We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”
Review of Hotel Alexander

Hotel Alexander
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mendoza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in Mendoza
Washington, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed at the Alexander hotel for one night, which was far too long. I was looking for a sofa and desk. That was literally what I received. The hotel and rooms are small, very small, extremely small. The sheets had two big stains on them. YUCK!. There was a bathroom door, that did not lock and you could hear and see everything that went on in the bathroom. The tv was a joke, about the size of a small kitchen tv.. I have never stayed in a place like this before and trust me will never stay in this place ever again. For what they charged and what you actually receive there are far better spots in Menbdoza to stay. Stay here at your own risk.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martins S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    7
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
14
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We spend a week here in March 2012. Clean, comfortable bed, good simple breakfast. But what makes this hotel the best value is the personalized friendly service.
Want to go to the thermal springs last minute? no problem, it will be arranged. The best ATM? Ema knows. Have some really far out tastes and interests? Ema will help find a cooking class or a bus route and have you on your way to fun experiences.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChattanoogaBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We were a group of 12 who stayed 5 nights with Ema and Oscar. The hotel included breakfast, private bathrooms, TV, air-conditioning, and free WI-FI. The location was perfect - across the street was the Central Market where you could go for a low-cost lunch or buy fruit. Carrefour (large supermarket 7 blocks away) had everything you could need like an ATM, snacks, excellent wine, hairdryer, personal hygiene products, etc. Plaza Independencia was a 6-7 block walk. At night you could hear the buses / street traffic until about midnight. Once you are accustomed to late dining, the noise won't bother you because you won't be home yet! This small family-run hotel allowed us to learn more about the people and culture of Mendoza. Note, they don't accept credit cards however you can pay in either AR $ or US $.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbschlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We had a double room for two nights. The bathroom was poorly cleaned and the shower drain was close. Otherwise, the hotel and staff was OK but nothing more than that. We don´t recommend taking the wine tour to the winery’s sold at the hotel. We were told that the guiding would be in English. That was not the case for the majority of the tour.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We loved our stay at the Hotel Alexander. After somewhat cool and brusque treatment from hotel staff in Buenos Aires, the owners of the Alexander, Oscar and Ema, surprised us with the genuinely kind reception they gave us. We felt immediately at home. And the price was half of what we had paid in BA. The hotel is in the heart of Mendoza. We walked everywhere from it at all hours. We speak some Spanish but didn't need to. Everybody here knows English. We booked for 2 nights and wound up staying 3.

Jim
Saint Paul, Minnesota -- USA

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Dear Emma and Oscar,

Our stay in Mendoza was the best part of our trip, thanks to you. All for your suggestions regarding places to go, things to do and see, were so helpful. We can't thank you enough, and are so happy to have met such an accommodating couple.

Thanks again, we truly appreciate your help.

Sincerely,

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadrat109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Alexander for only one night but Emma and Oscar were two of the nicest people we have had the pleasure to meet in Argentina. The rooms are also definitely the best to be found in this price range. Breakfast was pretty standard for Argentina, coffee, sweet rolls, etc. The location could not be better - only a couple of blocks from the main plaza, although the flip side of that is some noise. You won't find a friendlier hotel anywhere!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebusybees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cordon del Plata
Hotel Cordon del Plata
#60 of 84 in Mendoza
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Mendoza Cordillera
NH Mendoza Cordillera
#18 of 84 in Mendoza
975 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premium Tower Suites Mendoza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Argentino Hotel
Argentino Hotel
#12 of 84 in Mendoza
838 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Crillon Mendoza
Hotel Crillon Mendoza
#38 of 84 in Mendoza
296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diplomatic Hotel
Diplomatic Hotel
#8 of 84 in Mendoza
2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Property: Hotel Alexander
Address: Patricias Mendocinas, Mendoza 1602, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in Mendoza
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing