We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel in Mendoza”
Review of Hostel Empedrado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Empedrado
Ranked #13 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I really liked this hostel, and you get that good feeling as soon as you enter. The rooms are small, and showers should be improved. But the success is in the large common area and the ease at meeting like minded travellers. The breakfasts are great! There is a pool surrounded by hammocks, you can do you´re own washing in a proper machine, the staff are really helpful with what you can get up to. I had a good time here.
I´ve seen a few other reviews that it´s not central. Mendoza is small, and it´s all an easy walk. Location isn´t a problem at all in this town. It´s in a nice leafy street, 1 min walk from a big supermarket to buy all food too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0seph0d0n0ghue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for Hostel Empedrado
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 282 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Hostel Empedrado is one of my favourite hostels from my entire trip to central and South America. Anna on reception is amazingly helpful, efficient and friendly. She can help organise tours and is always willing to search for info if she doesn't have it at her fingertips.

The hostel is very social and has free wine every night from 7-8 as well as wine tastings, empanada making classes, wine tasting classes, asados etc etc.

I would definitely stay here again and was very sad to have to leave!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Youngroover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I loved my stay at this hostel. I spent four nights there in a dorm and had an amazing time. The hostel has activities almost every night, plus free wine ¨happy hour¨from 7-8pm, though depending on who is working that night they might just keep bringing out bottles. The other guests were also great, so easy to meet and get along with. The staff was extremely helpful, in particular Ana and Mai were great. The hostel itself hosts some excursions (horseback riding, hikes, wine and bike tours) but they will also advertise and book other outings (paragliding, skydiving, other hikes, etc). In addition, the hostel gives lots of discounts, just check their website or hostel booking sites to see what they are. They also give a 5% discount on all domestic bus travel.

Other huge plusses: best breakfast of any hostel, ever (fresh made crepes, omelettes, hard boiled eggs, bread, pastries, good coffee, cereal, fruit, juice, etc) and FREE LAUNDRY! I have never come across free laundry in my travels. Amazing. They also sell drinks but they let you bring in your own, which is also really great and unlike other hostels.

The location was great- right by a huge supermarket but only a short walk to the main Plaza Independencia. That said, the city of Mendoza isn´t as beautiful as I imagined, it´s really all the activities outside of the town that are great and worth seeing. Not the hostel´s fault, just something to keep in mind!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank labewo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Lovely breakfasts and outside area with good happy hour. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms a little oddly laid out and a bit of a walk from the centre but close to big supermarket. Overall, recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jr27387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Brilliant hostel in a good location. Less than ten minute walk to city centre and even possible to walk to the bus terminal (about 30 minutes).
Staff all very friendly and helpful and fantastic excursions on offer at fair prices.
Good social areas, good Wi-Fi but only available in certain locations in the building.
Good kitchen facilities and clean, modern bathrooms on the ground floor at least. Lovely outdoor area and roof terrace!
buffet brekkie is superb and free wine every night!
All this at a very reasonable price

Overall a great few days, would highly reckon recommend staying there.

Room Tip: Dorm rooms appear to have superior bathrooms nearby
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisgeorge89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The hostel was very clean, almost seamed like they clean the bathrooms Inbetween showers!

Staff were fantastic, really friendly and helpful.

The hostel organizes things to do almost every night. We had a great inexpensive BBQ dinner with wine and an empanada making class. Every night the have a free wine happy hour too!

Breakfast is really good with hard boiled eggs, raw eggs to cook yourself and the lady makes awesome dulce de leche filled crepes every morning!

There are cozy common rooms, 2 kitchens, free use of the washing machine, computers and fast wifi.

The rooms are big with huge lockers that you can lock up your packs in to keep the room tidy. They also have power outlets in the locker so you can safely charge your electronics.

The only downfall where the sheets on the bed were thin and the fitted bottom sheet wouldn't fit the mattress causing you to sleep on the mattress. New sheets would make this hostel close to perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AN4RCHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This is by far one of the best hostels I've stayed at during my 4 month travels around South America. It's located about a ten-fifteen walk from the main plaza so the location isn't excellent, but trust me its worth the walk! The staff are super friendly and even let us have breakfast before we had checked in as we arrived early from a night bus. The breakfast by the way is amazing! Boiled eggs, raw eggs so you can fry or scramble them in the kitchen, cereal, pastries, coffee, tea, juice and amazing creeps filled with dulce de leche! So as if that wasn't already amazing enough, they also have happy hour from 7-8pm which is just free wine for everyone til it runs out! They also have lots of activities such as horse riding and wine and bike tours. We also did a Empanada making class and they also organised a big BBQ with so much free wine. The rooms are clean and spacious, the bathrooms are always clean and the showers are nice and hot. There's a great tv room with DVDs, a big outside area with hammocks and a little pool and a roof top terrace, there are also two kitchens for cooking in. It's the perfect hostel for socialising. Seriously, look no further you must stay here! You won't be disappointed :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.8 mi away
Diplomatic Hotel
Diplomatic Hotel
#8 of 84 in Mendoza
2,278 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#7 of 84 in Mendoza
2,855 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premium Tower Suites Mendoza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Soltigua Apart Hotel
Soltigua Apart Hotel
#24 of 84 in Mendoza
592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lagares Hostel
Lagares Hostel
#1 of 170 in Mendoza
383 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hostel Lao
Hostel Lao
#7 of 170 in Mendoza
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Empedrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Empedrado

Address: Calle Patricias Mendocinas 1959, Mendoza M5500EBC, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Price Range: $94 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good option to lodge in Mendoza. Clean, sure, and nice Hostel located to 4 stables of the principal avenue in a cobblestone street. It has free swimming pool in a camping 6 km from the hostel. The tariff includes breakfast, Internet, swimming pool and use of the kitchen. The best wines of the world, the Aconcagua Mountain (6959 mt.) and a sunny climate wait for you in Mendoza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Empedrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing