We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and cosy family run inn”
Review of Suter Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Suter Petit Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in San Rafael
Certificate of Excellence
Saanenmoser, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant and cosy family run inn”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had to stay somewhere for the night in San Rafael, as our usual hotel of choice was full. Having looked around we found the Petit Hotel, and were warmly welcomed, late at night, by the friendly owners. The rooms look out over pretty gardens in a pleasant tree lined part of town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrickaisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    46
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
90
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

When you are looking for the hotel you have to watch carefully. We missed the entrance twice. The hotel is located a little bit outside the center of San Rafael. Nevertheless you can reach some good restaurants by foot. But you will need around 10 to 15 minutes. That was no problem as we like to take a walk after dinner. But for the city center you need around 30 minutes by foot and 10 minutes by car.
However the hotel is just fantastic. Big very clean rooms, a nice garden with a pool and wonderful friendly and helpful hosts. We felt almost at home from the first second on. We really loved it and can’t imagine that there could be a better place in San Rafael.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueeye-ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aracaju, SE
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

1) Very friendly owners / hosts: Carlos Suter and Maria Paz;
2) Large, clean and cosy room;
3) Beautiful garden;
4) This hotel is conveniently located, relatively near of two good restaurants: Franccesco and La Fusta 2.

Room Tip: Book a room at the back, preferentially suite Álamo. It is less noisy. We had booked Gran Suite Oli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hv60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Probably the best place we stayed in Argentina. We spent five extremely enjoyable, comfortable and relaxing days at Suter Petit Hotel. The rooms are large, comfortable, very well equipped and spotlessly clean. Carlos and Maria Paz are charming and very welcoming hosts and a great source of information on San Rafael and the area. Their two dogs are incredibly friendly, very well behaved and great entertainment! The gardens and pool are wonderful and each room also has a small private terrace overlooking the gardens complete with table and chairs. Breakfasts were excellent including fresh fruit and juice. We did not have a car but did not find that the hotel was too far out. A flat and shaded 20 minute walk will take you to a number of very good restaurants, bars and cafes, including Delicias, an amazing ice cream parlour. We also walked into the city centre from the hotel, but cheap taxis are also available.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The secluded hotel is conveniently located off the main road from San Rafael airport to downtown. The hacienda-like building has several standard suites and 2 large suites facing the large garden. It all has an air of relaxation and peacefulness around it.
Our standard suite was clean and basic, with a large and comfortable king-size bed. The small outside patio in front of the room is equipped with 2 relax-chairs and faces the small pool and garden.
The hotel has no restaurant, but small snacks and drinks are available. Buffet-breakfast is included in the room-price.
The owner of th hotel and the few other staff are very helpful and give the establishment a feeling of being "at home".

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portalban (Switzerland)
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We spent four nights in a suite at Suter Petit Hotel. That hotel is a perfect place to stay in San Rafael. The room was large and absolutely clean, towels smooth and the bed king size. View over the garden (see picture). Generous breakfasts. Clean water in the (relatively shallow) swimming pool. Two friendly and well educated dogs. Apparently, the area is void of mosquitos and we did not see or heard a single one during our stay at Suter Petit Hotel while sleeping with open windows.
The owner is a descendant from a Swiss family - the Suter - who emigrated to Argentina at the end of the 19th century for wine making ; they still own a winery situated not far from the hotel. The hotel management is in the hands of a very friendly local couple who saved no effort in making our stay comfortable. For instance, as there is no on-site restaurant, they allowed us to bring food to eat on our terrace and even provided tablecloth and wine glasses for our meals.
There is a nice and relatively cheap restaurant named "Villa Bonita" situated at the end of the holiday resort "Villa 25 de Mayo" when driving away from San Rafael towards "Los Reyunos". The roundtrip to the "Cañon del Atuel" is worth the drive and interesting. It takes nearly a full day. Do not expect anything comparable to the Colorado Grand Canyon in the US, but you can drive (dirt road, sometimes quite rough) along the bottom of the canyon. There are several unusual geological features to observe (photos) as well as a spectacular overview of the reservoir at "Valle Grande" (photo).
A final note: do not trust the location of Suter Petit Hotel as indicated by Google Maps. It is wrong. In fact, the hotel is at least two km out of town on the left side of an avenue of plane trees (photo) extending Hipolito Irigoyen street (ruta 143) in the direction of the airport and San Carlos.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claude-George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in this very pleasant little hotel. The rooms are large and comfortable and everywhere is kept very clean. The breakfast had a good selection of cold dishes but nothing hot except for toast, tea and coffee. There is no restaurant but the owner allowed us to eat our take-away pizzas in the dining room one night.

The hotel is about 2kms out of town so if you do not have your own transport this might be a problem. We had a hire car from Alamo (good value and recommended – booked through Argus Cars) and we could park our car under a carport in the grounds of the hotel.

Hotel owners are very friendly and most accommodating; my husband broke his arm and they found plenty of pillows to help him have a more comfortable night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jmfcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Rafael hotels
1.6 mi away
Tower Inn & Suites San Rafael
6.3 mi away
Algodon Wine Estates & Champions Club
1.6 mi away
Apart Hotel Vecchia Terra
Apart Hotel Vecchia Terra
#5 of 20 in San Rafael
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tierra Mora Hotel Boutique & Apartments
2.2 mi away
San Martin Hotel and Spa
San Martin Hotel and Spa
#7 of 20 in San Rafael
259 reviews
25.7 mi away
Cabanas del Sol
Cabanas del Sol
#4 of 20 in San Rafael
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suter Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suter Petit Hotel

Property: Suter Petit Hotel
Address: Avenida Pte H Yrigoyen 3003, San Rafael M5602HDF, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > San Rafael
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Rafael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suter Petit Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suter Petit Hotel located at the entrance to San Rafael, close to the airport and very close to the city. A beautiful tunnel of trees as a path leading to the entrance of our Small Grand Hotel.There are 10 Suites which offers Suter Petit Hotel, all overlooking the park of old poplars, eucalyptus and olive trees are sanctuaries perfect: warm, spacious and bright. The rooms are successor den along an extensive gallery showing the park showcasing a large pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Suter Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suter Petit Hotel San Rafael, Argentina - Province Of Mendoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing