We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming but food falls short”
Review of Anna Bistro

Anna Bistro
Ranked #16 of 586 Restaurants in Mendoza
Price range: $9 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Seabrook Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charming but food falls short”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Four of us ate here on March 19th while doing wine touring in the area. The premises are charming.The ambiance is quite inviting and there is a lovely courtyard for al fresco dining. It is located in a quiet residential area a few short blocks from the city center. Our server was very friendly and accommodating, and our food arrived in a reasonable amount of time. We made our own tapas meal, selecting several appetizers and a bottle of wine. The food, while acceptable, did not measure up to the ambiance.
Its relaxing and friendly atmosphere is what earns it the fourth star for what would otherwise be an average establishment. I would say this is a safe bet, but manage expectations.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DPLowcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,104
    718
    215
    56
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, but terrible, overpriced food”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Anna's has a great ambiance, with candlelight and hardwood throughout. The porch appeared especially nice, although we could not sit there because everyone outside was chain smoking. That being said, it's the type of place that would look totally different & much cheaper without the candles.

Our waiter was very friendly and attentive, providing excellent service throughout the night. However, the food was awful. My pasta was rubbery and bland. My husband ordered lamb. What meat was present was dry and flavorless, although the dish seemed to be about 50% fat and cartilage. He has never sent a dish back, but had to do so for the first time.

Overall, the restaurant seemed to be a cheap travel joint similar to those found throughout the world typically owned by an ex-pat and catering to backpackers. The difference is this one was masquerading as an upscale gourmet restaurant with prices to match. Compared to other area restaurants at a similar price point...well, there is no comparison. It doesn't belong in that category.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wilmarieg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A great place for an al fresco lunch or dinner”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had lunch on a couple of occasions in this lovely restaurant.
Both times we had the gazpacho which was very well prepared and came accompanied with mini toasts with tapenade.
We tasted the curry chicken, the empanadas and their salad with cheese pastries. They were all good choices. The lamb sorrentinos were a tad intense.
The service was prompt and friendly. The price a bit steep, but translated to dollars I would say comparable to American standards.
We had the red house wine which was average.
The best feature of this bistro is the ambiance, a beautiful patio were to sit and enjoy a nice lunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Farmaestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
204 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Strangely let down by the food.”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We ate here twice based on the Lonely Planet recommendation and it's convenient location.

The first night we both had lamb which was tough but tasty.

The second night my wife had the pork which she described as delicious. My steak on the other hand seemed to have been garnished with rock salt. Not very nice.

The ambience and service could not be faulted and the house wine excellent.

Perhaps the chef is on holiday?

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RobertJGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing meal if you want to splash out!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Such a lovely restaurant with a beautiful outside seating area and a truly relaxing atmosphere.
This is a great place if you want to treat yourself or have a special meal, I took my girlfriend there and she absolutely loved it! the meat was fantastic, i had the Ojo de bife (rib eye) and my girlfriend had the pasta sorentino and to top it off we had the best pisco sour so far in our trip!
I would highly recommend it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anna Bistro also viewed

Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 

Been to Anna Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing