We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect stay - hard to beat this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Empedrado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Empedrado
Ranked #11 of 178 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A perfect stay - hard to beat this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hostel was great. The staff are so friendly and helpful; the best I've come across in a long time. They will gladly give up their time to give you help and advice and, in my case, for over half an hour at a time! They can sell you tours but are not pushy in any way and will freely offer you advice on how to do things independently if you prefer.

The breakfast is included in the price and is the best free breakfast I've ever had in any hostel. Usually i hostels when the breakfast is free it's something really basic like cheap bread and jam. Not here: we had croissants, eggs, pancakes, cereal, tea, coffee, milk, jam, butter.....and all really tasty!

There's free WiFi which was good and worked in my room on the first floor, also PCs which are free to use if you prefer. The kitchen is really good; modern, spacious, well stocked in terms of cooking/storage facilities and and equipment and clean; just like a kitchen you'd find in a new house.

There's a free glass of wine for everybody each night; we had a free wine tasting course and they offer several other free activities. There's a washing machine to use free of charge and you can dry your clothes on the roof (it's always sunny!). The showers are very warm and powerful and there were several of them which meant no waiting. The dorms were spacious and quiet; definitely not a party hostel with music on all night but a very social hostel thanks to the staff's enthusiasm and friendliness and the setup of the common areas which allows people to mingle together over the breakfast tables etc.. The dorms were also warm and cleaned each day, with comfortable beds, and had big storage lockers with plenty of room for a large backpack (bring your own padlock). They also have lockers near the reception desk for you to leave your bags in after check out if you're not leaving until later in the day (again, you need your own padlock).

The location is about 10/15 minutes walk to the main square and in a quiet end of the street, only about 2 minutes away from a big supermarket so you can stock up if you like. And finally, the price was good - cheaper than others and I'd imagine at a much higher standard.

I really can't fault this place and if I go back to Mendoza then I'll be back there with no hesitation!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    93
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
2
119
61
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
282 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I can't add much to what you can already find in the reviews. They have their stuff together in this hostel. They understand their role and carry it out very well. Clean, well organized, great staff, nice breakfast, free glass of wine each night, organized activities, tours, Wi-Fi, etc. Nice common areas, nice kitchen, good price. What more can you ask for? We stayed 3 nights in a matrimonial ensuite with a HEATER! That was super nice since so many places don't have heat and it was COLD in Mendoza.

Stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank specialklc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Staff is very friendly, breakfast the best we had, rooms were clean, there is a washing machine you can use for free (powder is 4pesos), a nice living room, activities in the hostel, possibility of booking tours. There are good heaters, so even in winter it's nice and warm.

Location is 10 minutes from the central plaza, in a quiet neighbourhood.

We paid 160 for a matrimonial room, with shared bathroom, price arranged on arrival.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelmer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I'll be honest, this was my first hostel... Ever! So maybe I don't have too much experience when it comes to rating hostels. That aside, this hostel had friendly, bilingual staff, clean rooms and bathrooms and an all around buena onda. If we had any questions about excursions, the staff had all the answers and helped book activities for us, the breakfast was good (raw eggs to make a scramble), fruits, bread, pastries, coffee and tea. And the two-bed bedroom was a great way to travel cheaply, but avoid the big dorm rooms.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Egmaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed here in Oct 2012 after a friends recommendation. We booked 3 nights and got a 4th for free on arrival so bear this in mind when booking! The first night we booked the two bed dorm as it was cheap. It was pretty tiny with one bunk bed and you had to cross the courtyard to get to the bathroom but it was clean and comfortable for a night or two so worth the savings! The rest of the time we stayed in a big double which was decent.

Breakfast was excellent: fresh pancakes (all you can eat!) as well as bread, really good pastries, cereal, coffee, tea and juice. Also we arrived early of the first day and they gave us free breakfast....very generous!

There were a few bathrooms that were all well kept and clean. The kitchen was very nice, like someones house, very well equipped and clean. It also had plenty of space for dining both inside and out. There was also free use of a BBQ outside. There was a large living room that was nice and quiet for chilling out.

The place has a really good atmosphere, maybe helped by the free glass of wine every night! They also had a free activity every night such as a wine tasting lesson or spanish lessons. We did the wine tasting the night before "wine bikes" and it was very good (lots of free wine and we could pretend to know what we were talking about the next day!).

We also paid for the weekly BBQ and it was unbelievable! An endless flow of different meat (steak, sausages, ribs etc) as well as super tasty salads and potatoes etc. It also included a hell of a lot of wine...they kept replacing empty bottles for a very long time....!

Other really good things were: they have a washing machine you can use for free, big lockers to store your bags after you check out (or any time), great location and right very close to a huge supermarket.

Staff were excellent, friendly and helpful! Wish I could go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Hostel is great, great staff really friendly and the atmosphere of the hostel is really friendly. They do lots of free activities on a evening, a lot of which are free and are a great way to meet other travellers. The room we stayed in was the two bed dorm which was a little drab and cramped but the staff and atmosphere of the hotel more than make up for this. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riss2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I struggled to decide whether to give this a four or five star review (if 4.5 was an option I would chose that!).

Pros are numerous:

- Very friendly staff, with good advice and numerous tour booking options..
- Really well laid out - multiple well designed and well kept large rooms to sit, dine and relax in. -
- A big kitchen.
- A large groundfloor outdoor area and nice upstairs balcony area.
- On site DIY washing machines - free but for the washing powder
- Plenty of space and lockers to keep your backpacks if you have checked out by don't have a bus until much later.
- A free large glass of pretty decent wine every day (just ask at reception)
- Events like wine-tasting, empanada making and BBQ.
- Great atmosphere.

The only negative was our room (double, ensuite):
- It was in need of a bit of repair. Yes, it was well cleaned. But it was run-down (which probably stands-out more than it would otherwise do as the rest of the hostel is so well-kept!)
- The bed wasn't the greatest.
- Fairly small.

Plus, some people complain about the location being not central enough. That is somewhat true, but to be honest I don't class a 10-15 minute walk as a massive problem!

In summary - the room was a bit of a let-down. But because all the other aspects of the hostel were so good, and with no option for four and a half stars, I've got to give it a five out of five.

Room Tip: Don't forget to ask for your free wine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
1.0 mi away
Gorilla Hostel
Gorilla Hostel
#6 of 178 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chill Inn Hostel
Chill Inn Hostel
#1 of 178 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Lagares
Hostel Lagares
#2 of 178 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hostel Lao
Hostel Lao
#4 of 178 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel Alamo
Hostel Alamo
#8 of 178 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.3 mi away
Itaka Hostel
Itaka Hostel
#111 of 178 in Mendoza
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Empedrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Empedrado

Property: Hostel Empedrado
Address: Calle Patricias Mendocinas 1959, Mendoza M5500EBC, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 178 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good option to lodge in Mendoza. Clean, sure, and nice Hostel located to 4 stables of the principal avenue in a cobblestone street. It has free swimming pool in a camping 6 km from the hostel. The tariff includes breakfast, Internet, swimming pool and use of the kitchen. The best wines of the world, the Aconcagua Mountain (6959 mt.) and a sunny climate wait for you in Mendoza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Empedrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing