We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ampora Wine Tours

Ampora Wine Tours
Ranked #2 of 123 Food & Drink in Mendoza
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ampora Wine Tours organizes daily high-end tasting tours to Mendoza's most important wine regions. The tours are full day with private wine tastings and include gourmet winery lunches. Small groups with a maximum of 8 people ensure an authentic, personal Mendoza Wine Experience. Ampora also offers international shipping of boutique and limited edition wines through their wine club, and organizes regular wine and food events in their very own wine lounge.
Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a wonderful experience with Ampora Wine Tours. It was recommended to us by our daughter and son-in-law, who had really enjoyed their tour with Ampora. We registered online, received a quick response, and were picked up right on time at our hotel. Our guide Jose was very personable, knowledgeable, and fun. We went to four different wineries, all of which we enjoyed, and the gourmet lunch with Mun at Bedega Casarena was one of the best meals we had during visit to South America. We liked the small size of the tour and the individual attention, and we thoroughly enjoyed the other people on our tour. We highly recommend Ampora Wine Tours.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JTJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    676
    27
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GREAT tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

My husband and I were the only ones who signed up that day, so it turned into a private tour. It was incredible. The guide was friendly and spoke great English and knew a lot about wine. We went to three wineries - they were all very different. We loved them all! We went to Uco Valley and it can't be beat. The Andes are breathtaking! I'm not a fan of organized tours, but this was fantastic.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Thought it would be good, it was GREAT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were in Mendoza for a couple of weeks and had emailed a few different operators, all in the top 10 on tripadvisor. Ampura came back to us about an hour after I first got in touch so I was already impressed. We then happened to walk past the shop the following day and met Mercedes who was equally helpful and we decided this would be the firm to use.

The organisation was efficient and we were picked up from our apartment in a comfortable modern air conditioned minibus, seating I guess 12 but only 7 of us on the tour. Our guide Jose introduced himself and was fantastic throughout the day, clearly he has a passion for wine, and his English is flawless. The driver was also very good and we felt safe throughout our journeys. We did the Lujan tour of 4 wineries, our favourite being the Pulenta estate where we bought a bottle to enjoy back at the apartment - n.b. there didn't appear to be any discount here vs the local shops (or even much compared to what is online back in UK).

The other wineries were also excellent with tours of the right length and some great tastings against a beautiful backdrop of the snow-capped Andes. We finished up with lunch at Mun, which was very very good and a refreshing change of cuisine but still with Argentinian influence. I can't imagine anyone who enjoys wine and good food not enjoying this tour immensely. It's not cheap but I think it is very good value for what you get.

Thanks Ampura!

Ian and Lucie

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ianp83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Mendoza Must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I are embarrassed we do not remember our guide's name for our tour on Saturday 30Mar2013, but he was excellent. Perfect English, passion for wine, and a very friendly person. The bodegas (Altavista, Caelum, Kaiken, Ruca Malen) were amazing, with Caelum standing out by a large margin for us. Sadly, I have yet to find it in the US.

We also did the private tasting with Alex on Friday 29Mar2013 and it was fantastic. Amazing wines and Alex is a gem. Keep him! A very impressive person with a passion for wine and warm personality. We had the pleasure of enjoying the closed-door dinner at Casarena because of and with him and was a trip highlight.

Another bonus we love is there are random occasions to purchase wine via Ampora's wine club. They have a great selection, very good prices, make shipping to the US a breeze, and it's a fantastic way for us to "continue our vacation" many months later.

We speak highly of our Ampora experience and have recommended it to friends.

Cheers!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ImNotHereAnymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
141 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A wonderful day !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I had read the reviews about the Ampora Cuyo wine tour and was expecting a good day but it exceeded expectations and was a wonderful day. Majo our guide for the day is so knowledgeable and such a lovely person, the group which totalled seven including ourselves was an ideal number. The vineyards that had been chosen were all excellent with great hosts at each and fabulous wines. The day was so well organised and the backdrop of the Andes incredible it even snowed and this was September. The final stop for an excellent lunch finished an incredible day that we will remember for a long time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelmadEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ampora Wine Tours also viewed

Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 

Been to Ampora Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing