We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Cowboy, but it wont dissappoint.”

Grand Canyon Ranch - Day Tours
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
284 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Very Cowboy, but it wont dissappoint.”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We brought a day tour from the street in Vegas and were picked up at 6.30am by a third party. Our Driver, Jim, was prompt and friendly. After stopping off at the office and paying we drove to the Hoover dam for a stop. They only take 10 passengers but only 5 of us on the tour that day. After Hoover dam we drove to the Grand Canyon Ranch, stopping again at a service station for the toilet and refreshments. The drive out was scenic and Great to pass homes and Joshua Trees. At the Ranch we discovered you could stay there in small cabin or Tee pee if you wanted. We payed for a Horse drawn wagon ride where all proceeds went towards buying ore Buffalo to boost herd numbers. The wagon too us to the Helicopter's for a 15min ride out and over the Grand Canyon. I though the helicopter looked old but it got us there and back in 1 piece. I couldn't understand the pilots commentary too well thru the head phones. Worth paying the extra for the wagon ride, kids would love it. You also get a horse roping display. Back to the ranch for Lunch which was ribs with Hickory sauce, corn on the cob, beans. The tour is not cheap but you do get a lot for your money and the man that runs the place, sings and plays guitar as you eat lunch. He is funny and charming. It would of been fun to stay the night in a tee pee and have a sing along at night around the fire. You can drive past this place and stop for lunch, helicopter etc you don't need to be part of a tour. Kids would love it and worth it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fee70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    4
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good fun”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

we had a good time, we got picked up at 6.30am we were advised we would get breakfast but didn't. the tour guide Lynda had some really great stories and had a lot of knowledge she was really good.
we were disappointed with the lady we booked with at CVS on the strip, she said we would get breakfast and we didn't, she said we would be back by 2 and we got back after 4pm, having booked another tour at 4.30 we almost missed it. in the rush we left our camera on the tour bus and after a week of calling the ranch and begging them, they finally posted it.
the ranch was fun, the food was good and the helicopter ride is well worth it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank fraz09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
“My fiancé and loved it!!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I don't know if this heading is referred to the day tour from Las Vegas to the Grand Canyon ranch with horseback and helicopter ride. But that's what we took from the strip and it was fantastic!! Josh the tour guide was great, very informative and fun!! The whole day was a blast!! I would recommend this to anyone and would do it again in a heartbeat!! Probably one of the best tours we done off the strip!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlesincharge16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland GA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Real Cowboys retreat”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We were greeted by one of the friendliest Cowboys in AZ, Casey Adams, who manages this working ranch and plays a mean six string guitar. Not only can you have a great meal but he will serenade you throughout you supper.
Casey is the perfect host and a bountiful supply of songs upon request. He had us singing around the campfire to songs ranging from Beatles to George Jones. Joe another cowboy also gave the guitar a pick for a while and both these guys really made everyone feel right at home.
Good advice to forgo the Sky walk and opt for a helicopter ride from the ranch. Wish we could have stayed longer but this was the highlight of the week.
Accommodations were comfortable and fit right in to the ranch theme. Try it you will love it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank eyedoc1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A place to chill out”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

No phones / internet / TV - did this as part of a multi-location and cruise package, with the helicopter ride thrown is as well.
2 hours from Vegas by bus - however a lucky few came out by 'chopper' as the bus was full.
Nothing on the ranch with regards to amenities - no pool / hot tub etc. just 'trips' that cost you if you want to do them (horse riding / chuck wagon riding).
Whilst the 'ranch' advertises itself as a 'working ranch' - you see no cows / working horses (apart from those for hire) and when we wandered around we were asked to go back to the huts and stay away from the 'working areas'
The nightly camp songs etc. were very good - but take a jumper as it gets quite chilly on a night time in Autumn - and you can come away smelling of smoke - especially if you are downwind of the fire.
Casey (and his band of wandering minstrels) try very hard to keep the guests amused - and his knowledge of the song lyrics is very good - across a whole style of music titles.
It can feel a bit contrived at times - with quite a 'patronising style' being adopted by the 'cowboys' - watching some of these practising their skills (lariat) etc - makes me wonder who is teaching who?
There is a firing range who sub out an area on the ranch - this got high reviews from those who used it.
The ranch owner (Brit) visited whilst we were there - and he is still licking his wounds over his recent (winning) run in with the native Indians and their attempts to put in a private road to access the SkyWalk which is about 9 miles away.
It is a shame that the 2 x parties cannot get together on this - as it should / could be mutually beneficial and a great place to go and watch the sun set / rise.
You can go to the Sky Walk - but it is $40 to get onto the 'Reservation' $35 to step onto the Sky Walk and $35 to have a photo taken (cameras not allowed!!)
The cabins are very comfortable - but I did not fancy using a tepee - very basic at best, securing the cabins & tepee could be a problem and that should be considered as there are no safes / security lights and the whole area is in pitch darkness when the sun goes down.
That said, WE personally did NOT have any security problems - but it should be borne in mind.........
The included Canyon flight was very good (our 2nd time) but a bit short in length, the running commentary gives the present owner 'glowing tributes' over his ownership and running of the ranch - which seems fair enough.
It is to be remembered that if the bus has luggage on board then it is not allowed to do the Hoover Dam stay.
The organisational side of the attraction does leave a bit to be desired - with people trying to do too much with too little / make the ranch into something that it is not.
Casey is a star attraction - a plus for any employer - and I am sure he affects many of the reviews.
Would I stay here again?......doubtful....I enjoyed it.......but would probably try somewhere new with more activities / facilities on site - I don't want a theme park - but neither do I want a morgue!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Canyon Ranch - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Grand Canyon Ranch - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing