We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Los Varietales
Nearby Hotels
$103
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$149
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lares De Chacras(Chacras de Coria)
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$240
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bonarda Hotel(Mendoza)
$80
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$190
$136
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$103
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveler rating
28
22
24
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
22
24
4
2
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 80 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2011

The strength of Los Varietales B&B is in its staff. The owner Mariana and her staff handled all our questions and made event reservations for us without making us feel like we were imposing or being silly. Part of the reason Los V. is a great value is that it is a bit out from the parks and the shopping district. Since we were there off-season and could use a little walking after all those great meals this was never an issue for us. As for the treks and so on they always picked us up at Los V. so being a few blocks off the parks was not a big deal. I did stop in a a couple of the hostels off the parks and shopping area and it is very much the college kid scene which has it pluses and minuses. We had the triple room and it was fine for our needs and they took care of it everyday like clock work. A note for visitors: they don't start eating supper here until after 10pm and that is early. Also they siesta from 2 to 4. Takes a bit of adjustment. The wines are to die for. Don't do any wine tours until you go the Wines of Mendoza and sample some wine flights then select the winery(s) you want to visit. We visited two and was amazed at the poor wine. Out of 900 wineries I guess someone has to be 899. The bike and wine rentals are great. And if you don't want to bike rent a scooter, dirt bike, or car. And do the parasailing! I'm afraid of heights but my daughter talked me into it and the flight was over a half hour of the most gentle floating.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankLGarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

My daughter and I recently stayed at Los Varietales. It is a pleasant lodging on the northern edge of the city of Mendoza. The rates were incredible, as was the lovely facility. Our hostess was extremely helpful in answering questions and suggesting things to do. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5CAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We stayed a week longer than planned because of the comfort and hospitality of Los Varietales. The staff makes the traveler feel welcomed, and owner Mariana continues to improve what was once her family's home. She speaks perfect English and is extremely helpful with travelers' needs. She even arranged for us to take Spanish lessons for a week from an excellent teacher right across the street. Our favorite hostel so far.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We arrived in Mendoza without a place to stay, but had jotted down this place as it was listed on hostalbookers. We ended up staying for 4 nights in a double room with ensuite as all of the other affordable places in town were booked and this was a fine place to stay. Not great. Not terrible. The beds were this faux kind of memory foam situation that made for a very stiff and uncomfortable night sleep. It was pretty far from the main square...maybe a good 15 minute walk. The communal kitchen was for "heating up" food only...not cooking. The breakfasts were mediocre, but it's Argentina, so what do you expect other than Tang and white bread and a slice of limp cheese? The wifi only worked in the communal area. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Gosh, after reading my own review, I would recommend staying somewhere else, but if you're in a pinch, this works just fine.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quesofundido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

This review is a couple of months late, but could be useful to others who plan to stay at Los Varietales in the future. We found the hostel on trip advisor and were amazed by the reviews, as well as the pictures posted of the hostel. However, the pictures are a bit misleading and don't give a real or fair representation of the hostel. When we arrived we were greeted by Mariana, who was very friendly as other reviewers have pointed out, however, we never saw her again for the rest of the three days we were there. The other people working the front desk were not as involved as Mariana and seemed distracted.

The room was alright... fairly small, but expected for the price. The bathroom was a bit more disappointing because the shower head got water all over the place (the bathroom floor, the sink, the toilet, even some water into the room). It was also a bit outside and you could hear other people in their rooms. The breakfast was not as nice as pictured/represented. There was fresh fruit (which was nice), white toast and some jams/honey. They say they also have ham and cheese, but every morning we had to beg the lady at the front desk to give us one slice of each per person (she kept it hidden in the fridge).

The worst part of the trip was that my boyfriend's cell phone got stolen from our room. IT was very clear that it was the cleaning lady (or worse: someone who works the front desk) as we locked our door. The only thing is, when you leave the make you give back your key to your room and they keep it at the front desk. So the only person who was in our room (that we know of) was the cleaning lady. Mariana, though friendly before, did not seem to really care about the stolen phone. She had the front desk get us on the phone (she didn't even bother to talk to us in person) and said she was alarmed because nothing has ever been stolen from the hostel before. That was as far as her concern went, and we never heard from her again... so didn't seem that she cared so much. Either way, we were happy to get out of the hostel and were happy that nothing else (passports or laptop) got stolen.

The location of the hostel is a bit far and not in the best area... there are youth hostels closer by the have even better prices.. Definitely wouldn't come back and stay at the hostel or recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews