We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some places have a greater sum than their individual parts.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Los Varietales

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Los Varietales
Ranked #50 of 96 Mendoza B&B and Inns
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Some places have a greater sum than their individual parts.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2010

Los Varietales is one of them. What's said in the title resonates into this friendly, low key, value B&B. Is it located in the most fashionable section of Mendoza? No. Is it warm, inviting, and provide personal attention to its guests? Yes. Is it just a little worn on its edges? Yes. But we all grow old gracefully, dont we? In my opinion, this is one nice place to stay while visiting Mendoza. Its an escape in the city, just a 10 minute walk from the city center and situated in a local neighborhood. I have personally stayed at this "under the radar gem" many times since October 2008. I like the quiet street, homey feel, personal attention to my needs, that I receive while staying at Los Varietales. In my opinion Mariana, her family, and employees extend a very warm feeling to their guests. The breakfast room and the main sitting room are a place to visit and chat with your fellow traveler. I have often shared stories, enjoyed a glass of wine, or meeting someone or another. The morning brings breakfast and another opportunity to visit over a cup of coffee. I travel to Mendoza for Business quite often, and its my go to place to stay. Hey, keep it quite, I may need a reservation soon.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    22
    24
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
30
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2009

Our previous review misstated our general assessment.
Susan and Al from Minnesota

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susiemsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2009

If you are looking for a luxury experience, this is not the place to stay. But, if you are looking for a warm and friendly place to stay, close to the city center, with wonderful people working there who are always so helpful to help with tour reservations, translate phone calls, give advice for how to spend time in the lovely city of Mendoza, Hotel Los Varietales is just the place to stay. We were there with a number of friends and we all had a terrific time. The breakfast that was included with the room was very good.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNtourista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2009

We've stayed here for 3 nights, after a bad first experience in a communistic hotel in Mendoza. We've received a nice discount for staying 3 nights, but even at the normal rate, the place offers a great value for money. Nice rooms with private bathrooms, the only downside is that the window is towards an indoor garden, but still it gets plenty of light.
The breakfast is very nice, especially considering the normal Argentine breakfast. They also have a nice common room with TV, lots of readings and Wifi. They were helpful organizing some tours for us, and informing us about the city and the Mendoza region. A great experience!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stefann22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
84 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

i stayed in a single room with an ensuite for three nights and i wouldn't recommend it unless you are on an extremely tight budget. it's about 10 blocks from the center of town which i didn't mind at all but the place is in need of some major updating. the bed was very old and the sheets were so thread bare that they were ripped in a couple places. the wall on one side of the room was rotting from water damage and the window didn't shut. the bathroom was pretty bad but at least there was hot water throughout the day. breakfast was decent and the front desk staff was helpful. there was wifi but it only worked in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmegeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2009

Want to find a B and B that is a real bargain, clean and with kind hospitality? Los Varietales is it. It does need updating and is very basic, but makes a budget go far. The beds are comfortable and the demand for cleanliness is met. A lovely 15 minute walk to Plaza Indepencia - the center of Mendoza mades it a good locations. Tours pick you up at the door. Marianna has excellent recommendations for places to eat and tours to take. She makes you feel at home - mi casa est su casa.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank upnorthDPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
82 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

Nice B&B about 10 blocks from inner city. Very friendly hosts. The rooms are ok, but specially bathroom needs improvement. Breakfast very good (ham, cheese, marmelade, juice, coffee/tea, cookies, musli etc.) Speaks english fluently.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KingfisherOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
1.0 mi away
Huentala Hotel
Huentala Hotel
#13 of 83 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
1.3 mi away
Savigliano International Hostel Mendoza
0.0 mi away
Cabana Suiza
Cabana Suiza
#1 of 2 in Cacheuta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Diplomatic Hotel
Diplomatic Hotel
#6 of 83 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel San Francisco
Hotel San Francisco
#7 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
11.9 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Varietales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Varietales

Property: Hotel Los Varietales
Address: J.A. Maza 661, Mendoza 5300, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Mendoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Varietales B&B is a family property perfect for escaping the noise and only 6 blocks from the downtown of Mendoza. Have 9 small but comfortable rooms. A Buffet breakfast complete with fresh fruit is free and served from 8 to 11Am. Free WI-FI Connection, Room service and hospitality all include.All rooms come with: Private bathroom, central heating, white linen, cleaning service, sommiers and fan. We also have rooms with Air/C and TV cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Los Varietales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing