We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Bonarda Country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Algodon Wine Estates & Champions Club
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in San Rafael
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2011

I had the pleasure of spending three days and two nights at Algodon Wine Estates in May 2011. The furor of Vendimia had already passed, and Mendoza had shifted into a decidedly more relaxed state...definitely the words to describe the Wine Estates. If you've never been to this corner of Mendoza, you will be amazed by the towering alamos and the amazing views of the Sierra Pintadas. Once you enter the front gate of the Wine Estates, you know you are in a special place: acres of vineyards, beautiful architecture, a challenging golf course, first-class tennis complex and a wonderful restaurant where we enjoyed delicious breakfasts and dinners accompanied with Algodon's award-winning wines. A tour of the Winery was another highlight and we enjoyed commuting back-and-forth from the Lodge to the Restaurant on the golf carts. The staff are all very kind and professional, and we were sad to leave after three days of total RnR. Already making plans for a return visit later this year.

Room Tip: All of the rooms in the Lodge are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 152 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2011

The hotel, really 2 small, beautiful lodges, is located away from town and is a destination in and of itself. The decor is a blend of modern yet rustic luxury, similar to what I would have expected to find in a Colorado or Alaska spa. The grounds are well maintained featuring manicured lawns, a pool, and vineyards where they grow some of the amazing wines that the boutique winery of the same name makes (The Shiraz blend is incredible). And then there is the golf course that I of course did not play. What I did do is eat and drink and the on site restaurant is truly one of the best I've ever dined in. Really one of the top 5 meals of my life. In any case, this place is a good base for exploring the Rio Atuel, the surrounding areas, and just relaxing. It's a bit far from town but nothing a cheap cab can't handle in 15 minutes. And honestly, though I love to see the towns everywhere I go and though the people of San Rafael are truly sweet, good people, the beauty of San Rafael is the countryside. Base yourself at Algodon and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferndalemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in December 2010. It was not easy to find, but once there we had a great time - very attentive staff, laidback atmosphere, great service. The landscape is restful and the pool is exactly the right size and temperature. The food stands out - truly amazing. And when we had to leave early on our final day, the hotel offered to bring us breakfast in our room at 6am.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dutchmaninbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Algodon is a wonderful place to go for some great R&R in kind of what seems like the middle of nowhere. San Rafael is close and there is an airport, but it is not about going into town. Algodon is about relaxing on the grounds: golf, tennis, swim, massage, eat, drink and of course sleep. The place is lovely, staff wonderful, food and wine great. If you want to be in Mendoza or are a finicky golfer, this is not the place for you (it is far from Mendoza and the golf course is not top notch.) However, if you want a relaxing, comfortable, impeccably clean place to stay with a wonderful staff and no touristy vibe at all you cannot beat Algodon. Amazing place and amazing value. We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agent007sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

My wife and I spent 2 great days at Algodon in late September 2010 (early spring for Argentina) so the wine vines were still dormant and the many trees were just starting to come alive. And our first day was very cold including a massive hail storm in the evening.
Notwithstanding the earliness of the season for Algodon, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend Algodon for the following reasons:
- the grounds with the expansive vineyards are impressive, and we imagined how beautiful it must be during the height of the late spring and summer season
- the hotel is very modern in style and decor
- room was large with a very comfortable bed, nice outdoor patio
- breakfasts were excellent as were our lunches and dinners there - we didn't leave the property for our 2 day stay
- their wines were very good and very reasonably priced, esp, their Chardonnay and Malbec. We purchased a few bottles to take with us
- staff very friendly with excellent service
- I enjoyed the golf course but with a few caveats - the fairways and tee boxes were not in the best of shape, greens were very good though; rental clubs are a bit on the ancient side; but on a sunny day, playing amongst the vineyards and with distant views of the Andes, a super way to get some exercise.....and then enjoy a fine lunch and some wine at the clubhouse restaurant sitting on the outdoor patio

After spending a week + touring, flying and driving and surviving BA taxi rides, Algodon is a great place to spend a few days just chilling and relaxing.

Advice to fellow travellers. We rented a car and drove to Algodon from Mendoza. The drive is very straightforward but it is not the most scenic drive, esp, if the Andes are hidden behind clouds. Make sure you have some good music to listen to for the 3+ hour drive.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RK502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Lovely place, lovlier people! We fell in love with the area, the people & the wine. The food was excellent, the service always wonderful & the accomodations lovely. We barely left the grounds of Algodon for the 3 days we were there--we felt as tho we'd already found the best in the area. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanie327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

I highly recommend Algodon Wine Estates. We came on the Honeymoon special, which included 3 nights, daily breakfast, one dinner, horseback riding, wine tasting, in-room massage, and a spa day with lunch - maybe even more. The service was great - there is always someone in the lobby who speaks English, and they will call you cabs, recommend restaurants, etc. The restaurant on the estate was amazing - interesting gourmet food, and fairly cheap. Breakfast, either delivered to your room or in the restaurant was also great. Wine was also good - try the Chardonnay Reserva on a hot day, or the Gran Reserva any other time. The estate is expanding, so go soon before it gets more expensive - it was really an amazing deal at the end of 2009. Only thing I didn't like was the town - San Rafael is not worth venturing out into.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLMEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Rafael hotels
7.4 mi away
Tower Inn & Suites San Rafael
6 mi away
Complejo Puesta del Sol
Complejo Puesta del Sol
#18 of 20 in San Rafael
71 reviews
6.2 mi away
Suter Petit Hotel
Suter Petit Hotel
#3 of 20 in San Rafael
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Apart Hotel Vecchia Terra
Apart Hotel Vecchia Terra
#5 of 20 in San Rafael
149 reviews
20.5 mi away
Cabanas del Sol
Cabanas del Sol
#4 of 20 in San Rafael
93 reviews
8.1 mi away
San Martin Hotel and Spa
San Martin Hotel and Spa
#7 of 20 in San Rafael
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algodon Wine Estates & Champions Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algodon Wine Estates & Champions Club

Address: Ruta Nacional 144 Km 674, San Rafael 5603, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > San Rafael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Rafael
Price Range: $159 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Algodon Wine Estates & Champions Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Algodon Wine Estates is a family-friendly luxury vineyard estate nestled in the southern heart of Mendoza, along the Argentina Wine Route. Guests will enjoy guided winery tours & tastings, internationally award-winning accommodations, the finest traditional Argentine cuisine, championship tennis facilities and a championship golf course that literally plays through vineyards. Appealing to wine and sports lovers alike, the estate also features access to exciting local excursions including rafting, skiing, horseback riding, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Algodon Wine Estates & Champions Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algodon Wine Estates And Champions Club
Algodon Wine Estates & Champions Club Hotel San Rafael
Algodon Wine Estates & Champions Club San Rafael, Argentina - Province Of Mendoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing