We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do with improvement”
Review of Azafran

Azafran
Ranked #9 of 629 Restaurants in Mendoza
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Having visited Argentina before and sampled a large selection of dishes and wines, I was disappointed with this restaurant. The owner is keen to place people outside the restaurant to draw in customers rather than encouraging people to sit where they want. We booked a table through the hotel we were staying at and on arrival at the restaurant we were told that we could only sit outside. This was disappointing but when we explained that we weren't told that when we booked we were reluctantly and stroppily seated inside. We then had to wait ages for someone to attend the table but the waitress service was good. The sommelier was more interested in serving his clients in the wine area than attending the customers in the restaurant and he was rude and patronising. The food was average. Overall the restaurant is satisfactory but Ocho cepas is far better and more sophisticated than this tourist trap restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank somebod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azafranmza, Gerente at Azafran, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

We regret that your visit to Azafrán wasn´t satisfactory, however, we appreciate your time to write your comments. We`ll consider your suggestions for future improvements. We hope to receive you again to change your perception of Azafrán.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 546 of 3,821 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

Our Mendoza City Tour guide recommended Azafrán and I'm so grateful to her!! The decor is so charming you feel right comfortable just walking in the door. The service in warm and helpful. Marvelous meat and wine, and the dulce de leche ice cream is over the top! Everything beautifully plated and served. I'd go back in a heartbeat!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azafranmza, Gerente at Azafran, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

We appreciate your nice comments. It´s a pleasure for us to know you had a good time in Azafrán We would be very happy to say: See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Tried (?) to dine on a Thursday evening--my table had a side table like all others, but, it was in such a location that every server or patron passing by bumped it. It was sort of a contest to see who could get by without rocking my bread, water, etc. On entering the place, I got the feeling of grunge. The bread basket was good--had to ask for olive oil. Ordered my favorite starter: Carpaccio. NEVER saw one that bad. The Veal slices were dark brown & looked & smelled awful. Ate the Arugula & cheese--but, neither were fresh. Waiter couldn't care less. Had a bottle of Bonarda recommended by sommelier--very tannic & barnyard odor. It's now 10 pm & I'm praying main course will be OK--prayers unanswered. I ordered a Filet Mignon medium rare, sauce on the side. Of course in this dump it came out with the sauce & had to go back. The steak was well done & tough as steel. Had to beg for a steak knife, which didn't help much. No pepper mill available--pepper shaker had NO pepper in it. Grilled polenta hard as concrete. Couldn't wait to escape! Waiter's remedy to my malady was to offer a free dessert! I wasn't about to find out what that would be like!! Went to an ice cream shop & had dinner!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jmurrayolympic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azafranmza, Gerente at Azafran, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

We deeply regret the inconvenience suffered, anyway appreciate your time to write reviews. We are very interested to know what has reviewed each of our clients. We will consider your comments for future improvements. We hope to welcome you again to change your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

fantastic lunch deal, good wine, organic food, a REAL salad and I was never ever rushed as i lingered away the afternoon. Fabulous!

Thank alisonyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azafranmza, Gerente at Azafran, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback! Here at Azafrán, we love to make our customers feel good! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

It was the bread...all different kinds of bread and buns that made me fall in love with this little place. Oh, the food was to die for too, but the bread...on the next street over from the Diplomatic Hotel.

Thank ICanTravelPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azafranmza, Gerente at Azafran, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Azafrán, our bread is famous because all our customers love it. We hope to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azafran also viewed

Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 

Been to Azafran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing