We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Wine Tour!”
Review of Ampora Wine Tours

Ampora Wine Tours
Ranked #2 of 127 Food & Drink in Mendoza
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ampora Wine Tours organizes daily high-end tasting tours to Mendoza's most important wine regions. The tours are full day with private wine tastings and include gourmet winery lunches. Small groups with a maximum of 8 people ensure an authentic, personal Mendoza Wine Experience. Ampora also offers international shipping of boutique and limited edition wines through their wine club, and organizes regular wine and food events in their very own wine lounge.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Wine Tour!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was a great wine tour day. There were 6 of us and we left our hotel in the AM to go to three wineries. Each winery was excellent and had little snacks during the tastings as well. It was informal in the sense that if you liked a wine and wanted another taste they would let you have more. Also, the included lunch was excellent - it was a 5 course sit down lunch with wine pairs. We had an amazing trip!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank danielleknyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    692
    27
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Wine Tour”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked the Uco Valley Wine tour with Ampora Wine Tours in December 2013. First when I was setting up the booking the company was very responsive regarding all of my questions. The tour was great, and the tour guide Flor was very personable and gave us a great history of the Mendoza wine region. The driver was also very polite. I liked all of the stops on the tour, but my favorite winery was Gimenez Riili. We had the opportunity to try wine from the barrel. Which was a great experience. I would definitely recommend this tour company to friends.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank summerkathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good wines, usefull informations, and good guides”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I booked both tours. Luján de Cuyo and Uco Valley
Both days we visited nice places and could try some good wines. We were a group of 8 what is absolutly ok. And all the wineries where expecting us and provided a very good service.
As more sepcific questions you have, as more the guys where happy to answer you those.

First day our guide was Celina, and she just made a great job! She was well motivated, had a good knowledge about the wines, and could make me laugh as well. A perfect day!
Thanks to you at this place!

I can recomend the tours!
I would recomend to stay on a wineyard .They will pick you up there. The city itself is nothing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelerzurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Tours of the Highest Quality!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My friend and I spent about 5 days in Mendoza and we wanted to see as much as possible. We picked Ampora because of the reviews we saw on Trip Advisor, and boy did they live up to the high ratings! We booked two tours with them - the first one to Uco Valley and the other one in Lujan de Cuyo. The booking process was so painless - we could actually pay online - which is very hard to find in Argentina, and I've been living here for almost 3 months. Apart from that, they answered all of our questions via email in a very timely and professional manner. This made us feel confident in our choice before we even went on the tours. The prices are not bad, when you think of all that is included - a pickup from your hotel (and we were staying all the way out in Lujan de Cuyo, not in Mendoza city) as well as transport for the whole day between wineries, all the tastings - which at each winery, is at least 5-6 wines, a full gourmet lunch at the last winery stop of the day, and the actual tours of the wineries.

Our favorite guide was Majo, who was so incredibly informative all throughout the ride to the different wineries. Our favorite tour was Uco Valley. It really made our trip to Mendoza that much more enjoyable. Bravo, Ampora!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jkcsekhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Winetour in style”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Expensive but you really get value for money. Very good lunch (special dietary needs were taken into account - very smoothly)
Very hospitable welcome in 3 bodegas. Individual approach, not like the mass tours!

Helpful?
Thank Raf V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ampora Wine Tours also viewed

Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 

Been to Ampora Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing