We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rustic chic, hard to get to, good meals”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Province of Misiones
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Bonita Guest House
Reviewed October 6, 2007

Posada la bonita is a stone structure over looking the jungle.
It has an shower and sink, the water is warmed with wood.

The bedding was a bit lumpy, but ok, did not keep me awake.

The hosts were attentive, gentle and quiet, but not very engaging.

It felt kind of like a five star refugio and a "jungle lodge" wanna be.

There was a deck with a chair and a hammock over looking the jungle. No steps on sides, so be careful to not walk off the edge.

The guest house provided good, simple, home cooked meals and plenty of it. there were nice rocks imbeded in the bathroom sturcture which let some light in. very nice touch.

The air was quite smoky and you could hear some dogs and roosters. The night sky was beautiful.

Our main goal was to go birding and it feel short for that purpose.
there was only one short trail which ended in a clearcut.
We did see some birds including toucans, hawks, and other song birds. The jungle sounds were incredible.

This Posada takes a long time to get to on a bumpy road. Allow plenty of time to get there.

For payment we suggest to pay in American Dollars. because the exchange rate they calculated was very high.

Overall It could be a positive experience for a night or two in a quiet and peaceful place with home cooked meals over a wood stove and looking at the jungle.

we booked directly with the lodge. Here is a movie I took.
[--]

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goCaspian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2006

This wilderness lodge, near Mocona Falls, has privacy, great food, but a quirky energy. All rooms are your own cabin, decorated, in what can only be described as rustic chic. Everything is made from local materials, woods. The bathrooms are beautiful and functional but not for everyone with no enclosure for the shower, (the entire bathrrom is tiled), and water heated by wood. The bedding was not great, with dampness and lumpiness prevailing. Each cabin has their own veranda with hammocks oveerlooking a wilderness ravine. The main lodge is rustic, with cooking done over a wood stove with local ingredients. The food was plentiful and incredibly good with lodge grown ingredients. Posada La bonita has its own waterfalls with swimming hole a short walk from the cabins. If you want paved access to your room and bleached clean surfaces this isn't for you, but if you like a unique experience with the feeling of being in the middle of nowhere this is your place! Access to the lodge is only by 4X4 or by prearranged transfer from el Soberbio.
Culture shock 4/5
Language shock 3/5
Food shock 2/5
Wallet Shock 3/5

2  Thank journey51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Mejores vistas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corlwth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flavia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxlubart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leopitle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank lguelman2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Province of Misiones
7.7 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,441 reviews
7.7 mi away
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
#2 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
319 reviews
9.3 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#8 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Melia Iguazu
Melia Iguazu
#1 of 1 in Iguazu National Park
3,153 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
#1 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
4,144 reviews
96.5 mi away
Puerto Mineral Hotel & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bonita Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bonita Guest House

Address: Saltos de Mocona, El Soberbio | Misiones, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Province of Misiones
Also Known As:
La Bonita Guest House Argentina/Misiones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing