We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hostel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Province of Misiones
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karadya Birding Lodge and Reserve
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Watertown, Massachusetts, United States
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely hostel”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a really gorgeous and quiet place, run by two committed biologists, Julian and Liliana. They bought the land a few years ago and have focused on reforesting some of the area that had been cut. They are building a new lodge which will be great when it opens, which is scheduled to be about a year. In the meantime, the hostel is very nice--is along the main road, and is quiet and comfortable. My main interest in a three day stay was birding, and we saw over 165 species, including many of the local specialties. There are a number of very nice trails which go through the main part of the reserve. It is quiet here compared to the Iguazu area, and I'd highly recommend a visit for anyone wanting to see the Atlantic forest and some of its specialties. Seeing displaying Swallow-tailed Manakins was especially spectacular.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbates509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
12
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

What better people to own and run a property trying to conserve this disappearing forest area than two Biologists!

I travelled to the Lodge on my own during late August 2012. Having birded quite heavily in the surrounding forests for a week, I wasn't expecting to see many new species. I tagged along with Julian and some well known professional photographers and was proved completely wrong!

Besides having an intimate knowledge of the surroundings, Julian was also a very friendly guide. His knowledge of calls and typical bird localities is almost absolute. He asked what species I was missing and quite nonchalantly nodded his head and said, 'no problem' - and then delivered too! I ended up staying an extra night.

The hostel itself is very comfortable with excellent facilities. More cutlery and crockery than half the hostels I have stayed at combined. You could cook just about anything you fancied. There are heater in every room should the need arise as well as a very cosy fireplace. Comfortable deck with hammocks for lazy evenings or a midday siesta.

The new lodge is going up at present and looks as though it will be a fantastic addition to the property.

My only regret is not having stayed longer. I didn't meet Luciana, but expect she is just as good as Julian. Somewhere I will most definitely be returning in order to see my remaining Atlantic Forest birds.

Take a bow Julian - one of the best guides I have met in my travels around the world so far.

Room Tip: Spend at least 2-3 days being guided by Julian on the property and even as many days getting him to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaytonBurne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guldborg, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

A well built cosy hostel with top modern bathrooms provides perfect housing for great adventures in a hotspot of the Misiones nature. Nice trails give access to a large variety of biotopes and the birding is extraordinary. The biologists Julián and Luciana have a great knowledge of all sides of this eco system and provide top nature guiding in the area. Soon a new platform will give access to even better birding and photography in tree top level of the prime forest.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

I spent four nights at this hostel and it was one of the highlights of my three month trip to Argentina. Julian and Luciana were fabulous hosts, the hostel was well equipped with new beds, great showers and a very functional kitchen. I LOVED staying here and did not want to leave. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheryl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We have been some days in Karadya in the company of Luciana and Julian her husband. The place is amazing and we were happy to share with them all their knowledge about the jungle. All this with the company of their three labradors, specially Muffasa and Afrodita.

Take your time to stay with them if you come to the falls, very easy to arrive from Puerto Iguazu, take the road crossing the jungle before arriving to the airport you will not regret this experience:

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LorenaBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Province of Misiones hotels
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Posada Rio Tala
#1 of 1 in San Pedro
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residencial Lilian
Residencial Lilian
#33 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Puerto Mineral Hotel & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Casona Rural Km 1469
#1 of 6 in Puerto Rico
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residencial Azaleas Place
Residencial Azaleas Place
#20 of 52 in Puerto Iguazu
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Puerto Canoas
Puerto Canoas
#43 of 52 in Puerto Iguazu
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karadya Birding Lodge and Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karadya Birding Lodge and Reserve

Property: Karadya Birding Lodge and Reserve
Address: Ruta Nacional 101 Km 68 | Andresito, 3370, Argentina (Formerly Karadya)
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 247 Specialty Lodging in Province of Misiones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the authentic Atlantic forest in the Karadya Bio-reserve, only 80 kilometers from the Iguazu Falls in Argentina. Directed by experienced biologists, the reserve has trails designed to maximize your encounter with the flora and fauna of one of the last fragments of the Atlantic forest. We promote the sustainable use of resources and we work closely with local producers who carry out responsible agriculture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Karadya Birding Lodge And Reserve Argentina/Misiones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing