We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT FOOD”
Review of Azafran

Azafran
Ranked #15 of 586 Restaurants in Mendoza
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Gijon, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FOOD”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Good choice form some friends in Mendoza. It has a great ambiance for friendly and calm dinners. Good choices of wines and dishes well presented. I`d rather eat less than i ate that night but i can not say that it is not good food....it is a good place to enjoy a good meal. The service was fine, maybe too much people to be aware of all details but at the enda they could manage everything in terms of time and service. I will probably repeat the experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raula998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azafranmza, Gerente at Azafran, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Your review is very much appreciated. We will be happy tou have you with us any time so you can enjoy the experience of Azafrán again. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,962
    933
    328
    123
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
502 reviews
392 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

On a busy Father's Day lunch time sitting, a fabulous staff member found me a table. The start of a great experience of food, service, wines & atmosphere. Do not miss the opportunity to eat here! It is amazing!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gloria Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azafranmza, Gerente at Azafran, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking you time and make us a review. Fathers Day is a very busy day in Mendoza so we wanted erevybody to feel comfortable, we are very happy you had a nice experience in Azafran. We are waiting for you any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner to top off a day of wine tasting”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

After a long day of wine tasting with a private guide, we were dropped off at our hotel, the Park Hyatt, just 2 or 3 blocks away. Our guide, who had brought us to some great wineries, recommended Azafran as a good choice for dinner within walking distance. We got there early on a Tuesday evening during Mendoza's low season. The restaurant was still empty when we arrived and we hadn't even thought about making a reservation. Happily, they were able to give us a table as within half an hour the restaurant became absolutely packed, including a couple of very large groups.

The dishes were well prepared and presented very artistically. Even though we are on a low carb diet, we couldn't resist sampling the wonderful breads they served. It's also always a nice surprise when an amuse bouche suddenly appears.

Service was good despite being at capacity, probably because we were assisted by multiple wait staff. Halfway through our meal, another couple whom we had met at a boutique hotel we stayed at in Buenos Aires arrived and were seated at the table across from us. Knowing that they always did their research in advance on TA, we knew this must have been one of the better restaurants in town. Further confirmation came when we walked back to our hotel - every other restaurant along the way was empty while Azafran was still full.

Overall, we really enjoyed our meal. You would be wise to make a reservation if you want to dine here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank castriker888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azafranmza, Gerente at Azafran, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are very happy you enjoy you meal in Azafrán. We try to create a warm and quiet enviroment so you can enjoy your time in our restaurant. Thank you very much for you opinion, we hope to have you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“For a nice night out”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Delicious! Unique dishes and excellent service--feels very intimate. One note--to have wine with dinner, you must purchase a bottle from their on-site wine shop. However, guests are permitted to bring their own bottles to enjoy--a useful tip!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JTravelsW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azafranmza, Gerente at Azafran, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for describing our food as "Delicious!". We want you to have a great experience in Mendoza and with us in Azafrán, thats why whe want to give you our best attention. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“World class dishes”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stopped in for a light lunch here on my second day in Mendoza, ended up eating a full course meal. First impression is great, restaurant is rustic with a touch of old country Mendoza style, and of course a wine tasting room.

Food was amazing, even styled to perfection and cooked just right, menu is not too big which is perfect for those who are indecisive and almost each dish has some wine loving touch of Mendoza infused.

All in all the restaurant was great, staff was kinda slow and unmotivated, maybe just in a bad mood but it was hard to get two words out of them when asking about menu or which wine goes with what. Also the food took forever to come, nearly ate the whole bread basket... however expected in Mendoza so would not have minded as much if they didn't sit me in the middle of the restaurant near the center pillar like a showpiece and insisted that all other places were "reserved".

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perfectneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azafranmza, Gerente at Azafran, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion. We want food to be an experience delightful local experience, that´s why our dishes may delay sometimes. To choose their wine, and their food with the personal advising of our staff. Thank you very much for visiting Azafrán, we would love having you with us again any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azafran also viewed

 
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 

Been to Azafran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing