We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable, but on the expensive side.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cordon del Plata
Ranked #64 of 84 Hotels in Mendoza
Reviewed July 8, 2012

A nice centrally located hotel in the heart of Mendoza. Although the staff did not speak English they were extremely polite and helpful.

The overall appearance of the hotel was good, but the room was rather a disappointment for the price that you pay (had a single room). The room was on the dark side and could have done with a little bit of a renovation. However, it was clean and served its purpose. There is no wifi in the room though. If you want to have a wifi connection you have to go downstairs to the lounge/reception area.

I stayed here on two occasions for the simple reason that the location was very appealing. The other hotels in the same area did not look that appealing unless you severely wanted to over dose on your budget.

Breakfast is an open buffet and is good value. It does get crowded though as a few tour operators use this hotel to put up their guests. A lot could be done to improve the hotel, but I did like it.

Room Tip: You maybe lucky and get wifi on the first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 418 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2012

This hotel is terrible. The room was dingy; The carpet was cheap and had stains to show that it had not been cleaned for many years. The carpet on the stairs was torn in many places. The wi fi that was supposed to be in the room was not; had go into the hall to use the wifi. uit was a joke; bad bread and the fruit was either green or overly ripe. The people in the hotel were terrible, and the room looked out on another wall 5 feet away. The place seems to be one that caters cheap tours and the clients do not care about anything but the price. I paid a hugh price for the room; it is not worth ten dollars. I think the reviews are a fraude; I am more and more disenchanted with trip a dvisor and these other places. I left Cordon del Plata after one night and found several places that were much better and much cheaper. Going on to Buenas Aires tomorrow and will not use a booking agent; seem to be crooks.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place at all costs!
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
4  Thank Dan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

My wife and I traveled to Mendoza from Santiago, Chile for a 5 day getaway. we were looking for a centrally located hotel, and Cordon del Plata did nt fail. It is close enough to the center of the city so you can walk to most anything the city has to offer. The chec in was very smooth and the staff was friendly. We got a room located in toward the bac of the hotel, away from the busy street running in front of the hotel. The room was large, came with safe for your valuables and a large bathroom area. The room had a jacuzzi style bathtub/shower and this area is separated from the bed area by a large glass door, which was missing in our room. Because of this, the room A/C had took forever to cool the room after I took a shower. This was the only complaint we had with the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room torward the back of the hotel. You will avoid the noice from the street in front of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roadflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

The lobby of the hotel looks really nice - a well known tric of hotels in Argentina to get more stars than the hotel is actually worth. Had to wait quite long to check in (always busy at the front desk), but staff is friendly.

The rooms are pretty run down and smelly, old dusty carpet, pillows with spots and covers to small, poor lights (if not broken), really noisy at the streetside (busy street, lots of traffic), thin walls, toilet didn't flush very well, had to reset the alarmclock every time we had left the room due to the automatic powercut.
There is no 'do not disturb sign', and cleaningstaff starts quite early so one morning we made our own sign to put on the door.

Breakfast is fine, quite a lot of different things to eat however staff had some trouble in keeping up in refilling everything.
Free wifi worked well, tv has a lot of channels, airco worked fine. The room was clean, for as far as this is possible with the old carpet and curtains, towels are huge and the shower was nice.
When we stayed here, the hotel seemed to be fully booked by Argentinian elderly people, crowding the hotel and being picked up every day by large tour buses.

It is not exactly in the center of Mendoza, but like a 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: if possible, try to stay in a room that is not at the front side of the hotel, and not next to the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtistheP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

You get what you pay for. For around $60 (US), you'll an average room in a somewhat run down hotel. The smell of the room deoderizer was overpowering and the carpet was gross. Lame breakfast. On the plus, fairly quiet and sorta helpful front desk folks.

In short: passable if you're traveling on the cheap, but later in the week we found a couple of really nice hostels that were way better and for half the price.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

im a 21 year old traveller who was travelling argentina with a group run by gap adventures , this was a budget style trip and when we turned up to stay in this hotel i was shocked ! assuming that it is inexpensive because of the trip i was on and the amount i paid for the trip this hotel was luxuary ! i would definitly reccomend this hotel to anyone staying in mendoza ! beautiful spacious rooms! very comfortable and clean ! maids every day ! breakfast ! and wifi ! best hotel i stayed in, in argentina !

Room Tip: get a room at the front of the hotel , facing the street ! we had a nice little balcony ! and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seeingtheworld_ckb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Cordon del Plaza is a nice hotel: it's clean, have a good staff, good breakfast and its rooms are quite confortable. While its location is not bad, I would recommend something closer to Plaza Independencia, where a number of hotels, restaurants and stores are located. But the worst thing in the hotel is its parking facilities. The hotel does not have its own, and guests have to park their cars five blocks away, and just after 10PM when it becomes available, really bad during cold nights in July. Hotel restaurant is quite limited.4

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pianta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
1.1 mi away
Soltigua Apart Hotel
Soltigua Apart Hotel
#21 of 84 in Mendoza
621 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ibis Mendoza
Ibis Mendoza
#39 of 84 in Mendoza
833 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Internacional
Hotel Internacional
#67 of 84 in Mendoza
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carollo Gold
Hotel Carollo Gold
#68 of 84 in Mendoza
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Crillon Mendoza
Hotel Crillon Mendoza
#45 of 84 in Mendoza
324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Petit Hotel
Petit Hotel
#43 of 84 in Mendoza
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cordon del Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cordon del Plata

Address: Calle 9 de Julio 1539, Mendoza M5500DPE, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 84 Hotels in Mendoza
Price Range: $46 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cordon del Plata 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live from your heart the City of Mendoza. Within meters of intersection of Avenue Las Heras and San Mrtin, nucleus of commercial activity of our city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cordon del Plata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordon Del Plata Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing