We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”
Review of Huentala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Huentala Hotel
Ranked #12 of 84 Hotels in Mendoza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

A few blocks from Plaza Independencia. An easy walk through the plaza to restaurants. The hotel room was roomy and comfortable and the service desk was outstanding. Next door is the Sheraton Casino, if you like, but wasn't really a factor in the quality of my experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thrasher2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huentala, Departamento Comercial at Huentala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear guest:
We really appreciate your time in writting down your experience at Huentala.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were in Mendoza for a couple of days and having paid a little extra for a suite, we were directed by very helpful front desk staff on arrival to the 4th floor towards the front of the building.

Unfortunately we had to change our room as there were scaffolding works taking place and builders practically on our balcony. I must say that this would have been a lovely room without the works taking place. We were changed to the only other suite which was available, which was at the back of the building with a disappointing view and not much light.

Upsides were that there was enough room to swing a cat and the beds were very comfortable. Air con was welcome too! Great location too for the bars and restaurants.

I would love to recommend a really nice restaurant too - Azafran (see Tripadvisor reviews here http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g312781-d946029-Reviews-Azafran-Mendoza_Province_of_Mendoza_Cuyo.html) - great steak, great service and a fantastic wine recommendation - perfect.

All in all, without the building works going on, this would have a been a great place to stay, so don't let this put you off! Think location!

Failing that, you'll be too drunk to notice - Mendoza's wine is incredible!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here three nights and loved every bit. The hotel was cool and clean, the room was comfortable and clean, the bathroom shower was awesome. Breakfast was really delicious for being included in the price, and the staff in my opinion was extremely warm, totally welcoming, and totally tried to help accommodate for anything.

I would highly recommend staying here, a little bit of Spanish background may help, as I think the hotel caters more towards South American tourists, but they were so cool. I was really impressed and even when there was a bit of a language barrier, they tried to bridge the gap as well as they could. I loved it and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Dannygdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huentala, Departamento Comercial at Huentala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear guest:
Thank you for your reviews!

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Nice and a different option from the traditional hotels. Nice personal attention. It was not my first visit to Mendoza, but the first time at Huentala. Overall a pretty good experience. I stayed in a Classic room, which was confortable. When checking out, I had the time to see a suite. Nice possibitlity for just a few bucks mores.

Room Tip: The restaurant is a nice and at a fear price option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francis s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huentala, Departamento Comercial at Huentala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

We appreciate your comments.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is not a four star hotel as advertised. It’s old, smelly and the staff is rude. I feel so strongly about how negative my experience was that I am willing to waste 356 words discussing it below.

When we arrived the gruff staff seemed as though they were doing us a favor by checking us in. They were cold (bordering on rude and adversarial) and did not even offer any useful information such as map of the city or where and when breakfast is in the morning. In all of our interactions with them we experienced the same rudeness, so I don’t think it was the case of simply catching them at a bad time.

When we got to the room it was small and dark and was clearly not the suite we had booked. We complained and we were able to move to a bigger room. While the room was definitely an improvement space-wise, it was rundown looking and the bathroom smelled assuredly feculent and disturbingly like one you might use in a public park if was an absolute emergency. In other words, gross. I later noticed that the hallway of our floor (the third) had a similar smell. The shower did not really drain so the dirty water would pool up in the bottom. Disgusting.

Part of the reason that we booked this hotel was because it had a pool, which looked lovely online. What they didn't tell us when we booked or when we checked in was that the pool was under construction and could not be used. We were allowed to use the pool at the adjoining Sheraton, which seemed nicer anyway, but this was really disappointing.

The location isn't far from the main plaza, but I recommend staying on the opposite side, as this side is filled with touristy low-quality restaurants and many homeless people.

There is no way that this is a four star hotel. And I’m not just saying this because of our horrible experience there. Our wine tour guide told us that it used to be listed as three stars and he has no idea why it’s now listed as four. The most maddening part of the whole experience was that it looked really great online, but in reality it was a total dump.

Do yourself a favor and avoid this place at all costs!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jennifer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huentala, Departamento Comercial at Huentala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear guest:
We really appreciate your time in writing down your experience at Huentala and we are sorry that it was not as good as most of our guests´s experience.
We would like to clarify some points:
- 1º As you can see at Tripadvisor and also, our website (www.huentala.com) , one of our main goals is our personnel and the good service they provided. We invite you to visit other guest´s opinions. We are sorry if you didn´t feel that way
- 2º regarding your room, it would had been nice you advertise this situation at the Front desk, so we would kindly change your room
- 3º Pool: this area is under construction. Anyway, the hotel gave vouchers to all our guests so they can use the Sheraton´s pool, wich is located next to the hotel.
- Last thing: Huentala Hotel Boutique is qualified in Argentina as a 4 stars hotel and it has always been this way. We have never been a 3 stars one.

Once and again, we are sorry that the hotel didn’t meet your expectations..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We originally booked in for 3 nights but Huentala was so good we stayed 5. This hotel is absolutely outstanding! Great location, outstanding staff & beautiful rooms. There really was not a single bad thing about this hotel.

The staff deserve a special mention - nothing was too much trouble for any guest. It was obvious they went out of there way to ensure every guest had the greatest Mendoza experience possible.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austtourist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huentala, Departamento Comercial at Huentala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear guest:
We are really glad that you had a nice stay with us!!! Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you next time you visit Mendoza.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Walking distance to the centre but at half the price of hotels just a few blocks up. Rooms comfy although don't expect anything from the views. My air on was noisy but that may just have been bad luck. Fabulous front desk staff and general facilities all very high. Very nice vibe around the foyer and ground restaurant, wine cellar etc. 3rd floor pool was small but more than enough to soak up some rays and take a cooling dip. Just don't expect to do any lengths!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick-selective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huentala, Departamento Comercial at Huentala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear guest:
Thank you for your reviews and we are glad to know you enjoy Mendoza...

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#8 of 84 in Mendoza
3,006 reviews
0.7 mi away
Diplomatic Hotel
Diplomatic Hotel
#7 of 84 in Mendoza
2,370 reviews
0 mi away
Sheraton Mendoza Hotel
Sheraton Mendoza Hotel
#14 of 84 in Mendoza
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
InterContinental Mendoza
0.3 mi away
Mod Hotel Mendoza
Mod Hotel Mendoza
#19 of 84 in Mendoza
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Mendoza Cordillera
NH Mendoza Cordillera
#18 of 84 in Mendoza
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huentala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huentala Hotel

Address: Calle Primitivo de La Reta 1007, Mendoza M5500AEK, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Mendoza
#4 Business Hotel in Mendoza
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mendoza
#14 Family Hotel in Mendoza
Price Range: $94 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Huentala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huentala Hotel is a refined centrally locate hotel where comfort, art and architecture goes along with service. Located in the heart of Mendoza City, 1 block away from the pedestrian and main comercial street, just only 15 minutes away from the international airport, Huentala offers, bilingual staff, buffet breakfast, private parking (with charge), wine cellar, medical coverge, free wifi & internet in lobby and rooms, private offices, swimming pool and gym, and free coffee and tea in rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Huentala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huentala Hotel Mendoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing