We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Mendoza”
Review of B&B Plaza Italia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Plaza Italia
Ranked #2 of 92 Mendoza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Great hosts, perfect location, clean and well equipped rooms, classic house, top class attention from all the owners/family, tasty breakfast. Highly recommendable! Thank you for an excellent stay and, till next time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TuliResidence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
There are newer reviews for B&B Plaza Italia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 620 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

This fantastic B&B felt like I was staying with family. The owners, Mercedes, Cecilia and Javier went out of their way to make us comfortable and helped us get the most enjoyment out of our stay. Cecilia booked dinner reservations, a horse-back riding tour with Los Pingos (fantastic!) and taxi service back to the airport. Javier took us on a wonderful wine tour, highly recommended! Mercedes was always there to see to any little thing we might need. They are great people and a joy to stay with.
The bedroom is simple and comfortable. We had an adjoining private bathroom with all amenities, including a bidet. The breakfast was great, coffee, tea, fresh juice, cereal, yogurt, cheese, ham and pastries. It was a fantastic location in walking distance of all kinds of great restaurants! I will definitely return to this B&B with pleasure!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mathteacherFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We love B&B Plaza Italia. So much that we have visited several times. The B&B is lovely, comfortable and in a great location. The nicely decorated rooms are spacious, spotless and quiet. It is not only the the elegant yet cozy environment but also the hosts and staff that add to the uniqueness of this amazing place. Upon arrival time is spent with each guest to give an orientation to the city, restaurants and opportunities of the area. The wine tours, given by Javier, will take you to boutique wineries that will astound you. If you are considering a hotel vs a B&B you must select this place. It is so much more a personal experience with lovely Argentine people.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elainemw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The service here is second to none and the location is excellent - walking distance to everything. I rated the room lower as our mattress was very hard and the bed very noisy. The room was clean and large with ample storage. The staff were the best I have ever come across in all my travels. Breakfast plentiful and with variety.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazlen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Staying in B&B Plaza Italia in Mendoza is like coming home. You will find a nice location, close to the center and a warm welcome from Javier and his mother Mercedes. You will receive all necessary information about interesting places in Mendoza and surroundings. Try the recommended restaurants and you will be convinced by the excellent food and the delicious wines. We stayed five days and felt as part of the family. If we come to Mendoza again, no question where to stay - B&B Plaza Italia.

Room Tip: All rooms are in perfect conditions!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sieghart Georg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed at Plaza Italia for 4 nights in March 2014 and we FELL IN LOVE with this B&B.

I hear that some people are complaining about loud rooms - for me that is a fantastic central location and you have to accept a certain level of noise.

Others found the rooms a bit small - we thought they were cosy and are exactly the size one would expect from a historic property.

However, what makes this place so special for us is NOT the great property, the room size, the comfort of the beds, the cleanliness ot the rooms, the great breakfast, and not even the central location, all of which we liked a lot.

- It's the owners! -

When we arrived, a highly eloquent, warm and welcoming elderly woman invited us into a dining/reception room, full of history, elegance and old-school style. Her name is Mercedes and she is "the boss" of Plaza Italia :-) She invited us politely at her table and started explaining something about the city, what we should do, where we should eat, etc. Being a very specific kind of traveller, who knows exactly what he's looking for, in the first moment I thought "OMG just be polite to the woman and let her do her thing, without showing her that you are not interested".

Very quickly however, I realised that I was wrong! In only minutes I became interested, because Mercedes was a wealth of information not only about the town of Mendoza, the park, the best ice cream place, she even knew what the best restaurants are, which wineries to visit etc. All her information completed perfectly the picture we get from our usual travel literature and gave them a personal, professional and intimate touch.

Before even seeing our room, we chatted with her for more than an hour about anything from food to the overall state of the global economy...and my wife and I fell in love with her :-)

It went on like this when we got to meet her son Javier (a highly intelligent man in his 40ies), who took us on a private winery tour the next morning. We had A BLAST of a day with him on that tour! Not only was he pleasant, well informed and seemed to fit perfectly in the role he was taking, but it seemed that all of the wineries in Medoza knew him for years and everybody there seemed to have a special thing with him, too.

The next day we wanted to go on another wineries tour, but Javier was busy with another appointment. No problem - he booked everything for us the way we wanted it (more than 1h of work!) and hooked us up with a VERY friendly cab driver with whom Plaza Italia is working. So we went on another perfect day, organised by Javier, touring the best wineries in Mendoza.

We ended up booking this cab driver by Plaza Italia as our personal chauffeur and he confirmed our feeling of the special human experience at Plaza Italia.

Last but not least, we had some interaction with Tito, the husband of Mercedes, who seems to stay out a bit of the business. However, once his assistance was needed, he was exactly the same wealth of a person as his wife and Javier.

On our last night, we went out early and were not able to say our good-byes to Mercedes.
We came home late and we did not expect to meet her. She had waited for us to say good bye in person...


For us, Plaza Italia really was about meeting these people and having had the opportunity to see and touch their country through their eyes. It was a special and intimate experience and we will remember them for a veeery loooong time!

To Mercedes, Javier and Tito, we wish only all the best!
...and we send out best to Genaro, our cab driver!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamen_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

B&B Plaza Italia is a warm hearted place where you are treated more as a friend rather than just a tourist: travellers paradise! Very helpful staff: I forgot my glasses there and they organized to get them back! Go there and enjoy Mendoza!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzkiwi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#6 of 84 in Mendoza
2,858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diplomatic Hotel
Diplomatic Hotel
#7 of 84 in Mendoza
2,281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argentino Hotel
Argentino Hotel
#11 of 84 in Mendoza
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
#15 of 84 in Mendoza
764 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Mendoza Hotel
Sheraton Mendoza Hotel
#13 of 84 in Mendoza
1,298 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Mendoza Cordillera
NH Mendoza Cordillera
#17 of 84 in Mendoza
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Plaza Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Plaza Italia

Address: Calle Montevideo 685, Mendoza M5500GGM, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Mendoza
Price Range: $125 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Plaza Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a high-quality two-story house with spacious rooms. Elegantly decorated with nice classic furniture which makes it a comfortable and enjoyable place. Located within the most privileged part of Mendoza, a place of fancy residences opposite Italia Square and a one minute walk from Independencia Square. Nearby, there are important hotels, a casino (located inside Park Hyatt Hotel), convention center, pedestrian area, famous Aristides Villanueva Ave. with its clubs and pubs. Fancy ice-cream parlors, exclusive bars, restaurants, grill rooms with the best Argentine Beef and the latest "Wine Bars." Tour and Excursion agencies, cash machines, money exchange agencies, Laundry, Supermarkets and many other services that you may need as a visitor are at easy walking distance.B&B Plaza Italia also organizes personalized Wine Tours to the best wine areas of Mendoza, heart of Argentina's Wine Country. Free and unlimited internet wireless connection available in all the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your B&B Plaza Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Plaza Italia Hotel Mendoza
Bed And Breakfast Plaza Italia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing