent waterfall. All along the above mentioned prominent curve, a proliferation of reefs, islets and prolonged islands provoke the fragmentation of the river in numerous branches. When the river reaches the cliff, each branch becomes a waterfall and together comprise the great Iguazu Waterfalls. The Iguazu Falls appear grandiose and majestic in the Misiones forest dazzling visitors from all over the world. In celebration of all this beauty and unique attraction as from July 2001, a new concept of ecological tourism has been implemented within the Iguazu National Park, with an investment of 25 million dollars and service and facilities according to the international tourist demands, prioritizing at the same time the Park's care and preservation, a sample of the Paranaense Subtropical Forest declared Natural Heritage to the Humanity" by the UNESCO in 1984. The fundamental objectives of this enterprise are the recover and conservation of the Waterfall Area, and the incentive to the present and future generations to renew the legendary admiration arisen by this wonderful masterpiece of nature. Today, our visitors can enjoy safe and modern walkways from start to finish of the impressive falls and the Upper and Lower Circuits and the Devil's Throat, and facilities according to the natural environment such as the new Visitor Center and the alternative transportation of the Ecological Forest Train, which complies with international policies of accessibility and preservation of the World Union for Nature Conservation.
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Of you're in South America you should visit this place!
Argentinian park is very very cool place. Pure nature around.
I spent more than 5 hours walking all the trails. Amazing place!!

Thank rububu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10,428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,168 - 2,172 of 10,428 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

If you travel to Argentina, this is a place you have to go, its a paradise on earth, the brasilian side is not compare with the argentina side, the Argentine side is bigger, and you have the chance to go to the Garganta del Diablo wich is the best part of the park, also you can buy a ticket, to go on a boat that goes down some falls and is awesome!

Thank Vivian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Our visit to the Iguazu Falls(Argentina)/Iguacu Falls(Brazil) was the highlight of our South American trip. We actually enjoyed the Brazilian side more than the Argentinian side, maybe because we were a bit more rushed on the Argentinian side. Also it was extremely hot, and we had to spend a lot of time waiting for the trains that transport you from one part of the falls to another. They only run every half an hour, and there were too many people for the space available. Having said that, anyone visiting the falls should definitely visit both the Brazilian & Argentinian side, as the views are different. Seeing these falls should be at the top of any traveller's "bucket list" !! A true WOW experience!

1  Thank roaming_kiwi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I don't think many places we have traveled to can rival Iguazu for the sheer spectacular grandeur, beauty and energy these incredible falls engender. We spent a couple of days at the park and stayed in Puerto Iguazu. We walked out over the falls on the extensive walkways. We took a boat trip from below the falls up to the falls. And, we took a boat trip on the river above the falls. Every venue was just fantastic! Yes, they are remote, but if you love nature at its best and most spectacular, Iguazu rivals most natural wonders we have seen around to world.

1  Thank Eric99508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have to say: on the Argentine side of Iguazu Falls one day is not enough. You can certainly start in the morning and walk till the evening . It’s hard : extremely hot. In early February 2013. the temperature was +45 degrees Celsius in the shade. For visiting the Argentine side of Iguacu Falls better to have two days. I recommend to stay in Argentina to do not spend time on travel . There are a lot of hotels from Brazilian / Argentine border to the direction of waterfalls.
Now in order.
How to reach the Argentine Iguazu Falls ? Simple.
If you are in Argentina need to fly to Puerto Iguazu (airport code IGR).
We’ve been in Brazil, In the city of Foz de Iguacu (of course, there should arrive there). There are several options. I'll tell you about three of them.
1. Budget : from the bus station to take a bus in direction of Porto de Iguazu in Argentina. Ticket , in my opinion , costs three reals . Go approximately one hour. Disadvantages: loss of time ( the bus goes with stops , and even transfers ); searching for ATM exchanger in the town of Puerto Iguazu ( Argentine pesos needed ), any problems with the return journey.
2. Travel agency . Lots of choices . I think that you can save money if you take a comprehensive visit to the waterfalls from the Brazilian and Argentinean sides. But .. you must come on a weekday and take the time to book .
3. Taxi. There are also options . Taxi for 1 day ( more precisely about 6 hours) worth 200-250 reals (about $ 100 - $ 125).

Park entrance is paid. In fact it is not a park , but just the territory adjacent to it . Need to pay 10 pesos or $ 2 for car entrance. You can give $ 10 , get change in pesos.
All the road from our hotel to the park entrance took about 1 hour.

You can buy a ticket only for cash ( Argentine pesos ) .
No problems with it . At the entrance to the park there are people who will exchange your cash (dollars , etc.) for the Argentine peso. Rate , of course, higher than in the bank. The ticket costs about $ 20.5 - 23.5.

That's the first difference from the Brazilian side of the Iguacu Falls . There you at once sit on the bus. Here we first go 500-700 meters before the special train. The grounds are large and clean. While going to the train all sorts of shopping arcades, cafes come across. I advise you to just buy water.
To the central station ( the first train stop ) 500-700 meters to go. Ecological train rides in the park. Ecological – because it runs on propane gas. Trains run every 15 minutes.
The train has two stations. The first is the beginning of the upper and lower hiking route. The second - station " Devil's Throat ". Also a hiking trail. At the first station all the people transfer to another train. On the way to shoot almost nothing ...
About 15 minutes and we're already at an intermediate station , which is called "Waterfalls " (Estasion Cataratas). The main purpose was to visit the Devil's Throat waterfall ( with the Argentine side ). So we got off the train and almost immediately moved to another. Trains run strictly every 15 minutes. Therefore, people were waiting for our train. Finish ecological train station is " Devil's Throat " (Garganta del Diablo) .
We must go on decking over the river 1 km or slightly more.
Extremely hot : sunscreen and water ! In the river and nearby there are large fishes and small turtles . Along the route there are several stops in the shade of trees . There are medical "brigades” as well. After passing on the flooring above the river there are places to rest in the shade. Leisurely walk about 15 minutes ...
In front of you fantastic view: origins of waterfall " Devil's Throat ". Observation deck is located almost directly above the waterfall Devil's Throat . Shoot quite difficult : water curtain or veil of fine spray.
All previous pictures Devil's Throat waterfall made here from this lookout . We liked that the entire journey from the station to the waterfall, there are places to rest in the shade. Medical teams are on duty there, it is not surprising for such heat. Well, here we are at the Devil's Throat station of the ecological train. There's everything for tourists. There is even a shower than I took. Surprisingly, the medical team said that tap water ( in the shower ) you can drink. There are cafes and shops with souvenirs.

My recommendations for travelers and photographers.

1. On the Argentine side of Iguacu Falls one day is not enough. Better to have two days and staying in a hotel near the national park. There are many hotels . For every budget .
2 . Ticket to the waterfalls can be bought only Argentine pesos . Ymust to have pesos advance or you will have to change them before entering the park.
3 . Very hot. Take plenty of water and do not spare the sun protection cream . Use long-sleeved shirts , long pants and be sure to protect your head from the sun .
4 . Photographers at the beginning of the route , I suggest the use of standard lenses , and the waterfall " Devil's Throat " need a wide angle lens . Take a special cloth for your lenses and cameras.

5  Thank VicColon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iguazu Falls also viewed

Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
Iguazu National Park, Province of Misiones
 

Been to Iguazu Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing