We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go there”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel Ruca-Potu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Ruca-Potu
Ranked #133 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't go there”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

My daughter is traveling in Argentina and got there.
The second day of the stay the owner decided to charge her for the whole room instead of a single bed, as the rest of the guests lefts the hostel.
When she didn't accept to be charged such a high price he just threw her away, shutting the dorr after her, he didn't even let her recover part of her staff left in the room.
Be careful, and try to avoid this place.

Room Tip: Just don't take the chance - don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Benny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    9
    1
    27
See reviews for
4
14
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Firsty, don't be tricked by the flashy outside of the house and BMW. The inside is a grubby infestation. Firstly, the kitchen is disgusting, cheap, unsanitary. The stove is a 'temporary' hot plate (in which only one works (if you even call it working)) but has rust and scum all over it. The Microwave is the most disgusting thing i've ever seen, It's supposed to be white on the inside but you coudn't see white unless you scraped off the 1inch thick food splatter from every wall, oh and the glass plate on the bottom doesn't even a glass plate, it's an upside down bowl where the bottom dip is filled with oil.

Swimming pool? empty, and has been for a looooong time from the mould and lack of cleaning.

The location is not 600 metres from the city centre, at least an hour walk to the main plaza. the bus station is also about 20 minutes walk (even though they claim it to be 5-8mins).

Breakfast included? if you could call it breakfast, it was one piece of bread with butter (and for the first time in all my included breakfasts in argentina, there was no dulche de leche!). And do not use their bowls or plates, even with a vague inspection in the early hours of the morning we noticed that half of the cups had not even been washed as there were still rings of coffee in almost half of the cuts, the cuttlery was just as disgusting, with residue food still on all of them.

Free wifi and computer? maybe, if the internet wasn't so slow you could call it that. and to get on the computer you have to wait 3 days for the tubby kid to stop playing games to get a few minutes on the useless slow computer.

The beds are a disgrace, he said 8 bed dorm, yean sure... more like 12! they also have 'clean sheets'? ha, they looked second hand from like 6 years ago and felt like they'd never been washed. The blankets (if you can even call them blankets) are useless and my partner and i both has to sleep fully clothed, ski jackets and all.

The owner may seem nice to begin with, but that's just until he gets your money, then he's a unhelpful, rude,arrogant, and focused on displaying a good image of his ouside (even though everything about it is terrible inside). He smokes inside and smogs up the whole room. The girlfriend is very unfriendly and doesn't even say hello when you address her first, gives the impression you're not wanted there. The music and tv is always loud.

I could go on about how bad this hostel was for hours. We only stayed there because the Chile border was closed. I'm so glad it opened up the next day, if it didn't i wouldn't have stayeed there another night for sure.

I would never recommend staying at this hostel. It's the worst.

Room Tip: don't choose a room. save your money and sleep at the bus station
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mendoza hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

The son of the owner talked to us on the bus station and promised that they have wonderful rooms with tv and direkt close to plaza independencia. We got to the hostel and took the room because it was already late in the evening. The owner promised that it's a quiet family hostel... NOT TRUE! The beds were terrible...there were people partying in the patio till 3 in the morning.after we complained twice, the owner didn`t do anything. The TV did not work. In the morning we told the owner that we could not sleep because of noise, that tv does not work and that the hostel is not at all central. We asked to have at least some money back. He was soo unfriendly, getting angry. We wanted to talk politely with him. No chance! He just kept playing his online games, commanding his daughter around to clean and was so rude! Then he just ignored us while we were talking. We left immediately! Horrrible experience!!!
Changed to Hostal Confluencia...120 pesos for double room and so nice people, good kitchen, clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

This hostel has good prices, but everything else is horrible. I felt like I was harassed daily by the people who work there (the owner, his girlfriend, and his sons). They constantly barged into the dorm rooms and used the private guest's bathrooms there; I felt like I had no privacy. They smoked in the house, yelled at me and other backpackers for not drying the dishes, and took over the common room's computer and tv that is supposed to be for the guests. They lied about having wi-fi in all of the rooms and the computer in the dorm room did not work- I guess it was just there for decoration. Also, they never cleaned the bathroom when I was there and when other people left the dorm, I never saw anyone change the sheets. Overall, I don't recommend this hostel to anyone...paying a little more for another hostel, in this case, is definitely worth it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

I don't have many comments on the hostel because I didn't actually stay there. It was overbooked and he told us we had a problem over the loud sound of his son and his girlfriend watching very loud tv. He had beds in the dorm for us for three times the price we would pay for a private room. He kept telling us it was our problem and after some arguing he offered us an apartment four blocks further away from the centre for 900 pesos, because it was semana santa we didn't have any other options so we took it. When checked out of the apartment we wanted to store our luggage for the afternoon, he didn't want to do it because we didn't check into the hostel, telling us again it wasn't his fault or problem. For 15 pesos each he would store our luggage. I had a bad feeling about the owner from the get go, reading other reviews that feeling was right.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Thom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Ariel who owns the hostel is very friendly and offers really good advice on tours and day trips. The hostel is not the best of locations but is only about a 5 or 10 minute walk from the city centre and is cheaper than other hostels in Mendoza. There is a free, very basic breakfast. Hostel is cosy although the main dorm is very cramped but with a nice ensuite bathroom and great shower. The free wine in the evenings is great!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nina128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

Free pickup from the busstation! A very safe and secure hostel, with locked gates which means it is actually closed for everyone who does not have a key to the front gate. Breakfast whenever you wanted, and a pool which you could actually use and swim in! Great! A very spacious, clean and beautiful backyard with lots of tables, chairs, a fussball-table and a nice pool. The tripleroom had a very spacious private bathroom, it was excellent. The internet did not work most of the time, + it was located in a somewhat dodgy area (at least at night). But other than that, it was a great hostel with a very friendly, funny and helpful owner who treated you as one of his own kids!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggimaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#63 of 84 in Mendoza
3.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.7 mi away
Soltigua Apart
Soltigua Apart
#24 of 84 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tunkelen Apart Hotel
Tunkelen Apart Hotel
#35 of 84 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Gorilla Hostel
Gorilla Hostel
#5 of 177 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.6 mi away
Damajuana Hostel
Damajuana Hostel
#44 of 177 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jaquemate Hostel
Jaquemate Hostel
#16 of 177 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Ruca-Potu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Ruca-Potu

Property: Hostel Ruca-Potu
Address: Av. Gobernador Ricardo Videla 1275, Mendoza 5519, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay in the family atmosphere of Ruca Potu Hostel! Swimming pool, free wine, all you can drink! So much to do. Just have a look and see for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Ruca-Potu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Ruca-Potu Hotel Mendoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing