We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel in South America!”
Review of Hostel Empedrado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Empedrado
Ranked #13 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Reviewed August 31, 2011

With friendly faces as soon as you walk in, and staff who really care, you would be hard pressed to beat this hostel.
Great location, Only a short walk to most places, or a cheap cab. Knowledgable staff, awesome activities, including something in-house 6 out of 7 nights, top this one off.
There is also a washing machine you can use for free, you can have a free glass of wine each night. Two kitchens available for use by guests, two dining areas, a lounge with TV and satellite, free wifi, three PC's, and huge selection of wines for purchase. Good luck staying sober!!
I loved this place, my only regret here was not being able to stay longer.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeyWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for Hostel Empedrado
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 282 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

Clean rooms and common areas, an excellent breakfast and lovely service and people working there. Also organize dinners at hostel. And an extraplus for a traveller, FREE washing machine.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannita12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

one of the best hostels ive ever stayed in...and i've been travelling for 11 months. we arrived at 7am after an all night bus and were given delicious breakfast, free laundry, free calls overseas, great wifi, and a short about 12 minute walk to the centre. Really sociable place, do the bbq and the pizza night, good food and great fun, Staff so helpful in organising stuff and giving advice. Do yourself a favour and stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildoatsIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed at Empedrado for 4 nights (originally 3). There are some great points to this hostel, fantastic communal areas-hammocks, roof terrace, dining room, tv room. It also has 2 kitchens so they are never too crowded though the pots and pans are worse than rubbish. The staff are also great especially Anna who is very helpful checking us in at 9.30am and giving us breakfast after the 19 hour trip from bariloche. The rooms are pretty average, our first room was a tiny double en-suite (not a wet room as such but no separate shower cubicle an only a squeegee brush thing with drain by the sink, though this was more entertaining than annoying) and then another larger room with a separate private bathroom. The one thing I also noticed was if you had a shared bathroom it was a bit comical, again no separate cubical, just a curtain and that faced the toilet so the bathroom was soaked. Overall pretty nice place, good to meet people, 15 min walk to town (which was fine) but rooms and bathrooms could have been a bit better for the money

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandNs_bigadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

This hostel is fine.
Pros: dorm bed was comfy, helpful staff, nice outdoor space, good evening activities on offer, free washing machine, free telephone use for 15mins, good location.
Cons: kitchens are big but equipment is poor, bathrooms not enough to accommodate the number of people at the hostel (and some of the showers are pretty cramped).

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacyonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

This is probably the best hostel I've stayed in during my whole trip. It isn't perfect - the shower was a bit uncontrollable for example and the room a bit hot but the staff are SO nice, helpful and friendly - especially Anna - that you forget about it. Free use of the washing machine was almost exciting as the free glass of wine, the free wine tasting event and the lovely hammocks. There is a friendly vibe and I had a really good time (as well as amazing food and wine) at the well priced organised asado and met friendly fellow travellers from all over.
I would recommend this hostel to everyone. You need to book in advance though, as it's so great it does fill up.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MYinLAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

My girlfriend found this place on internet, and to be honest we were attracted from the big free breakfast and free glass of wine at night. We actually found much more then that. A very friendly and helpful staff ,internet and tv cable and good location.we tried a private room on top floor which was ok, and the two different bed dormitory, maybe i wouldn't sleep in the one attached to the living room again. the asado was genorous and wine abundant. nice outside area with swimming pool, but we went at end of winter so we couldn't enjoy that. if i'll ever going back to mendoza , that's where i'll stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jagui11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.8 mi away
Diplomatic Hotel
Diplomatic Hotel
#8 of 84 in Mendoza
2,278 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#7 of 84 in Mendoza
2,855 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premium Tower Suites Mendoza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Soltigua Apart Hotel
Soltigua Apart Hotel
#24 of 84 in Mendoza
592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lagares Hostel
Lagares Hostel
#1 of 170 in Mendoza
383 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hostel Lao
Hostel Lao
#7 of 170 in Mendoza
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Empedrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Empedrado

Address: Calle Patricias Mendocinas 1959, Mendoza M5500EBC, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Price Range: $94 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good option to lodge in Mendoza. Clean, sure, and nice Hostel located to 4 stables of the principal avenue in a cobblestone street. It has free swimming pool in a camping 6 km from the hostel. The tariff includes breakfast, Internet, swimming pool and use of the kitchen. The best wines of the world, the Aconcagua Mountain (6959 mt.) and a sunny climate wait for you in Mendoza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Empedrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing