We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Amazing Iguassu Falls”
Review of Iguazu Falls

Iguazu Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.00*
and up
Full Day Tour to Iguazu Falls
More Info
$13.25*
and up
Parque das Aves Admission Ticket in Foz do Iguassu
More Info
$71.20*
and up
Iguassu Falls Day Tour from Puerto Iguazú with Waterfall Boat Ride
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Iguazu National Park was created in 1934, with approximately 67,620 hectares/167,091 acres was declared "Natural Heritage to the Humanity" by the UNESCO in 1984 due to its scenic beauties and to the great biological diversity of the subtropical forest. This natural sanctuary, was declareted new 7 wonder of the world in 11/11/11. The Iguazu Falls are located in the Argentina's northeaster corner, bestowed with benevolent rains and temperatures (15ºC/59°F average in Winter and 30ºC/ 86°F average in Summer) brings about a very humid atmosphere almost windless due to the leafy vegetation canopy. The Iguazu river has a total extension of 1320 km/ 820 miles until flowing into the Parana River, 23 km/ 14 miles after the waterfalls. Inside the National Park, the river widens to about 1500 meters/ 0.9 miles and turns south, next it turns north, in the shape of a wide "U" where the river mouth presents the abrupt slump of soil which conforms the cataratas: a magnificent waterfall. All along the above mentioned prominent curve, a proliferation of reefs, islets and prolonged islands provoke the fragmentation of the river in numerous branches. When the river reaches the cliff, each branch becomes a waterfall and together comprise the great Iguazu Waterfalls. The Iguazu Falls appear grandiose and majestic in the Misiones forest dazzling visitors from all over the world. In celebration of all this beauty and unique attraction as from July 2001, a new concept of ecological tourism has been implemented within the Iguazu National Park, with an investment of 25 million dollars and service and facilities according to the international tourist demands, prioritizing at the same time the Park's care and preservation, a sample of the Paranaense Subtropical Forest declared Natural Heritage to the Humanity" by the UNESCO in 1984. The fundamental objectives of this enterprise are the recover and conservation of the Waterfall Area, and the incentive to the present and future generations to renew the legendary admiration arisen by this wonderful masterpiece of nature. Today, our visitors can enjoy safe and modern walkways from start to finish of the impressive falls and the Upper and Lower Circuits and the Devil's Throat, and facilities according to the natural environment such as the new Visitor Center and the alternative transportation of the Ecological Forest Train, which complies with international policies of accessibility and preservation of the World Union for Nature Conservation.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The Amazing Iguassu Falls”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The most amazing sight - the falls in all their glory. The continuous roar as the water thunders down. Take lots of capacity on your camera card. Worth visiting the Argentinian side too to see Devils Throat and the opposing views but if you don't have time then go to the Brazilian side.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank marshatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,020 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,847
    951
    151
    47
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dyer, in
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Do it!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We visited both the Brazilian and Argentine side of the falls. We first did Argentina. This really gives you an up close look at the falls. The sights and sounds are incredible. Do all the trails available -- I would recommend starting with the lower falls as they are the most challenging with the stairs -- so easier to start on fresh legs. Then work your way up. Bring a change of clothing or buy a plastic poncho as you will get wet - but its worth it! We spend just about the whole day there and it was enough time. We did not do any additional tours, just all the falls trails. If you hold a USA passport please know that you will have to purchase a "visa" for 160USD prior to crossing the border (unless you already have one since they are good for 10 years at the moment). You can do that on line and print your receipt. We just took a taxi from the hotel in Brazil, and the taxi driver knew exactly what to do and where to go. It cost 180 reals for the 3 of us (drop off and pick up). Bring Argentine pesos, and bring a bug repellent. We are suffering from some bad bites.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank pinkpapuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Possibly the Best day Excursion I Have Experience”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Please don't read and look at photos of Iguazu. You just have to be there and experience this incredible national park. I spent 1 whole day here, and it will be one of the most memorable days in my life.
2 Tips - . Bring plenty of Argentine Pesos as credit card payments to enter the park are not accepted. Credit card payments are accepted once you enter the park to buy food, drinks, souvenirs and additional tours. Visit the Brazilian side of the falls, so spend at least 2 days here and appreciate how big and wonderful these falls can be

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“One of the wonders of the world”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We spent almost a day at the falls on the Argentinian side, travelling by truck, boat, train and mostly foot. The falls themselves are truly amazing from any perspective, but up close you can really get a feeling for the power. The boat trip to their base means that you get very wet as well as exhilarated and is worth the effort. We ended the day with an eco tour and we were fortunate to see two types of toucan and a cayman half out of the water. Go!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank bucharesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“amazing!!!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Iguazu Falls , Argentina side was absolutely beautiful, is tourist friendly,bilingual tour guides were very helpful and well organized, we were able to be very close to the falls and take amazing pictures,.The hotel were we stayed is close to the borders Brazil, Argentina and Paraguay,
The whole experience is unforgetful!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasRuthP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iguazu Falls also viewed

Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
 
Iguazu National Park, Province of Misiones
 

Been to Iguazu Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing