We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a little slice of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Carmelita Hotel Rural
Ranked #4 of 49 San Rafael B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a little slice of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Carmelita for 4 nights, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves on the estate.

Besides the beauty of the land with vines, olive trees and plum trees, Nicole, the owner, made the stay even better.

She painstakingly gave us directions and recommendations every night, graciously sharing her kitchen when I fell ill and couldn't stomach another parilla dinner, besides arranging a horse ride for the novice rider that is me.

The rooms were clean and well maintained, and the back patio opened to a stunning sunset over the Andes in the distance.

It helps to have a car to go around the area, but otherwise, our stay at Carmelita remains one of the highlights of our three weeks in Argentina.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YiLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
53
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
263 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We enjoyed our three night stay at Finca De La Carmelita, a high end rural 8 room hotel, with well marked directions just outside of San Rafael, a short 10-15 minute drive to the city center. The hotel is off of Route 143, just past the airport. Unlike bike/wine tours in Mendoza, in which one rides on the shoulder of the streets or highways, one can enjoy bike/wine tours of San Rafael, on a dedicated, paved recreation path, oven canopied under mature shade trees.

Our room had a double/queen bed, a single bed, and a bathroom with plenty of hot water. The homemade breakfasts that Nicole (the owner) and Manuela made were fantastic, including not only the standard European breakfast of coffee, tea, bread, meat, cheese and yogurt but homemade fruit tarts and fruit drinks fresh from their farm. Best of all, unlike staying in the City of San Rafael, staying in Finca De La Carmelita has the added benefit of enjoying breakfast (and dinner) with unobstructed views of the snowcapped mountains. The tarts and fruit drinks were world class!

Being Swiss, Nicole, her parents Hugo and Carmen, and her friend Manuela, easily switched from English to French to German to Spanish depending on the guest.

As our daughter is a “local”, she had us visiting places that many Europeans or Americans wouldn’t know where to venture such as canyons, rivers and lakes. While our day trips with her were wonderful, regretfully, we left La Carmelita at 10 AM in the morning and did not return until 12:30 AM every morning, since just hanging out at the Finca De La Carmelita (with its manicured grounds, pool, dogs, cats, horses, llamas, orchards et al) would be relaxing. Plus it has a quality Wifi network which was enjoyed by all.

We highly recommend Finca De La Carmelita. The owners, Nicole, Hugo and Carmen and their on-site friend Manuela couldn’t be lovelier. We brought dollars and received a nice discount off the room price. Plus Nicole can recommend boutique Bodegas (vineyards) versus multi-national, corporate vineyards.

For more information, read the reviews of Hotel Argentino (Mendoza), B&B Plaza Italia (Mendoza)), Monte Coiron (Malargue) and Silver Cord B&B (Potrerillos). Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalVillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nicole and her staff is giving excellent service to their customers. The rooms are spacious for a hotel, with a nice patio overlooking the Andes. Breakfast is personally made for each guest and at the time you indicate the night before.
The hotel is off the city center, quiet and gives you views at night of start skies that you rarely see.

One of the nicest places you can stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank investprop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The perfect setting at the feet of the Andes. You arrive and you are welcomed like if you would be returning home. We (2 adults and two children) stayed at La Carmelita for 7 nights. The rooms are comfortable and clean and offer a wonderful view over farmland to the mountain cain of the Andes. Service to the guest is Nicole's number one priority - what ever you need she will happily assist you in getting it - from ideas what to do in and around San Rafael, to eating arrangements (at the finca or outside), to a rental car, ...

Event though due to the time of the year we traveled, we could not use the swimming pool, our two boys enjoyed very much the big garden, the dogs, cats and all the other animals around the house. La Carmelita is also very conveniently located to all the attractions in the area of San Rafael.

Hopefully, we will soon have another opportunity to visit La Carmelita for another relaxed family holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuttaKopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Córdoba, Argentina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent 4 unforgetable nights at Finca La Carmelita. The place is simply amazing... Surrounded by a vineyard, plum trees, with the Cordillera looking at you in the rear window!
Nicole, the owner, is absolutely attentive, straightforward and for sure will be more than happy to assist you with every little thing you may require!
We ate a delicious home made Fondue, just another perfect excuse to stay here!
So, if you are planning to visit San Rafael, dont hesitate and head directly to La Carmelita.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed at Finca La Carmelita for three nights mid way through our Brazil and Argentina honeymoon.

It was a wonderful place to stay and our host Nicole made us feel at home from the moment we arrived and brought us a glass of wine from a local vineyard while we sat out in the sun. The setting is perfect, surrounded by orchards and vineyards and set against the stunning backdrop of the Andes. The Finca itself was welcoming and very comfortable, the food delicious (try Nicole’s special Fondue!) and we loved pottering around in the house, which was full of treasures that Nicole had collected on her world travels.

The rooms were clean comfortable and, despite it being winter, warm. Every room has uninterrupted views across the orchards to the Andes and a terrace to enjoy the view from.

One of the highlights of our honeymoon was the afternoon that we spent with Nicole and friends enjoying a traditional Argentinian Parilla, Fernet and great company, followed by an exhilarating horse ride. Thanks for making our stay so memorable!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

In case you don't want to read a long review, let me just say this: if you are considering staying at the La Carmelita, just do it. It's clean, comfortable, well-organized, friendly. Done.

If you'd like more information, here it is. My family stayed at the La Carmelita for three nights in late December, 2011. In researching the area I chose a couple places to stay because of their good reviews on TA. They both sounded great but the reason I chose La Carmelita was because of Nicole, the owner. She responded to every one of my emails promptly and with courtesy and humor. It was a very good decision.

For me, it was difficult to plan a trip to San Rafael because I don't speak Spanish and many of the local businesses aren't functioning online in English. Nicole offered to help me and offered a list of fun activities we could do with our boys, ages 12 and 13. We picked a few and Nicole set it all up for us. It all sounds simple enough; it wasn't. It was a ton of work for her. One company was closed the day we wanted to be there, one wanted a bank transfer as a deposit which was very difficult for me, etc., etc. But Nicole interceded for us and it all worked out. If you are interested in the activities, I'll include them at the end.

Now about the finca itself. In my opinion, the photos couldn't do it justice. What you can't see is the tranquility or how truly beautiful it is. There is a main house and two guest room buildings. Each of the rooms has a covered back and front porch with a view of the mountains in the distance and Nicole's orchard and vineyards. Late one afternoon, we sat on our porch and watched a storm come in. Amazingly beautiful. There are many amazing varieties of birds - burrowing owls, scissor tail swallows, some variety of acipitor that walks around on the paths and patrols the grounds. Breakfast is served on the porch of the main house, and was typically coffee, OJ, good warm bread, home made jams, ham, cheese and yogurt. Nicole will keep other drinks in the fridge for you.

A couple other notes: Manuela is a woman who worked at the finca while we were there. You couldn't ask for a nicer person to spend time with. In addition to everything else, she took us out to ride Nicole's horses one morning and let me tag along to feed the animals one afternoon. Gustavo is Nicole's partner and we really enjoyed spending time with him also.

A huge plus for me are the animals at the finca. The horses are great. They are real horses, not tired trail horses, and they each have a lot of personality. There are also geese, chickens and hilarious young llamas. But the stars of the show are the dogs. I think Nicole only has 3, but others seem to show up..

Here are activities and restaurants we loved:
Actives:
River rafting with SportStar rafting
Sand Dunes with Bruni Aventuas: place it in your budget, do it.
Horse riding at La Carmelita: loved it.
RESTAURANTS:
Francesco- fine dining
Algodon

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Rafael hotels
6.0 mi away
Tower Inn & Suites San Rafael
4.5 mi away
Suter Petit Hotel
Suter Petit Hotel
#3 of 20 in San Rafael
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
6.3 mi away
Algodon Wine Estates & Champions Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Complejo Puesta del Sol
Complejo Puesta del Sol
#19 of 20 in San Rafael
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
16.5 mi away
Cabanas del Cerro
Cabanas del Cerro
#3 of 125 in San Rafael
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
4.8 mi away
Colorina Hotel y Spa
Colorina Hotel y Spa
#71 of 125 in San Rafael
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Carmelita Hotel Rural? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Carmelita Hotel Rural

Property: La Carmelita Hotel Rural
Address: Carmona 2500 | Las Paredes, San Rafael 5601, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > San Rafael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in San Rafael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
country house hotel on a working farm. 10min outside of town. very calm with superbe view over the andes. swiss owners are personally taking care of the guests. big rooms with privat bathroom, tv, air condicion (warm/cool) and terrace with good view. visit the farm and their plum-, olive and walnut trees and cabernet sauvignon grapes and our horses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Carmelita Hotel Rural reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Carmelita Hotel Rural San Rafael, Argentina - Province Of Mendoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing