We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Mendoza Cordillera
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Mendoza
GreenLeadersGold level
Basingstoke, UK
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great central location”
Reviewed April 16, 2009

The location of this hotel is fantastic - 10 mins walk from the main square and numerous restaurants. The welcome we received was very good. The room on the 1st floor was huge and there was no noise from traffic, just a bit from the car park next door. There was a faint sewer smell in the bathroom but nothing major and it was clean and everything worked. Breakfast was buffet style and there was plenty of choice.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathMacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    448
    231
    52
    17
See reviews for
175
261
47
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2009

We spent 6 nights in the NH Cordillera over the New Year period.
The level of room comfort was adequate ( except for a foul sewer smell in the bathroom) however it was the generally unwelcoming attitude of staff, inadequate gym /pool facilities and a series of airconditioning malfunctions ensure that we will not return there.
Reception staff and porters were particularly unfriendly - for example not greeting quests as quests entered, and not helping guests with their luggage. As we struggled with our luggage after check-in, three unbusy doorman stood idly by and watched us, without any offer to help.
Overall, our feeling was that the staff harboured some deep dislike of anyone staying in the hotel.
The swimming pool is quite small, is overlooked by neighbouring office blocks, and itself overlooks the car-park. The gym is a small room equipped with only three machines ( treadmill, cardio bike and cross trainer)
In favour of the NH Cordillera, the breakfast buffet is excellent, and rooms are well soundproofed, which is neccessary as the hotel is positioned on a very noisy street. Furthermore, the location is excellent and parking for guests is free.
Our impression was that the NH does not qualify as a four-star hotel, it is an average 3 star, albeit in a very central location in Mendoza. A final word of warning - dont give any item of clothing you are fond of to the hotel laundry service - a number of our t-shirts and shirts were shrunk.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Staff Attitude
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MuzzyBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2008

As part of an Archers South American tour we stayed at this hotel for 2 days. The location is in the centre of town opposite a park area with easy access to shopping malls and restaurants. It does not live up to its 4 star billing, The front desk and restaurant is good but the bedrooms are tired and require upgrade.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bedroom
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan999Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2008

I would say this place was good and functional, no more, no less. Probably a step above a Hampton Inn or Courtyard. We were comfortable in our room. The place was clean, the breakfast was good, and we had decent internet access. I think they have a pool and weight room too, but I don't know for sure. There was always someone on hand who spoke English, and there were people who could give us recommendations. It was everything we could ask for. One thing I can say is that some people suggest staying at a vineyard. We had already booked our time here, so we couldn't make a change. In any case, we were happy.

  • Liked — It was everything a hotel needs to be
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cugrad2k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview Hills, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2008

My wife and I stayed four nights in the NH Cordillera with several other couples. We were visiting Mendoza for wine tours (of course). The hotel was chosen by another person in our party who had previously lived in Buenos Aires, and who had had a lot of experience with other NH hotels.

The hotel is well located in the city of Mendoza. Plaza Independencia and the main pedestrian street, Sarmiento, are only two blocks south on foot. Plaza San Martin is just across the street. There's a full-service grocery store near the old Mercado Central, two blocks north and one block west. Plenty of shopping and restaurants in all directions nearby.

The city is quite walk-able and we always felt safe. Plaza Independencia hosts an interesting crafts market on the weekend, with a few musicians and a nice, casual vibe.

The hotel itself is relatively new and modern. Hotel staff are okay, neither horrible nor wonderful. The breakfast room is large and offers a good buffet selection. The rooms are adequate and reasonably well maintained. The pool is small, perched above the parking area and the service entrance to the kitchen. The workout area is quite small and dreary, but my wife was able to book a very inexpensive and decent massage there.

For wine tours outside the city, we used Ampora Tours. Our whole group did two different standard day tours. A sub-set of our group also did a third customized day tour. Ampora did an excellent job.

Overall, we recommend the NH Cordillera for its location. We're sure there are nicer places to stay, but the hotel was quite adequate for our needs, with no complaints.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeTrotterGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

Let's be honest: This hotel is basically a dump staffed with some very nice, friendly people. We changed hotels after two nights. The bathroom had a sewer smell, the shower was broken and was not repaired when I complained, the curtains worked poorly, the lobby furniture was beaten up. It was inexpensive, to be sure, and it could have been worse, but I didn't fly 6,000 miles to stay in such downmarket lodging.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — facilities
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJG87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2008

This is a modern 3 year old business hotel. If you are looking for kitch or fru frus this isn´t for you. If you want a nice clean room room and good food it´s an excellent place!

My room is on the street with a nice view but I have had no trouble sleeping because of noise. Excellent cleanliness and maintenance. King sized bed and desk. Nice bathroom. Shiny hardwood floors typical of this area. TV of course with many channels in English with Spanish sub titles. I've been here for two nights and breakfast is an excellent. buffet. I had good dinners here too. Inexpensive. Very friendly young staff many of whom speak English. Maybe because I speak Spanish it helps. Mendoza is a surprise. It is a rather large city with almost 30 huge parks. The largest with 1000 acres. The French architect designed it that way so residents would have a place to escape during earthquakes. They have had a few. The streets (even the busiest commercial ones) are all lined with mature trees which form a canopy of green which protects the entire street with shade. Of course it is famous for it´s wineries. Be sure to tour a couple of them. Now is the time to visit Argentina. The Dollar goes much further here than in Europe.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — No Negatives
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BigDonDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
2.5 mi away
InterContinental Mendoza
0.5 mi away
Diplomatic Hotel
Diplomatic Hotel
#8 of 84 in Mendoza
2,220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#7 of 84 in Mendoza
2,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
#15 of 84 in Mendoza
756 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Mendoza Hotel
Sheraton Mendoza Hotel
#13 of 84 in Mendoza
1,280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Huentala Hotel
Huentala Hotel
#14 of 84 in Mendoza
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Mendoza Cordillera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Mendoza Cordillera

Property: NH Mendoza Cordillera
Address: Avda.Espana, 1324, Mendoza M5500DWN, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Mendoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Mendoza Cordillera 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Mendoza Cordillera hotel is located in the center of Mendoza, very close to the main square and just a short stroll to the principal shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, NHHotels, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your NH Mendoza Cordillera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Cordillera Mendoza
Nh Cordillera Hotel Mendoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing