We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostel Empedrado
Nearby Hotels
$93
$86
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$140
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$119
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Lares De Chacras(Chacras de Coria)
$162
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$152
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada El Encuentro(Chacras de Coria)(Great Value!)
$127
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Entre Cielos(Lujan de Cuyo)
$319
$309
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cavas Wine Lodge(Lujan de Cuyo)
$390
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveler rating
145
93
31
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
93
31
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashing machinecrepesbig supermarketkitchen spaceroof terracequiet locationdulce de lechemin walkearly checkwine toursmall pooleach morningwificonsrepairvineyards
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 282 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This is by far one of the best hostels I've stayed at during my 4 month travels around South America. It's located about a ten-fifteen walk from the main plaza so the location isn't excellent, but trust me its worth the walk! The staff are super friendly and even let us have breakfast before we had checked in as we arrived early from a night bus. The breakfast by the way is amazing! Boiled eggs, raw eggs so you can fry or scramble them in the kitchen, cereal, pastries, coffee, tea, juice and amazing creeps filled with dulce de leche! So as if that wasn't already amazing enough, they also have happy hour from 7-8pm which is just free wine for everyone til it runs out! They also have lots of activities such as horse riding and wine and bike tours. We also did a Empanada making class and they also organised a big BBQ with so much free wine. The rooms are clean and spacious, the bathrooms are always clean and the showers are nice and hot. There's a great tv room with DVDs, a big outside area with hammocks and a little pool and a roof top terrace, there are also two kitchens for cooking in. It's the perfect hostel for socialising. Seriously, look no further you must stay here! You won't be disappointed :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Room- No wifi in the rooms. There was a heater which is uncommon for South America. Beds were comfy and the room was spacious.
Food- The best breakfast we've had from a hostel. Ranging from fresh crepes to cereal! Large selection and plenty available.
Hostel itself- Wifi was sparse and toilets were few, which meant queuing in the morning. Otherwise the hostel was great, very sociable due to activities every night and free wine during happy hour and tv room. Big kitchen with ample equipment.
Staff- No complaints. Made us feel at home and very helpful.
Location- 45 mins from bus terminal and 15 minutes to Center. Supermarket on the next block. Very safe area and we were able to get a decent nights sleep too!
Mendoza- See the vineyards and sample the wine!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossandHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Although this hostel is a bit off the beaten path, its not too far from the main center of the city, parques, etc. Its location also ensures a quiet night's sleep too. Aside from the free wine happy hour, hostel staff/client football games, and a delicious breakfast spread, Hostel Empedrado also has free classes on different things from making empanadas to preparing yerba mate. This was a novel experience for me and really allows one to experience the culture on a deeper level in the comfort of the hostel; plus its free! Though my stay was short, the staff was very helpful and accommodating, even providing an asado on the last night! Que rico! Can't beat the price, the comfort, the warm staff, and the vibe.

Room Tip: Book in advance to get the less expensive rooms, but either way its comfortable whevere you lay your head.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niko C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had best stay in our long journey throughout South America. Staff who is attentive and truly wanted us to have best possible stay, BIG THANKS ESPECIALY TO ANIA. No problem with early check-in, cleaning ladies always visible and making sure everything is in order. Rooms with heating and plenty blankets, great atmosphere and large common areas. Not to forget the best breakfast I had ever on my world trip. Location is a bit off but only 10 min. walk or so to main plaza. Internet in the rooms was week but in common areas was good.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaRaS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My only criticisms would be its distance from the main bars in town and its over-priced excursions (you can do a lot of them yourself for cheaper e.g getting a public bus to Maipu, renting bikes yourself and paying the vineyards on the door - 150 pesos all in, rather than paying 390 for the organised bike tour). Other than that:

Excellent breakfasts (pancakes!!)
Good rooms
Helpful staff
Lovely common area
Great roof top area
Free laundry
Supermarket literally outside


  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickM89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews