We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It felt like home”
Review of B&B Plaza Italia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B Plaza Italia
Ranked #2 of 94 Mendoza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2009

My wife and I stayed five nights at this friendly and comfortable B&B. We had an ensuite room. Some rooms have bathrooms across the hall. The owners were extremely helpful with suggestions and planning for activities. The wine tour with Javier is not to missed! The location across from Plaza Italia was quiet and within walking distance of restaurants and shopping. Breakfast was plentiful, delicious, and cheerfully served. We were treated like family and hope to return.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiama5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

471 - 477 of 626 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2009

We stayed here two nights while in Mendoza. The B & B Plaza italia is situated adjacent to a central park in the city. The whole city ("town") of Mendoza is very walkable, and it's easy to get from B&B to the main street with restaurants.

The rooms were clean and made every day. The main street outside the B&B can get a bit noisy during the day, but we weren't home very much so it didn't matter..and plus we stayed on the lower level..It might not matter on the second floor. At night it was restful.

The breakfast in the charming dining room was a nice...most B & B's have a standard menu of cheese, fruit, croissants ('medialunas'), coffee, fresh juice, yogurt, etc... and B & B has the customary fare (which is delicious btw).

We took a wine tasting tour with Javier, who took us in his car. We went to both some of the well-known wineries as well as the lesser known family owned bodegas. I found it to be very enjoyable and personable. Javier has a good knowledge of the local wine scene and has contacts with many of the wineries.

Javier's mother was very helpful at the B & B showing us where the vegetarian restaurants in town were (wife is vegetarian) and her favorite dining spots. She drew out exact routes on a map to guide us and even offered to give us a lift when she was on her way out. Javier also helped organize a paragliding excursion for us.

We wanted to change pace, and live on a posada in Maipu (to get away from the semi-urban character of Mendoza, and see another locale)..well, Javier helped arrange a taxi for us, and made sure to explain exactly how to get there, and spoke with our host in Maipu to coordinate our arrival.

Overall, it is a charming place to stay, with a personal touch. The added bonus of a wine tour with Javier was fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redquasar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Just back from a 1 week stay in Mendoza, and highly recommend B&B Plaza Italia. Central location, and easy to get around city on foot or bike from here. Staff are very friendly and helpful, with special kudos to 'International Solutions Provider' Javier. Wine tour was a highlight!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nodrogHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

A great find. On one of the five plazas in Mendoza's very pleasant downtown, this bed and breakfast actually feels like a small hotel at times. Very tasteful decoration, and soothing color palette. . .not frou-frou at all. Mercedes, who owns the place with her husband Tito, could not have been more accommodating. She sat down with me when I arrived, and reviewed a map of Mendoza--even making restaurant recommendations, and reviewing neighborhoods that might be of interest.

My room was huge, and for $68, represented a noteworthy value. The place was spotless and quiet. The bathroom looks as if it was just renovated, and featured granite countertops.

Breakfasts are very nice, and they even brewed pots of decaf for me to make a morning cafe con leche (I brought the ground coffee from home)--ham and cheese, croissants, various fruits, cereals, etc.

All of Mendoza is close at hand right outside the door. Mendoza is laid out around five plazas--Plaza Italia is the square across the street--and the very center of town, Plaza Independencia, is quite nearby.

A great choice, and a superlative value.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

Beautiful home, immaculate room and ensuite, large wardrobe, computer access, short walk to good restaurants, lovely hosts and good breakfasts (though eggs would be a welcome addition). Javier's wine tour was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letsgo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

We loved this comfortable and friendly B&B. Everyone who works there is friendly and eager to help you have a great time in Mendoza. Wine tours, Andes tours, city tours, walking tours, restaurant suggestions, etc. They will book these or get you pointed in the right direction. Great location, great breakfasts, fun people, and the perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuckyNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

I first saw mention of this B&B on TA about a year ago. I made contact with them and Javier answered me back promptly, answering all of my many questions and concerns---he has excellent english as does everyone at the B&B. His answers convinced me that I wanted to visit Mendoza rather than Salta--it was not the content but rather the way he answered. I needed to stay at this B&B--not at the hyatt or the sheraton which I would more normally stay at.
We had room #1 with a king bed and en-suite bathroom. There is also a day bed in this room. The bath is small but perfectly adequate. Everything is spotless and kept that way. They have a small staff but they all seem to work together for the advantage of the guests.
The public rooms are well furnished and comfortable and there is an enclosed patio which is quite pleasant on nice days. Our bed was very comfortable. It can also be made into two twins if needed.

From the time we arrived we knew that this was the right place. Tito, the man of the house, greeted us and made us familiar with how things are run there and answered all of our questions. They offered us several tours and a wealth of info about restaurants, laundries, and any other thing you might need to know.
The breakfast was delicious and plentiful and included warm toast, pastries, jams, juices, cereals, ham, cheese and practically anything you need except warm eggs or other warm items. They were very generous with portions as well and refilled plates as needed.
The lady of the house was charming, and also very welcoming and helpful. Her assistant is also a gem and very very helpful as well.

Javier, the son, who is the manager of every function at the B&B--just ask him, but lives elsewhere with his family, is a very pleasant young man (30's). Other than assisting at the B&B as needed, his primary occupation is conducting wine tours in the region. we were fortunate enough to engage him for a 1/2 day special tour---usually he does full day tours. We visited two wineries of his choosing and they satisfied our need perfectly, including a delicious luncheon paired with wines. He is a very friendly guy, knowledgeable about wine and the area and also about Mendoza. His car is new and very comfortable for touring. His English is perfect. He has a sharp whit as well.

I would rate our stay at 100% and value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhkkmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#8 of 84 in Mendoza
2,956 reviews
7.8 mi away
Casa Glebinias
Casa Glebinias
#1 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
838 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
#15 of 84 in Mendoza
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Posada El Encuentro
Posada El Encuentro
#4 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
324 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lares de Chacras
Lares de Chacras
#2 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diplomatic Hotel
Diplomatic Hotel
#7 of 84 in Mendoza
2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Plaza Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Plaza Italia

Address: Calle Montevideo 685, Mendoza M5500GGM, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Mendoza
Price Range: $125 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Plaza Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a high-quality two-story house with spacious rooms. Elegantly decorated with nice classic furniture which makes it a comfortable and enjoyable place. Located within the most privileged part of Mendoza, a place of fancy residences opposite Italia Square and a one minute walk from Independencia Square. Nearby, there are important hotels, a casino (located inside Park Hyatt Hotel), convention center, pedestrian area, famous Aristides Villanueva Ave. with its clubs and pubs. Fancy ice-cream parlors, exclusive bars, restaurants, grill rooms with the best Argentine Beef and the latest "Wine Bars." Tour and Excursion agencies, cash machines, money exchange agencies, Laundry, Supermarkets and many other services that you may need as a visitor are at easy walking distance.B&B Plaza Italia also organizes personalized Wine Tours to the best wine areas of Mendoza, heart of Argentina's Wine Country. Free and unlimited internet wireless connection available in all the house. English spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Plaza Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Plaza Italia Hotel Mendoza
Bed And Breakfast Plaza Italia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing