We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really wanted to like Andeluna” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andeluna Cellars

Andeluna Cellars
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Wine Hop-On Hop-Off Tour from Mendoza
Ranked #28 of 190 things to do in Mendoza
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really wanted to like Andeluna”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

I really, really wanted to like Andeluna based on the positive reviews. I have to say, it was a disappointing experience. The environment, landscape, ambiance - it was all beautiful and wonderful. However, the tasting experience itself was lackluster especially when compared to other wineries we visited. We were greeted by the guide, met other friendly folks in our group, learned a bit about the winery, tasted the wines, and toured a bit again. While the wines were fine themselves, the guide couldn't have been less interested or present. She poured some wine, and then went off to work on the computer and look at paperwork. No explanation, no real attention paid. She came back, poured another wine, and then went to do something else. I understand this is a larger winery and that the experience is not as personalized as smaller places but we went to another large winery and did not have this experience.

Additionally, we reserved to have lunch there in advance and we were told that it was canceled the morning of. When I inquired with the guide, they said that they were fully booked (again, we had reservations). I looked behind her shoulder and saw that two tables were full but two tables were completely empty! I was told by an outside source that they had distributors in town and were entertaining. Even if this was the case, I understand that it's business for them and they do what they must but I didn't like being put in that position. She told us we could come back the next day for lunch - we passed on the offer as Uco is about an hour's drive from where we stayed and didn't want to hire a driver again.

Overall, such a disappointing experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ChopSooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    78
    20
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mendoza, Argentina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“TO DO !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

If you visit the UCO valley in Mendoza, this is a place you will love ♥ !!! Mendoza offers several wine experiences, and Andeluna cellars has the most romantic setting in it´s living room and restaurante.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank WINEBROKERSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Superb lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had a wonderful lunch here with wine pairings. Yes there could have been more information on the wines being poured but really the experience was the taste not the science. The open kitchen was creative and the courses kept coming but portion sizes not too huge that you were overwhelmed. The wine tour was brief but certainly worth coming here for the lunch experience alone.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Garrywb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous view and elegantly ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Andeluna was the most beautiful winery that my husband and I visited in Uco Valley. The vineyards have the Andes Mountains as scenery behind them and the winery architecture is unique.
The tour itself was more descriptive than explanatory and after that, we tasted 8 wines, 4 glasses each and we liked them a lot.
When tasting, we were comfortably seated in sofas with 6 other people and we could enjoy the wines while talking with each other.

Tip: buy some bubble wrap to transport your wines in your luggage. It will cost 10% the price of the "wine crocks", that are sold in wine stores. If you didn't bring it with you, you can buy it at "Polietileno La Primera" (Av. España, 1708 - $5 pesos/meter).

Helpful?
1 Thank Marina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Andeluna was recommended to us by several people so when we decided to visit Mendoza we made a reservation to have lunch and get a tour of the winery. The winery is located at the foot of the Andes, therefore the views are breathtaking. The dinning room is very nice with an open kitchen so you get to watch the chef and the woman plating the dishes as they work. The woman that was plating worked with such a concentration and delicacy that was a pleasure to watch. The service was very good. The food was amazing. It was a 4-course lunch, every dish was just perfect. The wines are great, they let you try a wine that is only sold there, the Pasionado, with 2,000 bottles production a year. The 4 cepas (blend of 4 grapes) is amazing and we are going back to the US with a bottle of that. After lunch, we got a personalized tour of the winery. Please include Andeluna to your tour and have lunch there.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank AVGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andeluna Cellars also viewed

Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
Tupungato, Province of Mendoza
 
Tunuyan, Province of Mendoza
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 

Been to Andeluna Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing